10/31 Harley now 93. Fed and 7.0 as shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/31 Harley AMPS 401

Happy Halloween, Pattie
At least Harley has company on the red floor this morning. Blackie is there too. I hope all those kitties in red will come back down soon.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley AMPS 401

oh harley! So close to pink .. I would have retested :lol: I hope harley comes down for you today ... happy halloween guys!
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- What do I shoot - HELP

I shoot in 15 minutes. What with Halloween and the door bell constantly ringing, I am shooting 15 minutes early. Harley is only 87. Do I shoot the full 9.75?? Can someone help me?

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- What do I shoot - HELP

Pattie, do you have any spot checks today? If not, I would probably test again in 15 minutes to be sure he isn't still dropping. You have shot 80's before...
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- What do I shoot - HELP

Patti you just shot an 88 a couple of days ago and he continued to go up. I would make sure he is not dropping now.


edited to add....oops just saw that Libby posted the same thing.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- What do I shoot - HELP

I will wait. He is frightened every time the door bell rings, so I have to confine him all night. Have not updated ss tonight but this is what he did:
AMPS 401
+5 322
+9.5 190
PMPS 87
I know I have shot in the 80's before but I guess I feel rushed what with him hiding once that first bell sounds.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- What do I shoot - HELP

I know what you mean, I have my lights off (my Mickey totally panics when the doorbell rings) but there are always some who ring it anyway.

Looks like he has a bounce clearing out, so I think waiting would be a good idea under the circumstances. Normally I would yell SHOOOOOOT but the constant doorbells make this not a normal night.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minutes check 65

Did another check - after 15 minutes he is 65. I hate to think of another bounce tonight. I do love the low numbers.

pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minutes check 65

I think you're going to have to keep stalling Patti. Can he stay in a bathroom or some place where he can't hide?
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minutes check 65

He is locked in the bedroom - otherwise he would be in the basement and I would never find him. He is ok, just under the bed.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minutes check 65

Can you get him out from under the bed easily to test him in 10 or 15 minutes?
At my dad's house, I sometimes keep a harness and leash on J.D. because he hides under the bed, just so I can pull him out to test him.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minutes check 65

Did you shoot?

If you did, I'd give him some HC.

If not, I'd check again in another 15 min. Can you afford to be off schedule tomorrow morning? And if so, how much wiggle room do you have?
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minute check: 65, 62

Harley is now 62. Looks like he is slowing down but still a little low. I think later, he is going to zoom upward.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minute check: 65, 62

Are you still stalling? Or did you shoot?
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minute check: 65, 62

I have not shot yet. I will feed him some FF with gravy now. Should I shoot and test in 15?

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley PMPS 87- 15 minute check: 65, 62

you don't need to feed HC at the end of the cycle, though I have been known to do so *after* shooting a lower number. It is not really according to protocol, but with a high dose kitty sometimes it just makes you feel better. ;-) So if you want to shoot now, you can feed some HC if it will make you feel better, but if you're not shooting now then don't feed yet.

What + hour is it now?
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63

I still have not shot - or given HC food. He is so frightened that I don't think he will eat anyway. About every 10 minutes, the bell rings and I am sure he returns under the bed. I don't feel comfortable shooting right now, especially 9.75. I defer to you experts to tell me when it is time. I will check in another 15 minutes.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63

I was going to say you can shoot and feed, but if you're not sure he will eat then I wouldn't shoot at this number either.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63

How flexible is your shot time tomorrow morning? Do you have more wiggle room as far as your shot schedule for tomorrow? It looks like he is surfing.
Too bad you couldn't disconnect that door bell.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63

I actually have taken the whole week off so I am very flexible with the shot. If I disconect the bell, I won't have people to give candy to - really hard on my waistline cuz this year I bought candy I really love. Unfortunately, I cannot disconnect it - I would love to. The other 2 cats sit by the door to look out, then run when the bell goes off. I can wait a bit longer for the shot. Do you want me to feed or wait until he goes up a bit.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63

I would not feed until he has gone up a little, and then when you are comfortable shooting, feed then.
Please wait for others to advise on dose, but in just my little old opinion, I think you can shoot a 9.5 or less. Let's see what the others say first, though. With the week off, you will be more ahead than the rest of us on the Daylight Savings Time changes next week.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63

I say put the bucket of candy on your door step and let the neighbor kids have at it! :lol:
No door bells needed!

Glad your schedule is flexible for the next week. Darn it for Harley to pull such great numbers on a night like this, tho. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63, 59

Harley is now down to 59. Have not fed or shot. I think I should give him something because he is beginning to cry. Maybe MC instead of LC.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 minute check: 65, 62, 63, 59

Can you Edit your first post to say something like Can I Feed now? ?
to get some more eyes on this.

If you feed, you won't have a true number to decide on the dose with kwim?
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 min check: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed no

Jojo used to pretty much make us shoot something by +14. Harley has been surfing for quite a while now, so I would go ahead and shoot whatever you are comfortable shooting, feed, and get a +1. Is trick-or-treating quieting down enough that he'll eat?
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 min check: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed no

I PM'd Sienne. Let's see what she says. I think if you feed, you should also decide on the dose, since after you feed, the BG numbers will be spiked from the food and you won't really know if you are shooting a dropping number, although this does look like surfing to me.

ETA: Oops, what Libby said. We posted at the same time.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 min check: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed no

This is a new experience for me. I have never had to miss a dose or go this long.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 mins: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed now

you know he'll bounce, you just don't know when. You might have to manage the first few hours of the cycle with food, until the bounce starts. But you know it will happen, and it's better to get some insulin in to help with that.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 mins: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed now

Since this part is new, do I shoot now and what amount? Should I feed and wait another hour to see what happens and then shoot (again, what amount). I am here all day tomorrow, so it does not matter what time I shoot tomorrow.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 mins: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed now

if you're going to wait another hour, then you shouldn't feed. Technically since you have stalled you can shoot the full dose, but it's really hard to shoot 9.75 into a 59. I doubt I could do it... So shoot whatever you feel ok with, just to get some insulin in. 7? 5? Either that or wait another 1/2 hour to see if he goes up a little.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 15 mins: 65, 62, 63, 59. Can I feed now

How about, as soon as you see he has eaten, you plan to shoot then, after eating? How does 9.00 sound to you? Or 8.50?
Shoot what you feel comfortable with. I'm sure Libby will help you to decide. But, I think now is the time to think about the dose and make your decision.
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 65, 62, 63, 59, 65

Harley is now at 65. I will wait until 8:45 and feed - shooting 7 a little after that. I would be awake all night if I gave more than that. How does it sound?

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 65, 62, 63, 59, 65

Sounds like a good plan. Very nice surf today, Harley, my man :mrgreen:
Will 8:45 be like +15 or something? Remember, that you will need to get him back on schedule during your week off, slowly, like 15 minutes a day, depending on his numbers. Maybe, if he bounces a lot from this delayed and reduced shot, you can shoot more than 15 minutes earlier tomorrow morning. We'll see what his AMPS is first.
Nice hooting, in advance :-D
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 65, 62, 63, 59, 65

I think that sounds like a plan. I'm not going to be able to stay up tonight (not feeling well, so hitting the hay soon), so you need to be comfortable with whatever you are doing. There is no right or wrong, go with your gut. You DO know what to do, you always make good decisions related to Harley, you just don't trust yourself yet. ;-)
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 65, 62, 63, 59, 65

I am comfortable with this plan. Wow - Harley has NEVER stayed low this long before. I am going to take this as a positive step. Even if he bounces, they have been shorter.

Shooting in +15 minutes.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/31 Harley 65, 62, 63, 59, 65

You've been doing great and Dyana is a great coach. I've been sitting on the sidelines watching!!

You may want to think about trying to time your moving back to your regular shooting schedule with the time shift for DST ending.
 
This has been an interesting night. I expect Harley to be high come morning. Thank you Dyana and Libby. Without you I would be freaking out by now. Harley at like a pig and is looking for more. I will wait for a couple of hours before giving him more to eat.

Harley should have given me a treat tonight - not a trick!

Pattie
 
Nice job, today Pattie! You did good! and under stress of trick-or-treaters and door bells and hiding kitty.
You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 at least tonight, to make sure he's rising before you get to sleep.
Excitement for you :mrgreen: Isn't it fun!

If he is or starts to be a late nadir kitty, I find that +11's come in handy so you can see if he is dropping at PS time.

Hopefully, you will sleep well tonight :-D
 
Looks like Harley keep you busy great job tonight with him I know how hard it is to shoot when our cats are dropping like that hope you have a good night and
Happy Halloween I am lucky we live in the country and down a steep drive been here for 12 yrs and never has a kid ventured down our drive I used to buy candy at first but then gave up we now go to my sons house to give out candy he lives in a new neighborhood with a ton of kids and he always is gone on Halloween either working or to a party
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top