10/31 - Dolly - AMPS244, +4-226, +5-260, +7.5-312 Need help

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nsidering-tr-need-advice.237658/#post-2669080
I don't know what's going on with Dolly. I haven't started TR because....... I took away her Dr. Elsey's but the hardest thing and I know really stupid :rolleyes:, is taking away her Young Again treats. She lives for her treats and I have tried so many Freeze Dried. Chewy just delivered today a new flavor, she just sniffed them and walked away. She won't eat any cooked or raw meat. I obviously need advice and wish someone could tell me how long it will takes for her to un-remember these treats. I need someone to remind me that her health outweighs her treats, I know I am going in the wrong direction and mainly because I don't want my cat unhappy and mad :mad: at me, I need help, I feel irresponsible and stupid. Could these treats (less than 1% carbs) be the reason her numbers are not getting better? I'm really struggling because nothing is normal and I've lost perspective. Thanks for any help, again. It seems like it was so easy the first time.
 
If you can’t remove the treats then you can’t do TR. I just bought some ahi tuna Vital Essentials and my cats who eat raw and don’t think dry food is food went crazy for them. They also liked the freeze dried Pure Bites salmon too.
 
If you can’t remove the treats then you can’t do TR. I just bought some ahi tuna Vital Essentials and my cats who eat raw and don’t think dry food is food went crazy for them. They also liked the freeze dried Pure Bites salmon too.
I understand that she can't do TR as long as she has any kind of dry. I just want to do what's best for her but get so conflicted about the treats, they really are what make her so compliant about testing. I have bought freeze dried salmon, turkey, chicken, duck, minnows and more. I have chicken parts coming Monday. Do I keep struggling with SLGS, am I being impatient? Based on the direction of her numbers, could the treats be the problem? Is it just dry, regardless of being low carb and not very much per day, that is messing with her numbers?
 
Could these treats (less than 1% carbs) be the reason her numbers are not getting better?
I think it more likely you just haven't reached a good dose yet. And perhaps a little bit of glucose toxicity setting in.

Have you ever tried freeze dried raw with her as a treat? They have a bit of crunch and process in the body like raw does so OK for TR.
 
I think it more likely you just haven't reached a good dose yet. And perhaps a little bit of glucose toxicity setting in.

Have you ever tried freeze dried raw with her as a treat? They have a bit of crunch and process in the body like raw does so OK for TR.
What is glucose toxicity? I will look it up. It sounds scary.
 
What is glucose toxicity? I will look it up. It sounds scary.
Dolly has been on 1.5u four days after tonight. With TR I would raise her to 1.75u based on her spreadsheet? I have been buying Freeze Dried Raw - Vital Cat and I think the Primal Treats are also raw. This is not what she wants. She is not a happy camper, it's hard for me to watch, she sort of growls and she won't come near me. I know it's a process, do I just take the treats away now? Do you recommend I switch her to TR now or complete her 7 days on SLGS and then change, see if her numbers improve? Sorry for asking so much.
 
Try Small Batch freeze dried. They say dog and cat. They are a bit crunchy but softer than the others. My two love them.
 
Glucose toxicity basically means their body gets used to higher numbers. Sounds scarier than it is. Keep on increasing and you'll get over it.
 
Try Small Batch freeze dried. They say dog and cat. They are a bit crunchy but softer than the others. My two love them.
That's what I've been buying. Couldn't wait for the new flavor to arrive today, she took a sniff and walked away. Part of her problem is also the congestion making it difficult for her to smell. I even bought the Benito flakes, made me gag, but she didn't like them. I am always open to trying anything but I keep getting "no way" from her.:mad:
 
Thank you all for your caring support. Wouldn’t it be nice if the human world gave this much loving support 24 hours a day? I am truly grateful. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Dolly’s urine reeks of Glucose, it’s happened a few times before but always worries me, just like everything else I don’t completely understand.
Goodnight and again my deepest gratitude. :)
Renal threshold for glucose exceeded.:bookworm:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top