? 10/31 Dexter AMPS 373 PMPS 416

Rena

Member Since 2021
Hello. My Dexter suddenly started refusing his normal food Saturday night. He is now refusing all food. He spent today at the vet. I will attach his blood work and urine results, although the vet said the platelet related counts were incorrect. He was started on cerenia today with an injection and is to start a pill tomorrow. The vet said if he is not eating by tomorrow he needs to be hospitalized. I do trust this vet and she has kept him going through about 7 years of being diabetic. He is normally on Fancy feast pates. The vet said to even offer him hard food and high carb treats because he needs to eat. He is refusing those. And looking for any advice and thoughts. I will try to upload the files from his vet appointment today. I will also upload photographs of his AM notepad recording his BS and dose given. He is on 1.25 units of lantus AM and PM. I do always test pre-shot and write down. His number is and then later transfer to the spreadsheet, but I have not had time to input lately. Any and all advice and encouragement is truly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
 
As Wendy mentioned his dose is too high. Please reduce to 1.25. Cats often get pancreatitis. Since he’s refusing to eat I’d want a blood test to rule it out. The Spec FPL is what you want. Did your vet mention that? He very well could be nauseous and I’d see if you can get some ondansetron to see if that’s the case and he starts eating if cerenia doesn’t cut it before hospitalization.
 
I can tag a few members for you u but without testing since 4-3-22 and on 1-14 through 1-31 is all blank.
I don't know anyone can give you any advice
You have no tests after AMPS or PMPs to see how the insulin is working and how ow Dexter is dropping. You need to be testing after both are shots
It looks like you are basing how much insulin o give by the pre shots
We adjust the dose by how low Dexter is dropping
The units you are giving are all over the place
Have you looked at the 2 dosing methods for lantus to follow?
They will tell you when to either increase or decrease the dose.
I'll give you the link
The upload link is not working, so you will have to copy and paste what you have
Dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
As Wendy mentioned his dose is too high. Please reduce to 1.25.
Hi Elise in Rena's post she said she is already shooting 1.25 units AM and PM
@tiffmaxee

Elise do I have this correct
You don't want to see any numbers under 90 on the AT
Rena doesn't say what method she is following
If she decided to follow TR using the alpha Trak do you reduce is the BG falls under 68?
If she follows SLGS with the Alpha Trak do you reduce if the BG falls under 90
Or do you reduce if BG falls under 68 using the AT no matter what method you follow
I always get confused when using the AT
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Hi Elise in Rena's post she said she is already shooting 1.25 units AM and PM
@tiffmaxee

Elise do I have this correct
You don't want to see any numbers under 90 on the AT
Rena doesn't say what method she is following
If she decided to follow TR using the alpha Trak do you reduce is the BG falls under 68?
If she follows SLGS with the Alpha Trak do you reduce if the BG falls under 90
Or do you reduce if BG falls under 68 using the AT no matter what method you follow
I always get confused when using the AT
@tiffmaxee

With the limited testing I would only suggest SLGS and a reduction is earned if under 90. Thanks Diane for correcting me. I saw the 1.25 on her ss but not the date and thought that was recent. I don’t feel comfortable giving advice of the dose without testing. I just suggest a reduction be taken every time the bg is under 90.
Please test before every shot and do a curve every 7 days or as close to it as possible. Any mod cycle tests you can get will help too.
 
To clarify, I have been testing his blood sugar AM and PM every single day for the past 7 years. I have not been logging it lately in my spreadsheet because he has been doing so well. I cannot upload the vet results because the upload file button isn't working but I will try to do so when I get to work.
 
As Wendy mentioned his dose is too high. Please reduce to 1.25. Cats often get pancreatitis. Since he’s refusing to eat I’d want a blood test to rule it out. The Spec FPL is what you want. Did your vet mention that? He very well could be nauseous and I’d see if you can get some ondansetron to see if that’s the case and he starts eating if cerenia doesn’t cut it before hospitalization.
As Wendy mentioned his dose is too high. Please reduce to 1.25. Cats often get pancreatitis. Since he’s refusing to eat I’d want a blood test to rule it out. The Spec FPL is what you want. Did your vet mention that? He very well could be nauseous and I’d see if you can get some ondansetron to see if that’s the case and he starts eating if cerenia doesn’t cut it before hospitalization.
As Wendy mentioned his dose is too high. Please reduce to 1.25. Cats often get pancreatitis. Since he’s refusing to eat I’d want a blood test to rule it out. The Spec FPL is what you want. Did your vet mention that? He very well could be nauseous and I’d see if you can get some ondansetron to see if that’s the case and he starts eating if cerenia doesn’t cut it before hospitalization.
As Wendy mentioned his dose is too high. Please reduce to 1.25. Cats often get pancreatitis. Since he’s refusing to eat I’d want a blood test to rule it out. The Spec FPL is what you want. Did your vet mention that? He very well could be nauseous and I’d see if you can get some ondansetron to see if that’s the case and he starts eating if cerenia doesn’t cut it before hospitalization.

TiffMaxee: looking at yesterday's blood work, there is a result labeled "SNAP fPL." The vet says she does not think it is pancreatitis. Is that the correct blood value I'm looking for? I'm here at the hospital with him now so hopefully we will have answers soon. Thank you all for your time.
 
TiffMaxee: looking at yesterday's blood work, there is a result labeled "SNAP fPL." The vet says she does not think it is pancreatitis. Is that the correct blood value I'm looking for? I'm here at the hospital with him now so hopefully we will have answers soon. Thank you all for your time.
The SNAP test is accurate if positive. If negative, in the gray zone and symptomatic like he is the other test sent to a lab is a good idea. Since your vet suspects pancreatitis see how cerenia works. It works best fir vomiting but for many for nausea as well. Ondansetron was what I used and it was very effective for Max. He had chronic pancreatitis for a few years before becoming diabetic. I also used a tiny sliver of cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulant. It’s a human med requiring an RX. Zyrtec 10 mg regular strength allergy also works as an appetite stimulant for many cats. It did for Max and I have had to give it to Mocha for skin allergies and it definitely increases her appetite as well.
We have a primer on pancreatitis that I will link for you to read when you have time. You basically treat the symptoms if uncomplicated. It sounds like inappetence is what is happening and that was the case for Max too. Occasionally I needed buprenorphine for pain.
Is Cerenia helping? It can take a few days for the appetite to return. Sometimes Max needed ondansetron fur months at a time. Other times he bounced back after a week or two. Make sure to feed small amounts often rather than a lot of food all at once.
 
Back
Top