10/31, Corduroy, +4=106, +6=114, 10.5=77. DOSE QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi all! ~O)

Well, I'm super glad to see Cords' numbers down! However, here we go again with dosing :YMSIGH:

I know we're not supposed to lower the dose until he goes under 40, but with his history, I'm a little concerned that if I go ahead and give him .50 this morning (in about an hour), he'll go too low, then in turn, bounce back up into crazy high numbers. Any thoughts???

Plus, I'm not really certain what his nadir was. :?
 
The reductions are done if they go below 50, not 40 (Unless your cat is a long time diabetic)

You're starting to get some much better numbers on this .5 dose ...Finally!!

If his AMPS number is rising from the +10.5, you should be able to go ahead with his regular shot...can someone get a +2 or +3?
 
I agree with Chris. If his numbers are rising at AMPS, then shooting the full dose should be okay, depending upon the number and that someone will be home to feed and monitor and test hopefully. Let's see what his AMPS number is.

If someone is home to feed, then maybe you can feed a little higher carb food (like some MC), a little more frequently, to get him to not dive as much and hopefully not bounce as much.
 
Okay peeps ;-) , it's 87. So, he's pretty much surfing, right? Should I still give him .50?
 
One more important thing I might have forgotten to mention: I changed his food back to Evo a few days ago, and ever since, his BG levels have gone down. The Weruva was terribly bad at raising his numbers, so I stopped that. I wonder if this would matter?
 
If you or someone can be home to test monitor and feed, I would. The feed he gets for breakfast will or should raise his numbers up a little. You would want to start with a +1 and a +2. You've shot 87s before I see, although on a lesser dose. I think if you can feed the curve, I would go for it, but it's up to you, you hold the syringe.
 
blove7 said:
One more important thing I might have forgotten to mention: I changed his food back to Evo a few days ago, and ever since, his BG levels have gone down.
That's good. The change in food might be helping him, and or his pancreas might be healing. Keep up the good work.
 
Thanks for the input ladies! I decided to give him .25 this morning due to the food change. It really seems to have a dramatic effect on him, so I want to be careful.
 
The Evo could be helping to bring down his #s, especially if you're feeding him the Chicken & Turkey flavor. You may experience slightly rising #s because of the change, however, just know that it's only temporary as his body adjusts. Just patiently keep on doing what you're doing, and you'll get there. You're both doing a great job and he's looking good! Have a good day!
 
Sorry Dyana! I've been getting his +1, +2, and so on and so forth, but got busy in the meantime cleaning the house! His +1 was 104, +2= 83, +3=86, and his +4=98. I haven't tested him since then 'cause I wanna give the poor little guy's ears a break!
 
You're doing great Brigitte!!

I just got home after being gone most of the day so hadn't been able to keep up with you, but I know Dyana is great at helping too!

I'm trying some new foods with China too..see what difference they make
 
Hi Chris,

I hope you have luck with the new foods! It's tricky with Corduroy because I feel like he is so sensitive to changes in insulin and/or food. I just received my Tasin TS-108 grinder today, so I'm eventually gonna start making their food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top