10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58 +4 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misty&Bast

Member Since 2012
I have to leave for work at his +11
we had bounces and a real low yesterday. I can be back until at least +13.5
should I wait to shoot then or shoot a lesser dose (we lowered last night)

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82211 :-x
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

So your choices are to shoot an hour early, or 1.5 hours late?

I have to run out the door to work in 15 minutes unfortunately.

If you shoot a reduced dose (like .5u) on your way out the door, then you'd be home two and a half hours later right?

Please wait for confirmation from someone else (who would have more experience than I do), but I think that you could do that. Shoot .5u at +11, as long as you can leave food out for Bast, and then get a test around +2.5 after the shot. You would need to test again at +11 and hopefully see a number that is 340 or higher at that time (you don't want the number to be lower than it is right now).

Carl
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

i can be home all night which is his +6 so + 11 is not an issue.
I can come home for about 20 minutes at lunch so I could check at 1.5 but not 2.5
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

We really don't like to split the doses for Lantus like that. It looks like you actually shot at +11:45 last night? Did you take that into consideration when looking at shot times today?

W/ Lantus an early shot will act as an increase because of the greater overlap and conversely a late shot is like giving a reduction. If you advance a shot by more than about 15 minutes you need to adjust the next shot time by the same amount. Do you have a regular schedule you need to get to?
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

I'd be nervous having you shoot early since Bast is clearing bounces in record time. As much as I hate the idea, I think you'd be better off skipping the shot.
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

tring to get him back to 10:15 shot time or 10:30

how about a token .25 dose?
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

If you skip the shot you can reset your shot time to whenever you want, you don't need to wait until when you would usually do it, but you need to keep shooting at that time.

To complicate things even more, we are coming up to the end of Daylight savings time, most of us will start to adjust tomorrow. To make up for that hour change you will need to start by adjusting shot times by 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes once a day. Some cats can deal with the larger adjustment, others like to go slower. If you are flexible in you shot times for the next few days you can set your new shot time taking into account where you need to be next week and avoid all the little nudges.
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

so if i skip or do a token I can do the 10:15 dose tonight?

I also sent a pm because I really need to leave
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 can i shoot early?

As Sienne said it's probably better to skip entirely.

Yes, you can shoot at 10:15 tonight, but that means come Sunday you will be at 9:15. If that works for you fine if not you will need to adjust again.
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 no shot- changes in scedule

I go in work late on friday so I think I can do this- is this right to fix for daylight savings?

wed PMMS 10:15
Thursday AMPS at 10:30
Thursday PMPS at 10:30
Friday AMPS at 10:45
Friday PMPS at 10"45
Saturday AMPS at 11
Saturday PMPS at 11:pm (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 10, which is the “old” 11
Sunday PMPS at 10, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
 
Re: 10/31 Bast +10.5 340 no shot changes in scedule?

no ketones
do they really have a ketone issue if the keep going below 80?

pmps 340
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 340

340 is not bad at all after skipping and considering possible bouncing from low numbers. The current .75u dose should be fine.

Ketones aren't dependent on high numbers and can happen even when 80s occur. It's a good idea, if a cat has ever shown ketones, to test for them frequently. More so if you have to skip a dose, since "insufficient insulin" can also be a cause, along with not enough food and/or any infection. Speaking of which, is Bast still on AB's?

Carl
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 340

+2 116 and he ate well
I have to sit by him and keep saying "good sabastion good boy" and nudging the food dish at him
but he will eat

I typoed it was 354 at PMPS then +2 116

Guess I am getting up for a +3
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58

+3 is 58 :roll:
What is with this cat dropping in the first 4 hours?

so I gave him LC food and about 1 tsp of kibble (so he will eat it)
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58

Kibble? Noooooooooooo :lol:

I know you're still transitioning from a dry-food addiciton, but please, please make it a priority not to feed any dry anymore, k?

Try some other tricks to encourage Bast to eat:

--- Parmesan
--- Fortifloira
--- Crushed Liv-a-Littles

Re-test in 30 minutes, please, alright?

Jane
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58

I have tried to get to the market and petsmart for several days but everyday I plan on leaving he does the dip thing and can't. Since it is his first week (barely0 i have got him all wet except once in awhile . I crush about 8 tiny pieces and brush on food. It is what i have. I am tring to get him off completely but I have nothing else.

it is either a tiny bit or he doesn't eat fast. right now i feel it is more important to get him to eat. I will open a can of TJ tuna for cats next.
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58

Yes, you're right, it's the most important that he *does* eat :smile:

He's surfing the 50s - not bad at all! :mrgreen: I'd test again in 30 minutes (without feeding again right now).

Sound good?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58

thank you,
I thought we wanted surfing in the 80's

As per your suggestion to post- here is my other concern:

what concerns me is I have to work the next 4 days - friday i go in late but other than that I won't be home to moniter him. I usually can get home for +6 but not +3.
do you have any suggestions?
 
Re: 10/31 Bast pmps 354 +2 116 +3 58

Yes, we do like to see surfing in the 70s and 80s as well - but in general, being in the 50s is, as I said, not bad at all - healing numbers are great whether they're 50s or 80s and so on. The 50s just require some closer monitoring, especially for a newly diagnosed cat, and especially early in a cycle. Bear in mind though, that a 58 might well be a number in the 60s, if meter variance applies. That's why at this point I'm not *concerned* - I'm just encouraging vigilance :smile: Make sense?

Have you got a timed feeder, or someone who *could* get home and feed/test before (+6)?

Jane
 
Misty, I've put relayed your concern to some others, and we'll get back to you by your next condo with more suggestions, alright?

I would leave out some more food in case he wakes up and wants to eat.

I'd also, if at all possible, get a (+6), just to be sure he stays on his surfboard.

You did great tonight!

Hugs
Jane
 
Misty,

another thought - thank you, Dyana, for having it - would be to leave out "foodsicles" for Bast: Fill an icecube tray with his wet food, freeze it, and leave some out for him to snack on as it thaws :smile:

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top