10/31/21 Biscuits amps 417 need advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyndibalz

Member Since 2019
I realize I was doing it all wrong with his dosage last week, I feel terrible. He wasnt eating well and I was terrified to give him the whole dose. He is currently on 2 units of Vetsulin, 10cc Methylcobalamin once a day and now 1 inch of Lax'aire daily cause he needs to poo

I am holding the 2 units for a week per the vetsulin sticky.
I hope its just him not pooping that has caused his numbers to go up and once he finally goes the numbers will go down and he will start eating better.

I cant help to notice that it seems like the pre shot numbers are slowly climbing. Could that be me not dosing him properly over the last week or could it be that the vetsulin is wearing off too fast?? (he was on vetsulin his first round with diabetes, I wasnt testing at home until a hypo episode so I sadly have no clue how he did with it over time)

My question is should I hold steady with the 2 units for the next week and see what happens? I can switch him to lantus if needed, dr said to just call if we feel he isnt responding well to Vetsulin this time around.
 
I was not a Vetsulin user and cannot help you with that aspect but one of the reasons why Biscuits numbers are higher could be the Lax'aire – it contains malt syrup.
Have you checked out the https://felineconstipation.org/ page?
I have read through that. I started giving him a little pumpkin yesterday. He wont eat it on his own right now so I pretty much have to wipe it into his mouth. Hopefully he get something moving in there very soon.
 
Either an 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon twice a day.
I give Tyler an 1/8 of a teaspoon twice a day maybe every 2 days
You have to see what works for Biscuits , if it's too much cut back, just be sure to add a nice amount of water to his wet food when you add the miralax to it.
You can buy the store brands also Clearlax ,etc it's much cheaper , it's the same thing as miralax
 
Vetsulin usually does not last as long in cats. I'd hold the 2U for a few more cycles, but please do get a before bed test every night. And during the day, focus on the +2 to +6 range if you can (or run a curve).

Have you been checking ketones? The notes about weak and not eating concern me a bit.

If you choose to stop the Laxaire please do be careful, I'm not sure how much that may reduce his BG by stopping it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top