10/31/2013 Monet AMBG 139 PMPS 174

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107228

Happy Halloween everyone !

Monet is dong good this Thursday morning (all 4 P's - Check). His AMBG was 139 so no shot. Last night his PMBG was 151 (No Shot).
I started mixing his FF LC wet food with Weruva LC wet food and he is really loving it ! I ordered it when I saw it on Dr. Lisa's chart because it was high in Protein, low in fat, low in carbs (the ones I ordered especially), and low in Phos.
The Weruva looks and smells like something I would eat. :lol:

Monet now jumps up on the guest bed wanting his BG test every time . . . this has really shocked me, especially with him. I had seen some kitties start doing that but never thought Monet would.


Hope you all have an AWESOME day and all Kitties get good BG numbers !
 
Yay! Awesome news about Monet :-D :-D I have been looking at trying the Weruva. Good to hear it's a hit. I will definately be trying it now :-D Thanks for stopping by for the visit today, it's so nice to have company :-D Have a safe and happy Halloween!!
 
Yeah for Monet!!

We hear that so much here Rise...that "My cat will never let me do that!!". It's amazing what our kitties will put up with for a yummy snack :-D

I take it you finally found some 1/2 unit marked syringes since you gave the .25 tonight. Hopefully that'll be a good dose that you'll be able to give every 12 hours, although it looks like Monet really isn't going to need to be on insulin very long

Happy Halloween to you too!
 
Hi Rise,

Isn't it great to find a food that they like and is good for them!! :-D Just don't let Monet see when you buy a case of something, cause for sure, it suddenly doesn't taste as good :lol: :lol:

And Monet is coming to be tested!! dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon Happy Day!
 
Hi Rise

Just getting the chance to check back in with you and Monet.

I hope you found some syringes with 1/2u markings.

I read back through your condos from the last few days and one thing stood out to me:

You were very lucky on the 10th that you didn't end up in a heartbreaking situation...40 on an AlphaTrak is a 10 on our human meters!

This isn't really consistent with what members have found. At lower numbers, we've found the difference decreases and, in some cases, the AT has been found to be a little higher than some of the human glucometers. I'm not trying to lessen the significance of a 40 on an AT but also don't want you to best yourself up because you think it means it was a 10 on a human glucometer.

I thought you might like to read this interesting condo on members' Comparisons between AT and Human Glucometers.

The other thing id, I really think Monet could benefit if you are able to shoot the numbers you are skipping. You might even need to back the dose down to 0.1u but it would be better for him in the long run if you shot about every 12 hours. We can help you learn to do that :-D it just appears his numbers are trending up....
 
Hi Marje....Thanks for your info on both the meter and about trying to get Monet where I am giving him his shot 2 times per day! You are right about his numbers trending up a bit. Last night his BG was 174 and just this morning it was 179.
I have give him .25 for those 2 shots. Do you think that dosage is OK ?

I hope you and Gracie have a great Friday and thanks again for all your help!
 
Yes....I would try the .25u until he earns a reduction. If he gives you a number above 80 on your AT that you are nervous about shooting, please post first and we'll help you. Remember not to feed him if you are stalling to see if the number will come up a bit.

You might just want to peruse the "Dealing with Low Preshots" post in my signature block. I think if we can get you to shoot more green numbers above 80 on the AT, you might see a little more progress :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top