10/31/11 Hannahglory AMPS 189,2U or not??????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priscillalea

Member Since 2011
Morning, she is 189 @+12 was 181@+5 {overnight}............Have to give ins. now, How much ??????...............Priscilla
 
You shot 2 units with a BG of 173 on the 25th. Are you going to be around today?
 
Can you stall (without feeding), and test again 30 minutes from the last test, to see if she's going up or down?
Will you be home today, to monitor her?
 
I'm copying your post from yesterday's condo here:
Priscillalea said:
Okay, breathing..................I use a 30 g insulin syringe on her ears, up until recently that worked very well...I like the lower dose idea at each shot............I always do BGs before meals.Last night at +5 she was 181 and this am at +12 she is 189.just waiting to hear if 2 U is okay................P and HG....................... how do I add info to the lower left of my screen like you have? also how do I add info on upper right, I guess that is the profile area..........I have the added problem of having dial-up, which I am working on changing and no computer experience so all of this has been a BIG learning experience............Hannah was diagnosed in early 2008 had almost a year of remission soon afterwards and i only began doing my own BGs about 8-9 months ago, other than that she went to the Vet once a month or so for a curve, it seems a miracle she is still alive from what I have been hearing............talk to you soon..........
I use a 28 gauge lancet, and still have to poke more than once, often, to get enough blood. I just poke another poke right next to the last one. I can't help you with the rest of your questions here, right now.
If you're not going to be home today, to monior her, would you feel more comfortable giving her a slightly reduced shot of say 1.50 units and leavin extra food out? Can she be left in a room by herself, where the other cats can't get to it?
Just trying to help you this morning.
 
Already fed her, gave her a "skinny" 2u 45 minutes later than usual, I am on call at the hospital, will be here if not called in, so will moniter her..................Thank you all...........P and HG
 
For future reference, if you're needing to stall, do not feed. Otherwise, your next text is influenced by the effect of food and it may be an artificially higher number.

IMHO, a 189 would be a perfectly fine number to have shot your full dose.

Please get pre-shot data. You have no pre-shot info on 10/27, 28, and 29. Given that HG has been in blue numbers, not getting pre-shot tests could be risky.
 
I have to feed her if I have to go to work, as it is I took a sick day to moniter her, but will have to leave if called in............AT +2 she is 102. I know that is supposed to be a good number, however with our history I am starting to get nervous.............I will do her hourly and see how she does.............What if I drop her to one unit for a week and see what happens ?....Will do pre bgs from now on.............this constant worry is really making me very discouraged.............Priscilla
 
morning! you ca always feed her now too if she stats to drop alot. The +2 is a good drop, perhaps bring in some higher carb food? , not alot, a small amount to help her slow down on the drop, set up a nice surf. Good luck!
 
Thanks Michelle, gave her a very small taste of something she likes.going to do hourly bgs for a while..........Priscilla
 
Hi guys and happy halloween! Lots of advice going on in this condo today so I'll just say hannah glory's numbers are looking puuurfect! Nice job guys .. hope you have a great day!
 
I know these numbers look real good, 102 116 110, but not sure that Hannah likes them, she is quite lazy and sluggish and seems very depressed...will keep doing hourly for a while...Priscilla
 
many, many people have reported that their cats are lethargic when they get into a range of numbers that they aren't used to. i think of it like me and my caffeine fix. my natural state is uncaffeinated, but i like my caffeine. so i have a couple cans of pop every day. that caffeinated state has become my norm and when i don't have it, it sucks. i whine and want to complain! :lol: i'm not very stoic. :-D as hannah glory gets used to her numbers being in another range it will feel more normal to her.

i don't think you need to check every hour unless you've got lower numbers, like 70 or less. in the meantime, every 2-3 hours til you can see a nadir would probably be sufficient. after the nadir i only check once or not at all, but punkin is very predictable.
 
Still new at this, nadir is when she starts to go back up?..........At about 7 pm tonight I will need to make a decision how much to give her , I am thinking of dropping her to 1 unit for the next 5 or so days to see where she stays, must go to work and I have to know she is safe. She has been on 2 units for a couple of weeks and now she seems to need less...........I am amazed how this works, for 2 months she was on 4units and her numbers stayed high most of the time, then all of a sudden she dropped and the ER Vet put her on 2units and her numbers got better...........odd, seems that low dose leads to lower numbers instead of a higher dose like you would think.............My next test will be her PMPS at about 1830...........I have to keep her close to schedule, I have to be out of here by 0645 tomorrow morning...everyone is so patient with me thanks...........Priscilla
 
the nadir is the lowest point they get to in a cycle. it's when the strength of the lantus is at its peak. so yes, after that their blood sugar usually starts to rise. sometimes cats seem to stay flat all day - no idea what that's about, maybe related to their food or ? i don't know.

usually changes are made by .25 units. i have no idea what a drop of 50% would do. so you're going to work tomorrow for the following 5 days? whatever you decide to do, if you could get a couple of evening tests every day, including the last minute before going to bed, that would tell you more about what she's doing on the new dose.

in a perfect world, this is the example of a cat on lantus: it's from Lantus & Levemir, New To Group
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top