10/30 Savannah amps 104, +9.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd & savannah

Member Since 2010
Morning all!

yesterday

We are going to the vet this morning for a weight check in and to talk about how she seems to be throwing up more lately. She threw up this morning but she did gorge herself. I knew I should have pulled her away but I forgot as I was getting ready and then next thing I heard was her puking. Good thing it was on the mat next to her dish and not the rug!

So I have two questions...
1. Should I try an OTJ trial? I'm barely giving her anything and she's had some good numbers. How do ppl decide to go OTJ? She's been diabetic for four years so I am hesitant to take her off completely.

2. I am going to my nephew's birthday party tonight and will most likely be 1-2 hours late with her shot time, any suggestions?

Thanks all and happy caturday!
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

Savannah's numbers are very nice, but in my opinion it doesn't look like she is ready for OTJ yet. She still has quite a bit of blue, and usually for OTJ we are looking for the cat to stay pretty much all green for at least 7 days on 0.1 units, unless of course 0.1 units takes them too low. For a long-time diabetic, I would probably hold the 0.1 for even longer than 7 days before trying OTJ.

If it was me, I would probably try spreading her food around differently to see if I could bring those blues down. Is she getting a +9 snack? If that didn't work, then I would raise her dose by a drop to see if that would bring her solidly into greens. An occasional low blue is ok, but you want to see almost all green. Then once she has held that green for 7 days, try reducing the dose by a drop. Keep getting mid-cycle checks because you want to see if she is getting low, or alternately if she starts throwing inverted curves then it might be time to try a reduction.

Going OTJ is tricky, especially in long-time diabetics, so keep posting so we can help keep an eye on her.
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

Wow! Lots of good information Libby. Real clear direction. Uhmmm...what's an inverted curve and what does it mean?

Thanks so much.

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

I will def. keep giving her it then.

Also, we went to the vet this morning. She's def. lost weight since January- at least 2 lbs. We talked to her about how she seems to be throwing up lately and she wants to run blood work to see if it is Pancreatitis. She said she should fast first, b/c she's also going to run other GI stuff. We are going to take her in on Monday night but I plan on not giving her insulin if she's not going to be allowed to eat all day. Any thoughts?

Thanks for all of your help!
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

I would not shoot if Savannah isn't allowed to eat. I would try to get the vet visit out of the way, though, so you can give the PM shot.
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

Sounds good Sienne, I will give her the night before PM shot.

Sorry Libby I forgot to answer the food question. I don't really observe what times she eats at. There was a time last week or so that I did notice that she was eating around 3/4 in the am and her preshots were green. We can try to be better at making sure she gets a snack at +9.
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

I tried Raja at a +9 snack in both cycles and then noticed that her numbers were considerably lower if I fed her 4 hours before. So, I started with the +8 snack during the PM cycle (and have moved it up to +7 nowadays) It's a matter of seeing which works best. Good luck with the tests on Monday night...hope she will be okay...
Will you be able to get home in time for a shot in the PM on Monday as Sienne said?
 
Re: 10/30 Savannah amps 104 questions

The vet is no more than 5 minutes away so we will be home in time to get her shot done.

I really like this vet. We had to switch b/c we moved. She was very impressed with the spread sheet! She knew about FDMB and totally encouraged home testing and curves, hooray!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top