10/30 Sarge AMPS 261 +1.5 439

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Sarge hit blue again last night and had a yellow morning. I am really liking the fact that the red and pink mornings are finally going away. The "new thing" seems to be mini-bounces after breakfast. This morning was the beginning of cycle six. We have had blue every night of the 2.25 unit dosage and one green. Do I increase tonight or do I give him another couple of cycles? I don't want to hurt his progress by waiting to long or not waiting long enough to make adjustments. All three of the boys were passed out after breakfast this morning. It was pretty funny. Maybe the "fall craziness" has finally worn off. There were several mornings Diesel about knocked me over lately so this was a switch! Hope all is well and quiet in your neck of the woods :)

Wednesday's condo
 
Hi Alison. No dosing advice here but I do have a question. You seem to be using new pens quite often. I've used vials until now and they would last me about 5-6 months. Many people seem to be able to use a pen until the insulin is gone. So I'm just curious how you decide when to start a new one.

Max gets a pretty big food bump, but usually 100 points. I think Sarge is bouncing from from the green as well as getting the food bump.
 
Hi Alison, it is nice to see that change in colors in the preshots. :-D I see Sarge is yet another example of why testing at night is good. Neko does the same, go lower and night and mini bounce during the day.

When you have a question, it's easier for us to to spot it if you go to your first post of the day, click the ? button and add something like Dose? to your first subject line. But since I'm here, I'll throw in my $0.02. Since Sarge got green a couple nights ago, I'd hold onto the dose a few more cycles to see if he comes back to green. If not, then I'd increase .25U again. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
You seem to be using new pens quite often. I've used vials until now and they would last me about 5-6 months. Many people seem to be able to use a pen until the insulin is gone. So I'm just curious how you decide when to start a new one.

It's the weirdest thing. At about three weeks or so it is suddenly like I haven't given Sarge insulin at all. No change even with a dose increase last time. Finally, I give up on the pen and get a new one and all goes back to "normal." I am experimenting with a few things to see if I can figure out what happens and I have kept the bum pens in case I"m wrong. But so far I'm three for three with switching pens and getting back on track. I would love to use up a whole one. Those little buggers are expensive.

I am going to give Sarge a few more cycles on this dose and see what he does. I can tell he feels better. He is getting into stuff!! Thanks so much for all your help guys. I will post dose question in my subject next time too :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top