Josie & Ripley (GA)
Member Since 2012
Yesterday, not well, vet visit, syringe feeding...
Yesterday recap:
AMBG (no appy, no shot): 287
vomit, diarrhea
+7: 250
PMPS: 248 (syringe fed 1-2t. at a time, every 45 mins. or so until +4)
+2: 247
+4: 267
+6: 300
Good morning, LL ☼
Ripley ate some food on her own this morning, before her insulin shot.
I gave her a tablet of cypro an hour before presenting food to her, so that may be helping her appy.
Food: I had prepared to syringe-feed her again, so I got out some Cowboy Cookout (the orig. recipe, used to be her favorite), pureed it w/ water, strained it (those darn chunks even pureed wouldn't break down enough to make it syringe-able!), and basically made Cowboy Cookout broth. I loaded the syringe, and also put some in a small bowl. She licked the bowl clean :smile: so I added a little bit of Wellness Turkey (her current usual food) and she proceeded to eat that. Not a lot, but some. Then I gave Ripley her insulin. She meowed when I tented her flank~ normally she doesn't even notice ~ I wonder if she's feeling tender there.
I still have the syringe loaded to give her some before I leave for work. She will then have (hopefully) about 2-3T of food in her ~ less than normal, but still some.
She has peed twice in the last 2 hours (1 outside the LB, 1 partially in ~ same as yesterday), and is drinking water (but not nearly as much as yesterday afternoon pre-vet visit).
When I got up early to give her the cypro pill, she looked miserable. She opened her eyes, but didn't lift her head. The pill went down pretty easy ~ not much of a struggle.
Now, after eating a bit, she's resting on her rocker with her head up ~ she almost looks 'normal.'
I'm meeting with the vet this afternoon to look at bloodwork results and talk ABs. I want to get her started today on AB pills, so we can get rid of this infection.
Thank you so much for all of the visits yesterday, and hugs and advice. Truly helped get through the day.
And thanks for stopping by after I signed off last night, Mariko, Ann, and Dyana.
Sending vines to my girl, plus all others in need today ♥
Yesterday recap:
AMBG (no appy, no shot): 287
vomit, diarrhea
+7: 250
PMPS: 248 (syringe fed 1-2t. at a time, every 45 mins. or so until +4)
+2: 247
+4: 267
+6: 300
Good morning, LL ☼
Ripley ate some food on her own this morning, before her insulin shot.
I gave her a tablet of cypro an hour before presenting food to her, so that may be helping her appy.
Food: I had prepared to syringe-feed her again, so I got out some Cowboy Cookout (the orig. recipe, used to be her favorite), pureed it w/ water, strained it (those darn chunks even pureed wouldn't break down enough to make it syringe-able!), and basically made Cowboy Cookout broth. I loaded the syringe, and also put some in a small bowl. She licked the bowl clean :smile: so I added a little bit of Wellness Turkey (her current usual food) and she proceeded to eat that. Not a lot, but some. Then I gave Ripley her insulin. She meowed when I tented her flank~ normally she doesn't even notice ~ I wonder if she's feeling tender there.
I still have the syringe loaded to give her some before I leave for work. She will then have (hopefully) about 2-3T of food in her ~ less than normal, but still some.
She has peed twice in the last 2 hours (1 outside the LB, 1 partially in ~ same as yesterday), and is drinking water (but not nearly as much as yesterday afternoon pre-vet visit).
When I got up early to give her the cypro pill, she looked miserable. She opened her eyes, but didn't lift her head. The pill went down pretty easy ~ not much of a struggle.
Now, after eating a bit, she's resting on her rocker with her head up ~ she almost looks 'normal.'
I'm meeting with the vet this afternoon to look at bloodwork results and talk ABs. I want to get her started today on AB pills, so we can get rid of this infection.
Thank you so much for all of the visits yesterday, and hugs and advice. Truly helped get through the day.
And thanks for stopping by after I signed off last night, Mariko, Ann, and Dyana.
Sending vines to my girl, plus all others in need today ♥