10/30 Ripley PMPS 313, +3 238, eating on her own :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday, not well, vet visit, syringe feeding...

Yesterday recap:
AMBG (no appy, no shot): 287
vomit, diarrhea
+7: 250
PMPS: 248 (syringe fed 1-2t. at a time, every 45 mins. or so until +4)
+2: 247
+4: 267
+6: 300

Good morning, LL ☼

Ripley ate some food on her own this morning, before her insulin shot.
I gave her a tablet of cypro an hour before presenting food to her, so that may be helping her appy.

Food: I had prepared to syringe-feed her again, so I got out some Cowboy Cookout (the orig. recipe, used to be her favorite), pureed it w/ water, strained it (those darn chunks even pureed wouldn't break down enough to make it syringe-able!), and basically made Cowboy Cookout broth. I loaded the syringe, and also put some in a small bowl. She licked the bowl clean :smile: so I added a little bit of Wellness Turkey (her current usual food) and she proceeded to eat that. Not a lot, but some. Then I gave Ripley her insulin. She meowed when I tented her flank~ normally she doesn't even notice ~ I wonder if she's feeling tender there.
I still have the syringe loaded to give her some before I leave for work. She will then have (hopefully) about 2-3T of food in her ~ less than normal, but still some.

She has peed twice in the last 2 hours (1 outside the LB, 1 partially in ~ same as yesterday), and is drinking water (but not nearly as much as yesterday afternoon pre-vet visit).

When I got up early to give her the cypro pill, she looked miserable. She opened her eyes, but didn't lift her head. The pill went down pretty easy ~ not much of a struggle.
Now, after eating a bit, she's resting on her rocker with her head up ~ she almost looks 'normal.'

I'm meeting with the vet this afternoon to look at bloodwork results and talk ABs. I want to get her started today on AB pills, so we can get rid of this infection.

Thank you so much for all of the visits yesterday, and hugs and advice. Truly helped get through the day.
And thanks for stopping by after I signed off last night, Mariko, Ann, and Dyana.

Sending vines to my girl, plus all others in need today ♥
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

Healing vines for sweet Ripley. I hope your vet visit goes well and you get ABs on board asap. ((((Josie))))
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

Thank you, Melissa.

Ripley is walking around meowing. Not like her at all.
I wonder if she's feeling agitated from the cypro. I gave the vet-recommended dose (1 pill), but know that sometimes is too much.
Poor baby.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

Morning Josie ~O) ~O) ~O) Healing vines to Ripley, lots of vines. It is good to read that the cypro is helping her eat, giving her an appy. Hooray for CC broth. I hope the vetty visit goes well, and that you can get the AB's on board today. Hugs to all there, hugs to Ripley. Be well little one.

HJave a good day today Josie.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

It's good to see that Ripples at a bit on her own. You could be right about the cypro making her a bit agitated. I hope she settles down, and once those ABs start, she is back to herself and feeling good in no time. Prayers and hugs for both of you.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

Hi Josie,
It's good she ate on her own, even a little bit, this morning.
I think it's possible her walking and meowing is due to cypro.
My vet's recommended dose of cypro for Lucy is 1/4 tablet.
I hope AB helps her eat and feel better quickly.
Sending more healing and eating vines to Ripley.
And hugs to you.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

Sending a TON more vines and prayers for Ripley. Please get better soon, sweetheart. We all love you.

And tossing in snowflakes and white healing light, too!!!
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

Hi guys .. awww, I feel bad ripley is not feeling so well .. Give her a soft kiss and scritches from us!!
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

We only give Zener a tiny bit of cypro. We cut the 4mg tablets in 1/4s, then cut those in half so 1/8 of a tablet, and often give him less than that. Too much can certainly make kitties agitated and restless. Paws crossed Ripley gets past this infection and starts feeling better soon!
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264

I sure hope Ripley feels better soon. Cypro made our girl act weird too. Meowing and restless. Hope it helps with appy soon.
Have a good day you two.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

Thanks, all, for the extra vines and support :YMHUG:

We just got home from another vet visit.
Her bloodwork came in, and confirms an infection ~ a pretty bad one ~ plus pancreatitis. (At least ~ there may be more issues, but only an ultrasound would confirm those ~ maybe IBD?).
(In, my overwhelmed state I forgot to get a copy of her bloodwork ~ I'll try to remember to get a copy on Friday, our next appt.)

~ Ripley got a penicillin injection, to help address the infection immediately. I also have Clavamox to give to her.

~ He gave some Tramadol pills for pain, as needed. (My request for bupe was denied ~ he doesn't send bupe home with clients due to it being an off-label drug.)

~ He wants to see her in 2 days (Fri) to reassess her situation. He may want to hospitalize her for 2-3 days for IV, fluids, etc. This makes me nervous, of course.

He may want her to have prednisone 2-3 days ~ I need to look into that ~ I know Anne & Liz's very recently went through prescription-filling issues...

There may be more, but my head is spinning/processing right now.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

Poor dear, no wonder she wasn't feeling well. I hope the ABs clear things up quickly. Hugs to both you and Ripples . . . :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

Thank you Amy.

I just found out the hard way that Tramadol is extremely bitter.
Poor Ripley is drooling, foaming, very unhappy :sad: .
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

I hope the meds help Ripley get better quickly. Sending prayers and hugs to you and Ripley. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

((((Josie and Ripley))))

Sending tons of healing vines, hope the meds help Miss Ripples feel better quickly. :YMHUG:

Kathie
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

I'm pretty sure Tramadol can be compounded into a gel that you can rub inside Ripley's ear. That way, she wouldn't have to deal with the yucky bitter taste. Ann was using the transdermal tramadol with Maggie.

I am so sorry all this is going on. Endless prayers continue.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

:YMHUG: Josie & Ripley :YMHUG:
I'm relieved for you that you finally got some answers. Now you can move onto the treating stage. I'm so sorry you guys are going through this. I can just imagine how much of a spin you're going through. Ripley, you're a little fighter and you just keep eating for your mama, take your meds, and get all better sweet girl. You are both in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs and Vines :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

(((Josie)))

Feel better Miss Ripples, Infection fighting vines coming through~
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

I'm glad you got the AB. If Ripley needs pred, prednisolone is preferable to prednisone.

I haven't a clue what your vet is talking about when he's saying the bupe is off label for cats. Here's a link to a vet med site that discusses using bupe for cats.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

So glad you got the ABs and know more about what is making your Ripley feel so bad. We were able to get the prednisolone compounded from thrivingpets.com. They faxed the vet for the prescription, filled it and we received it today - in two days total. And the price was very reasonable.

Sending healing snowflakes to our Ripley and hugs to her beloved bean.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley AMPS 264, +8.5 278, another vet visit

Hi Josie. I am so sorry that Ripley isn't feeling well. You sure have had a rough few days. Hopefully the AB will get to work on the infection and clear it up quickly. We're sending Ripley lots of healing vines along with appy vines. We have you both in our Prayers Josie.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley PMPS 313, more syringe feeding

(((((Josie and Ripley)))))
Sending you two tons of feel better vines ♥♥
And lots and lots of :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley PMPS 313, more syringe feeding

Thank you SO much for the visits and good thoughts. We're definitely feeling the love and hugs :smile: .

Ripley's appy is poor, but I'm not surprised.
Her afternoon wasn't ideal (vet visit and very very very icky-tasting med), and I don't know how much cypro actually got into her. She salivated and gagged so much when I gave the tramadol (+cypro), that both med may have partially or completely come back out. I feel so bad for that, but know I know to mask the tramadol taste. Yucky stuff.

I syringe-fed her tonight before and after her insulin; there's still some more food to get into her, but I'm spreading it out over the evening. She's such a sweetheart. I can tell she doesn't like to be syringe-fed, but she puts up with it. Same with her sub-qs tonight. She was so relaxed and mellow ~ I administered while DH gave her head scritches. We make a pretty good team, plus he's calm and balances out my anxiety in these situations. I'm sure Ripples appreciates his easy-going outlook.
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley PMPS 313, more syringe feeding

Thank you for the update, Josie...I've been thinking about you guys all evening :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: . It sounds like you guys have some good systems in place, and you and your DH's personalities sound so much like me and my DH. It IS nice to have someone who can remain calm, cool, and collected to help keep things in balance.

Keep eating, little girl...feel better!
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley PMPS 313, more syringe feeding

Thanks!

I was trying to find it earlier today for you, too, but wasn't successful. Thank you - so much needed here, too!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/30 Ripley PMPS 313, more syringe feeding

Yay for calm DH's :smile:
And Amy, that was so good. Thanks for sharing ;-)
Sending all of you more :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thank you ((Amy)), ((Nancy)), and ((Pam)).

I can go to bed feeling a little relieved: she ate some food on her own (yay!!), and she's out of the pink and into the yellow.

Sweet dreams, LL.
 
(((Josie)))
I am so glad Ripley ate on her own tonight.
Great news!
And if Ripley is putting up with things she doesn't like, it means she WANTS to get better, and I think wanting to get better has more healing power than any meds!
It's great Ripley can receive calming energy from your DH.
Sending more healing vines and positive thoughts to Ripley.
I am praying that the meds works well and she won't have to be hospitalized.
 
Tons more vines for Ripley. One time when I gave cypro to Zener, he did the gagging and drooling thing too. It was awful. :sad: Now we give it in a pill pocket and he just swallows it right down. Much easier on everyone.
Liz
 
:-D :-D Sleep well.
hug.gif


You've got all of LL sending healing vines to sweet Ripples. Great news she feels like eating. Hoping for a much better day tomorrow.
 
Poor, Ripley, I'm sorry she's feeling so poorly. Glad you got some direction from the tests, though, and hopefully she'll be feeling better soon. I hope you're having a peaceful night.

Continued Prayers and Hugs -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top