10/30 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
Thanks to all for the help and support yesterday. It is very much appreciated. Here's a recap of the test numbers from yesterday. I thought we would see a bit higher numbers in the later part of the cycle but a =10.5/221 isn't too bad I guess.
Fingers crossed PurrFace doesn't decide that he needs to keep us on our toes again today. Again, thanks to all and I hope those in the path of Sandy did not sustain any damage. You are all in our prayers.
284 AMPS 85 PMPS
280 +2 121 +1
152 +6 136 +2
58 +10 144 +4
59 +11 126 +7.5
54 +12 221 +10.5
43 +12.5
74 +13
79 +13.25
82 +13.5
76 +14
85 +14.5



PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185

Bless your old cotton socks!
the three of you have had quite a couple of days! Aren't we just the luckiest ducks to have found these people to shepherd us? I know you were following instructions, but i have to tell you. .... to those of us who hope we never have to do what you did..... you did an amazing job.. TWICE. BACK TO BACK!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
my hat is off to you.
best to you and yours
mary and oliver
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185

"Bless your old cotton socks!" Ditto! (What a great saying! I should look up the origination of that one.)

Isn't it nice to have a number you can shoot with no nerves getting involved?! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127

Aren't we just the luckiest ducks to have found these people to shepherd us?
Yes we are. I don't even want to think about how much more stressful would have been without all the help I received. We all love our cats and to have them get in a situation like he did it's so comforting to know you can post here and someone is going to guide you in the right direction. Sometimes it seems like saying thank you isn't enough for all they do. Did you get some suggestions on transporting Oliver in your tractor? I was going to suggest putting some velcro on him and another piece on the seat. Then when you let him the cab by himself you can stick him to the seat so he won't open the window and get out. Of course I'm just joking.

Dale you are right shooting a good number is less stressful..a lot less. His numbers keep going down today so I hope he gets to the high green and levels out. I don't want a repeat so soon.

Have a great night.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127

I was going off to "do" dinner, but i had to come back and tell you. I howled at the idea of putting velcro on him and the seat! WAAAAY too funny. The mental image of a cat stuck to the seat is a hoot. There's been more than once that I could have used that.. where were you then????
.Ollie's traveled in that truck for 10 years now, since he was 4 weeks old. He travels well, hangs out on the dash or in his bed. I wasn't worried about if he would travel well. I was worried about what to do if he ever got a low number :o :shock: nailbite_smile and we were trucking down the road without internet. Well, my dear, I printed out parts of your hair raising experience for reference about when to feed HC with honey, MC and LC. I've got all the stickies printed, laminated and stuck to the wall of the cab. Marje gave me some wonderful, information, short, to the point so it's easy to find what i need . and we are ready to go. .....as long as he doesn't get any really low numbers... like below 250 :lol:

have a great everything! hugs to you all.. thanks for the laugh.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97

Normally I would be happy with a 97 but he still has 5 hours left in the cycle and he has been dropping with every test. His nadir use to be around the +5-+6 time frame but lately it's been all over. Hopefully he's back on track and will stay in this range until PM shot time. Hope everyone had a good day.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97

What a great couple of days for PurrFace. I don't know if I have ever stopped by before. Great shooting. Have a wonderful night!
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97

Thanks for stopping in Melissa. Wish you and Tarragon a good night.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97

Hi John, Great job handling another exciting night :-D , more good learning you hope you wont need again too soon. You may want to compare notes with Lisa & Leo, she is also summarizing lessons from their learning lab. I hope PurrFace gives you a quiet restful night tonight.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97

Thank you Leslie. I hope so to but he has me thinking I might be shooting a low number. I'm doing a +10 test in 10 minutes. Thank you for checking in and the info on Lisa & Leo.
Have a great evening.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97

PurrFace is looking great these days.

Sounds like you 2 beans are getting a good bit of 'experience' in the testing. Hang in there PurrFace, prayers for your ears. :lol: :lol: Have a great night.

karen
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97 +10/150

Thanks Karen. He's back in the blue at +10 so maybe it'll be a "normal" night. It looks like that teaspoon of LC food he wanted at +7.5 gave his number a little boost.
Have a good evening.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97 +10/150

It looks like that teaspoon of LC food he wanted at +7.5 gave his number a little boost.
Great observation! It's also a lovely cycle today. PurrFace cleared the bounce like a pro.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97 +10/150

Evening John!

Beautiful cycle today...you did great. I'll be around if you have any questions or need anything around shot time, ok?
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace AMPS 203 +2/185 +4/127 +6.5/97 +10/150

Great job these last couple of days.
Hope Purface decides to live in the blues and greens all the time.....
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203

Hi to all. I hope PurrFace stays reasonably steady tonight. He feels pretty good because he played as well as he can with only two legs working at 100%. He surprised me when he cleared the bounce so quickly...I better watch or it will sound like I know what I'm talking about. Overall a good AM cycle. Thanks again Marje for working the shot schedule to get me on track again. It's working great. I'll probably be up until the +2 test or I might let DW pull a shift tonight. I appreciate you letting me know you're there. It takes the edge off of the nerves knowing there's a safety net. I'd be happy Rhiannon if PurrFace would stay in the green and blues but not put all his greens within a two hour period like last night. I'm sorry I didn't get to your condo today. I hope Shadow is still doing fine on his path to OJT. I hope everyone has a great evening.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66

Looks like PurrFace is going to start this morning in the green. I thought he would be in the mid 70s since he hadn't eaten since PMPS so the 66 wasn't a huge surprise. He's eating now, about 2oz FF LC so unless he starts acting strange I'll test him at +10. Hope everyone had a good night.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46

Since he is in the 40s at +10 am I right doing the following? Retest in 15 minutes and if still in the 40s, or dropping fed 1 teaspoon of LC and test again in 15-20 minutes. Repeat testing and 1 teaspoon of LC until he gets 2 numbers above 50.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46

Retest at +10.25/47. Only 1 point higher.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46

John

The instructions I gave the other day are more geared towards getting a PS number in the 40s.

The best thing to do for a low number like this at +10 is to feed some LC food and retest in 20 mins. You don't want to overinflate the number but you want him up. It's a fine line....it's late in the cycle and so LC should do the trick but if you get him up to where you can shoot, you will have to understand you could be shooting a food spike. Hopefully, if you feed now and get him up for at least an hour before you shoot, it will be fine.

I think he dropped because he had no food after PMPS. Many of us feed several mini meals before nadir so the insulin has something to balance it. No food means drops. LC food can smooth out the action of the insulin before nadir.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46

Doing a retest now will post new number ASAP
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46

I thought I should give the 1 teaspoon of LCD an retest but wanted to be sure. Did not do the test I said we were doing we fed the 1 teaspoon of LCD. I'll retest in 20 minutes after he finishes. I should have fed after the PM+2 last night but didn't.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46

RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47

No...you didn't do anything wrong at all :-D You are doing great, :-D :-D :-D

You will have to keep doing this...feed a little LC and test but let's go to 30 mins ok? He's at a safe number...he should be coming up.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47

As I understand it if the number is in the 40s you retest and if still in the 40s you feed 1 tsp of LC & retest if still in 40s feed 1 tsp LC and continue. if the number drops fed 1 tsp of HC & test.

If it's at pre/shot you would hold food and retest in 15 minutes.

Is this correct?
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47

Thank you for coming to the rescue AGAIN Marje. I will be sure that he has some food before we go to bed for night so he can graze on it throughout the night.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace PMPS 203 +2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47

A number in the 40s requires that you do something -- I wouldn't wait and retest (unless you meant that you would retest immediately to make sure it wasn't a wonky test). Whether you feed HC or LC may depend on how carb sensitive your cat is and where you are in the cycle. This late in the cycle, I might try LC first and if there's a minimal response, use a bit of HC. I wouldn't just wait to see if numbers are rising. Even if your get a pre-shot number in the 40s, you want to "feed the 40s" although I would certainly try LC as my first option.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace 2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
AMPS/49
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace 2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48

Waiting for your next test..I won't leave you John. As long as he is coming up, I'd not want to give him HC. I don't want you to shoot a HC influenced number. You are doing super.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace 2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48

Thanks Sienne. I was going to fed at the +10/46 reading but second guessed myself and decide to post to be sure I wasn't getting mixed up with the pre-shot directions as a result there was a 15 minute delay in feeding after the first low number.
He has been responding to the 1 teaspoon of LC so far although at a low rate. His next test is due in 10 minutes.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace 2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48

Thank you Marje. As I just posted his next test is due shortly and I'll post it ASAP. NO HC for PurrFace at this time..and I remembered to pass that on to DW this time. Thanks to all the help yesterday getting this low number wasn't as nerve racking as before..still nervous but not as much. Hopefully I'll have this down soon.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace 2/231 +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48

He tested at 47 so giving 1 tsp of LC
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

I got the time off at the +10.25 - +10.75. Each of them were a bit past the posted time that's why the last number looks like it was 45 minutes after the previous one but it was at +11.5 on the dot.

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

Boy he's stubborn. Do you have any MC?

This might be a stall day. I know you don't want to skip. I need him above 50 and closer to mid 50 would be better.

Do you have a preference on skip or stall? Also...I need to see when his last reduction was. If this is not depot, then it's time to redu e again.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

Marje,
The last reduction was PM on the 28th.

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

Sheesh, Purrface, no rest for the wicked or what? :mrgreen:

Nicely done, John, and hats as ever off to you, Ladies Marje and Sienne :smile:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

Do you have a preference on skip or stall? Also...I need to see when his last reduction was. If this is not depot, then it's time to redu e again.

I can do whatever you think is best for PurrFace. His last reduction was the PM cycle on 10/28/12. He went from 1.75U down to 1.50U.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

That's right and I did check his SS. So when you do shoot, it will be 1.25u ok?

It has to be your call. I'm a big believer in shooting as long as it is safe and I won't let you shoot if its not. But what is also a main factor is how you all are doing. If you need a break, he will get back on track. It's not the end of the world.

So up to you. :-D
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

hats as ever off to you, Ladies Marje and Sienne :smile:
For sure. They are great and so giving of their time. We would be lost without them and the many others here. We are Blessed!
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

Hi John,

Just a thought (and we'll know if a few minutes). Could this just be a case of the "food hasn't caught up to the meter yet"? Purrface ate 3 tsps of LC in the span of an hour, and maybe it just hasn't shown up on the meter yet?

Also, does the upcoming "time change" in 3 days come into play when you are considering a stall? Will that make it more of a challenge to get back to a time for shots that works best for John come Sunday morning?

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

His shot is due in 5 minutes. If you think it is safe to shoot the reduced dose of 1.25U at a 47 I'm with you. We're ok and trust your judgement without question, Marje.
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

We can work the schedule for the time change, Carl. :-D it might actually work to his advantage :lol:
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +7.75/66 +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5

John,

One interesting thing I saw this morning was that there were two kitties showing a "46" at the same time. Pam and Hoot also saw that number, except her low happened early in the cycle. To add to what Sienne said above about ECID, it occurs to me that the "C" can also mean "Every Cycle is different". Once things calm down at your place, check out that condo to see how the same number can be treated differently if it comes at +2 or +3 rather than at +10. In your case, when it's happening at the end of the cycle when in theory the insulin should be at a less effective point, LC seems to be the best way to go. But early in the cycle, when the insulin is just starting to onset, HC seems to be the best choice. Just thought the two cases were an interesting contrast.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82256

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 PurrFace +10/46 +10.25/47 +10.75/48 +11.5/47 AMPS

His AMPS number is 49. Still below 50 but it's ok to shot the 1.25U correct?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top