10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150, PMPS 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

I'm just going to type fast so forgive me for spelling and gramatical errors.
It was foggy as pea soup outside and they were doing road construction and it was a scary drive both ways to the vet and back.
The receptionist was the nurse and the vet was very nice. J.D. had an xray, and she brought them back and said lets go over the xrays. They did not do that last time. She put up his xrays from 08/04/2014 next to the ones from this morning. She said, "here is the trachea, and you see it here and all looks normal and clear", and then went to the other xray, and said the same thing. She did that for each thing in the xray. I kept waiting for the but, but there were not buts. I told her I kept waiting for the but and she said (I am so bad and quoting verbatim) something like all is good, and they don't get to see that much all good at the ER. She didn't really say what the mouth breathing was caused by, but could have been the way he was standing on my half squatted and purring. She said if it was something bad, he would be breathing hard and his sides would be heaving. His lungs are clear and his heart is good. She said he does not have pneumonia.
I took advantage of being the only one there and asked her lots of questions. She thinks the bald spot on the back of his neck is from his collar. She said I should give him a nutritionally complete diet to help with his RBCs being low. I asked about his blood pressure and she said it was good. She showed me what his spinal arthritis looks like and described it on the xray. She said he does not have fleas. I asked her if I am doing the right thing as far as syringe feeding and what should I look for if he were to aspirate, and she described that he would choke and cough. I asked her if I should try on my weekends just to not syringe feed him and see if he will eat on his own, or will I have to syringe feed him for the rest of his life and she said that with humans that are 98 to 110 they tend to not eat as much and need to be encouraged and must eat a very calorie dense diet. She said that whatever he eats on his own is just a plus and that I should keep feeding him via syringe all his regular calories. So that was the negative.

I just made some syringe food. He got his 1st feeding when we got home at +11.
It's time for the 2nd feeding, test and insulin.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update

That sounds like a really good report, except for the syringe feeding part. At least now you have some answers. I'm glad J.D. was okay last night. I hope he will eat more for you today. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

He's still acting a little out of it.

I am afraid Ginger is going to pack her bags and go find another home where she gets more attention. Last night, I asked her if she wanted to play with her toy, and then I couldn't find it.

When I was getting ready to leave for the Vet in the middle of the night, I grabbed a flash light, that's how "emergency" my mind was in the state of.

Maybe my boss will allow me to check on him again mid day today.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

Hi Dyana,

Lots of purry, easy breathing, good pooing vines for JD and Ginger and some relaxing vines for you. I'm glad he checked out ok at the emergency. I hope you've recovered ok from your fright.

Grace
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

What a night you had. I'm glad the news wasn't what you were afraid of.

Sending appy vines.....


we are having the same lack of appy but I just opened a new bag of bonita flakes and that has inspired some eating.
And she wasn't that interested in bonita flakes before.

Maybe you can try some old tricks.... things might have changed.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

Hi Dyana,
This is a good report! I'm glad that your fears were groundless. The feeding thing is at least something that you are doing anyway.

Eat up, J.D.! Give your mamabean a break occasionally.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

Hi Dyana.

I'm so glad everything checked out ok.

J.D., you eat your funds and don't be scaring your mama bean anymore!

I hope you get some sleep tonight.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

It all sounds like a very positive vet visit, Dyana! Even senior kitties need to have assisted feeding sometimes. I hope that he'll eat on his own this weekend. If not, that's ok, too. At least his health is great! :-D
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328

I'm so glad to hear things are well with JD. Open mouthed breathing is nothing to mess around with so you were smart to get him in.

I hope you find some time to get some rest.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150

I was able to get off of work early.
J.D. is making his worried noises that he makes when I am going to feed him or give him pills.
I am going to attempt to get him outside and see if he'll walk a little.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150

(((((dyana and JD))))) <----------- BIG HUGS!
caring for an aging kitty can be exhausting... physically, mentally, and emotionally.
thinking of you. hoping you're able to get some rest...
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150

I'm glad things worked out all right at the vets last night. I've only had one experience with a kitty open mouth breathing and it was frightening. :YMHUG: Sorry about the news on the syringe feeding but you are doing a great job getting the calories into him.

Nice blues today! :-D
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150

Yesterday, when I went home to check on J.D. a co-worker said something nasty and I had to report it to my boss today. I told him that I was exhausted emotionally and physically and to take what I had to say with a grain of salt, but I don't need the stab in the heart from the co-worker, right now and that I felt it was unprofessional. He had her in his office for a while and when I told her I was leaving early, she didn't say anything nasty this time.

Tears. I am just so tired.

J.D. went for a walk, and seems to need to poo, although there was hard poo from him when I got home. Tonight is fluids night. That should help him to poo. He was making the "worried" noise, and has stopped.

The vet early this morning said that the noise seems to be coming from his throat and head and not his lungs. Right now, he is quiet and wandering around the house.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150

i wish i were closer to lend a hand.
is there ANYONE who could pitch in... a little bit? even if it's just to fill syringes?
i know that kind of "tired". it's unlike any other.
 
Re: 10/30 J.D. Vet Update - AMPS 328, +10.5 150

I was thinking this morning, how nice it would be to have a husband (or DBF) who would say, how do you do that? Let me fill the syringes for you.. I have no one like that. But, thanks for the thought.
J.D. seems to need to poo. I'm going to take him out for another walk before PMPS.
I'm thankful that his noisy worried noises stop when he's not worried.
 
Sending lots and lots of vines your way. I'm really glad J.D. checked out okay at the vet.

You are such a wonderful mamabean, and I am sorry that your coworker was so heartless yesterday. That stuff infuriates me. I have a lot of choice words in mind that I'd love to send her way. I had a similar problem with a "friend" when I had to leave a rehearsal to check on Billie a couple weeks ago. Rude people.

If I lived nearby, I'd love to help out and give you a day to yourself. I know that doesn't do much since I'm a few hours away, but I'm thinking of you. :YMHUG:
 
I was thinking this morning, how nice it would be to have a husband (or DBF) who would say, how do you do that? Let me fill the syringes for you.. I have no one like that

hmmm..... that would be nice....
I have a DH and he's useless ..... the most I get out of him is he'll hold shadow down while I give her the adequan shot....

I don't know too many who say..... "Let me do that for you......"

Marje has Mike... he seems to volunteer....


so if you had one like that, we'd all be jealous..... ;-)
 
oh dyana, i missed the crisis last night and had no idea you were going through this today. It sounds like the vet thinks JD is really doing well! You are so devoted to him. I'm sorry you're so overwhelmed with caring for him and working, too. I had that kind of tired taking care of my mom before she died while I was still working full-time. It's emotional tired as well as physical tired. Try to do something every day just for you, even if it's just a soak in the bathtub or a cup of tea while you gaze out the window.

Sending you lots of restful vines and healing thoughts for your sweet little JD. :YMHUG:
 
Sending hugs to you and heaps of kitty love to our intrepid JD. We so appreciate how hard it is to care for an aging and ailing kitty. You are a fantastic bean and we know JD is thankful for all you do. Paws crossed for a peaceful and restful night for you both.

Anne
 
I'm so glad to hear that all was looking good at the vet. Sorry i missed what was going on last night.

Have you tried Dave's cat food? Tess has been so picky recently and I just got some Dave's and she is gobbling it up! I guess they just like a change
 
Oh, Dyana, my heart's just pounding thinking about what a stressful time you had. You are just the bestest of mamabeans. But it's so hard, so exhausting, so emotionally draining. And you do it all with such devotion to your little man.

Know that we're all with you, holding you up, sending encouragement, marveling at your tenacity to help J.D. No matter what nasty co-workers say, no matter how tired you are, no matter how difficult times may be, your LL family is with you, supporting you. I just wish we could be there to hands-on help.

As always, vines and more vines for you and J.D.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top