? 10/30 Gouda (10/27: AMPS=303, +5=86, +7=74, +11=234) Seeking guidance, but maybe I need more data.

LaurenandGouda

Member Since 2018
Gouda's numbers seem to be all over the place. Did I make a mistake by increasing from 1.25u to 1.5u too soon?

I'm trying to use SLGS but I am new at this. This is month 3 since diagnosis. Unfortunately, I am not able to monitor Gouda 24/7, since I work 30 miles from home. The goal is to get to a point where I can *at minimum* on weekdays test AMPS, then later when I am home +11, PMPS, PM+2, PM+3.

Any info/advice as to why he dropped to 74 last Saturday?
Gouda had already been on 1.5u/2x day for 5 days at that point.

I'm sure I need more data... thanks for reading and for any suggestions.
 
Actually that 74 earned a reduction TO 1.25 since you are using SLGS.
So I reduce it now, even if he has presented 200-300 range since that drop? That's the part that confuses me. He didn't drop and then stay low. He jumped back up again. Thanks for the reply.
 
No advice here, sorry. I just wanted to tell you that when my DD called this weekend I had to tell her about Gouda, this wonderfully fluffy round butterscotch/orangey kitty with such a fantastic name.
IMG_0272.JPG
 
Hi Lauren and Gouda,
The goal is to get to a point where I can *at minimum* on weekdays test AMPS, then later when I am home +11, PMPS, PM+2, PM+3.
To do well with the minimums is always challenging, isn't it? To be efficient and minimal you need to test (and feed) strategically.

But I might have a suggestion for now:
(I do not pretend to be one of the Lantus experts but )...

I think that you and Gouda could benefit from collecting some more data in the early AM cycles. I got it - you are working...

Would that be possible for you to re-arrange your shot times the way that allows you to regularly test AMPS +2? Maybe +1.5?

It is more often than not that Lantus onsets early - like +1, 1 1/2 or (most often) 2 or 3 hours after the shot.
For many cats, not all of them though, the +2 test is very revealing as to what comes in that particular cycle - if the +2 test is lower than the PS was - do expect lower numbers in that cycle. In such instances you could load your Autofeeder with a bit higher carbs foods to sustain thru the day whilst you are away (for example).

I do not post often but I bet haven't seen you and Gouda in the Lantus Land...ETA: Oops.. just realized we are in the LL!!:rolleyes: need more :coffee:.
There are experts on Lantus as no vet will ever become... Do post there.

Any info/advice as to why he dropped to 74 last Saturday?
He had good response to his dose. 74 is excellent number for nadir. It is how non diabetic cats have it every day. I wish to all of our FD kitties to have as often as possible (mine including!).

Hope it was hopeful and made sense. :) and that I'll see you posting in the Lantus Forum.
@LaurenandGouda
 
Last edited:
Yes, decrease the dose. The numbers since then are as a result a bounce. We dose based on how low the dose can take the cat and try to mostly ignore the bounce numbers.
 
Back
Top