10/30 FRED amps 401, +351 +6 358, PMPS 260, +2 104

Valerie & Fred

Member Since 2023
10/27

Don’t know what’s been up with Fred the last few days. I think his libres a bit off again :banghead:

been reading high since upping him to 4.25
Finally just decided to do a meter check today
Just to see and his reading were +8 390 (282 meter) +10 360 (265 meter) and pmps 376 (260 meter)

…now at +2 tonight he’s already dropped way down to 136 (104 meter) so I’m keeping a close eye tonight and wont up his dose tomorrow.

could it be a food change? His tiki cat didn’t get delivered in time so he got some Friskies pate all day. Wondering if maybe that could be working better for him…?
 
…now at +2 tonight he’s already dropped way down to 136 (104 meter) so I’m keeping a close eye tonight and wont up his dose tomorrow.
Quite a drop at onset! Did he get some food at +2?

could it be a food change? His tiki cat didn’t get delivered in time so he got some Friskies pate today. Wondering if maybe that could be working better for him…?
Was the Tiki Cat low carb? It could also just be a case of him getting to a good dose.
 
Quite a drop at onset! Did he get some food at +2?


Was the Tiki Cat low carb? It could also just be a case of him getting to a good dose.

From what I’ve read tiki cats supposedly no carb. Might think about switching him back to friskies in the future now that I know he ate it good (he was refusing to eat it before but he was also on antibiotics at the time so maybe it was just an upset stomach)

also no didn’t feed him at +2, just watching closely. He gets his last snack at +3 so I was holding off a bit unless it got SUPER low.

should I be feeding him if he gets such a quick drop like that?

Update: got all the way down to 63 so went and fed him half a can.
Does this call for a dose decrease?
 
Last edited:
From what I’ve read tiki cats supposedly no carb.
Not all flavours of Tiki Cat are low carb. Which one was he getting?

also no didn’t feed him at +2, just watching closely. He gets his last snack at +3 so I was holding off a bit unless it got SUPER low.
You want to feed after each test in active cycles to prevent sharp drops. Bounces are triggered not just by lower numbers, but also by sharp drops in numbers. You also want to use food to keep them at a good dose i.e. prevent a reduction, if you can.

Does this call for a dose decrease?
With TR, you reduce if the BG drops below 50.
 
Not all flavours of Tiki Cat are low carb. Which one was he getting?


You want to feed after each test in active cycles to prevent sharp drops. Bounces are triggered not just by lower numbers, but also by sharp drops in numbers. You also want to use food to keep them at a good dose i.e. prevent a reduction, if you can.

With TR, you reduce if the BG drops below 50.
Didn’t expect a drop this fast I didn’t even catch it until it was at 104 :(
Makes sense though I ’ve been a little confused about the feeding thing, that was my original reason for switching his snack to +3 am and pm. Was originally doing the same amount of food 3x a day (amps, +6 and then pmps) do you have a good schedule recommendation?

Also he’s on tiki cat Aloha friends Tuna variety
 
Makes sense though I ’ve been a little confused about the feeding thing, that was my original reason for switching his snack to +3 am and pm. Was originally doing the same amount of food 3x a day (amps, +6 and then pmps) do you have a good schedule recommendation?
In higher numbers, the feeding schedule doesn't matter, but once a cats starts seeing lower numbers you use food to "flatten the curve". Over time you will understand his patterns and see when you need to intervene with food. We generally recommend feeding a part of the PS meal at +1 and +2, to prevent diving at onset. In active cycles like tonight, you feed a tsp of food every hour or after every test.

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
In higher numbers, the feeding schedule doesn't matter, but once a cats starts seeing lower numbers you use food to "flatten the curve". Over time you will understand his patterns and see when you need to intervene with food. We generally recommend feeding a part of the PS meal at +1 and +2, to prevent diving at onset. In active cycles like tonight, you feed a tsp of food every hour or after every test.

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
Awesome! Thanks for the link I appreciate your help! :bighug:
 
With that 63 tonight (was it on the meter or the Libre?), you would continue to hold the dose. Let's see where he lands after he clears the bounce.
 
Sharing it here for easy reference (only including the "dry matter" chart since it's the one to follow): This was sent by Tiki Cat



upload_2022-10-14_12-56-9-png.65502
upload_2022-10-14_12-56-26-png.65503
 
Back
Top