10/30 Doogle PMPS 284 New prescription question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Last Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107135

Previous Numbers:

10/29
AMPS 257
+7 194
+9 115
PMPS 318
+2.75 204
+6 125
+9 204
10/30
AMPS 205
+2 267
+5 61
+7 103
+8.75 155


Sorry I wasnt able to post yesterday. It was a long day. First we (The DH and I) had to go to my old office (which is my mother in law and former boss) and help her remove all the computers and technology out of the building (she sold the building and has till tomorrow to get out). So we were there from an hour after giving Doogle his shot for 3 hours. Then on our way home my Dad calls me and my Mom has been admitted to the hospital for a low heart rate, 44 (she already has heart arrhythmia and fought bladder cancer last Sept). So, I went by there and she wasnt in her room (they had taken her for tests). So went home, grab a fast bite to eat, tested Doogle and left to go back to the hospital. Was there for 2 hours. By the time I got home I was so exhausted I didnt even want to get on the computer. So today, gave Doogle his shot and then went to the hospital to see her. Was there for a couple of hours and then did some errands and got home. Cooked supper, dealt with some stuff around the house and I figured I would just wait to post tonight.

My Mom does have to have a pacemaker put in on Friday. She does have a problem with her kidney too and we have to wait and see tomorrow about that.

I think our Lantus is probably getting to the point its not holding its potency well. So its time to get a new prescription. I have a question. We are going to call the vet to get a new prescription for the cartridges. Does he need to just make them out for Lantus cartridges or the pens or what. I dont know if he has ever done one for those yet. I just want to make sure to get the right thing.
 
Sorry to hear about your mom Donna! Not long ago we had a cardiologist telling us that my mom needed a pacemaker. We were all bracing ourselves when mom pops up and tells us she's always had a slow heart rate (hers runs in the low 50's). Cancel one surgery!! Would have been nice if she'd shared that little bit of knowledge before we made the decision to put in a pacemaker!

I think you just want the Solostar pens...I'm pretty sure I read that the cartridges aren't available anymore (but I may be wrong)

Hope Doogle stays in wonderful and safe numbers while you're away with your mom!
 
Well I think you can just buy the cartridges. I dont see people always buying the actual pens all the time. According to the goodrx site they are $207 at Walmart for 5. You have the option on there to check the price of the pens or the cartridges. I just want to make sure we get the right thing.

Edited: I think the Opticlix cartridges are no longer available. That was on the TR protocol, effective 2011. Since they are gone I am pretty sure you can just get the cartridges and not the whole damn thing.
 
Sorry to hear about your mom. You've had a very busy couple of days. At least Doogle is cooperating.

I think it's the pens you buy. From the Sticky on Lantus/Levemir info and handling:
PURCHASING LANTUS or LEVEMIR

Lantus is available in a 10ml vial, in a box of five 3ml cartridges designed for the refillable OptiClik Pen,
or in a box of five 3ml prefilled SoloStar Pens.

US RESIDENTS: Effective March 31, 2011, Lantus cartridges will no longer be available for use with the Lantus Opti-Clik Pen.
We can buy cartridges in Canada. So you want the script to mention the Solostar Pens.
 
I read that but that is for the Opticlick and they dont even make those anymore. Since now its the SoloStar pens, I figure they have to sell the cartridges for them only. No way people buy the stupid pen over and over again.
 
The cartridges in the Solostar pens are not replaceable. You want to get the pen. The plastic casing of the pen gives the glass cartridge some protection. Bottom line, your choice is either a vial or the pens. Cartridges are no longer available in the US. Ask your vet to write an Rx for the Solostar pens. They are typically sold in a box of 5 pens.
 
I keep written prescriptions to take with me on vacation, so I have a couple here. They are for Levemir.
Last year's says Levemir U-100 insulin #5 - 3ml penfil cartridges 1/2 unit bid, the year before just says Levemir U-100 insulin 1-2 units bid. I would think the most generic, like the latter, would work for any type, vial or cartridge or pen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top