10/30 Crushy amps 356 +4 148 +5 38 +6 56 dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107223

he spent the last few days in red or pink then nose dived today.

@-) @-) @-) @-) @-) @-) @-) @-) @-) @-) @-)

so since he hit 38 the protocol says to reduce from 1.25 to 1.00 unit

But JUST DID THAT a few days ago and the reduction failed!

Im thinking the magic dose is BETWEEN 1.25 and 1.00 unit, no?

should I go down a full quarter unit again or try to reduce 1/8th of a unit?

Im leaning toward lowering to one unit tonight and tomorrow morning (to drain the shed a little from this 1.25 dose that is obviously too much) then going back up 1/8th of a unit
 
Hi Michelle,

I would go back to 1 unit. 1.25 is clearly too much for him. 10 days ago, he also went too low on that dose.

How many cycles was he on 1 unit this last time?
 
Will you ever give the bean some peace Crushy...just a little bit even?!!! grr_red

I think your logic and plan sounds good. You can't ignore the 38 obviously.

But also you can't trust that the same dose will do the same thing on any given day...especially not with HIM.

I hope some wise ones will enlighten as to what to do with Mr. Crushy. Mama bean needs a break with all his ups/downs and all arounds. confused_cat
what to do, what to do?? :?
 
I wonder with bouncy cats do you need to give a few extra cycles on a dose to make some sense of what is happening?
 
thanks guys...this is all kind of crazy making :dizcat

lovey11 said:
I wonder with bouncy cats do you need to give a few extra cycles on a dose to make some sense of what is happening?

a more experienced person should probably answer that. from what Ive gathered, some say to wait until the bounces clear to see what a dose is really doing. But for constantly bouncing cats you could be waiting forever and sometimes need to go ahead and move the dose.
 
A drop into the 30s is a very clear signal that you need to reduce the dose by 0.25u. Jill just updated the TR Protocol sticky and noted:
Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.

  • If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
You don't have the requisite tons of data yet to tinker with Crushy's dose given the drop into the 30s. It's OK to hold a dose a bit longer if you think it's necessary. The trade off, though, if you hold a dose overly long is that glucose toxicity could develop.
 
Hi Michelle,
I just wanted to let you know I am confused and frustrated for you :-D confused_cat
C'mon Crushy, give your mama a break sweetie ;-)
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
A drop into the 30s is a very clear signal that you need to reduce the dose by 0.25u.

You don't have the requisite tons of data yet to tinker with Crushy's dose given the drop into the 30s. It's OK to hold a dose a bit longer if you think it's necessary. The trade off, though, if you hold a dose overly long is that glucose toxicity could develop.

Glucose toxicity if I hold a dose at a 1.25? Im confused.... or are you saying that could happen if I hold the dose at 1.00?


thanks Kim, good to know Im not the only one confuzled by his #s
 
Good luck on the reduction. Sometimes kitties just need a couple of reminders. It looks like Crushy had a good long surf in healing numbers. The more you can get him to spend time in those numbers, the better.

The glucose toxicity is if you hold at 1.0 and he stays in higher numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top