10/30 Cooper AMPS 105 +1.25 101 PMPS 156 +2 121 +4 78 +5 71

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Morning!

Warning, long post ahead! Lol you guys know I just can't seem to shut up. ;)

I bought some syringes late last night. I did not get a chance to test them as I've been unwell. Now, I wish I would have just done it and set myself up for this morning because he's refusing—I even got his favorite flavor to give this morning which I was so sure he'd eat. Stupid me. :( I had to give him a token dose again (I know, it's so bad) because I don't have time now to get the syringe ready and feed that way. Wish I would have thought about this last night.

I'm sad to say Cooper did not end up eating as much as I'd like yesterday either, perhaps 1 full can. Maybe a little more than that as he did eat some canned tuna and I gave him as many freeze-dried chicken pieces as he would eat. I did a different sort of assisted feeding by taking little bite-sized pieces of FF into my hand and he ate a fair amount that way. I tried this this morning, but he only ate a little.

Obviously I will have to syringe feed tonight and going forward.

My biggest concerns with assisted/syringe feeding are:

1. How do I know if he is just full? For some reason I have images of me over feeding him and his stomach popping in my head lol. He started happily eating some FF last night on his own, but then seemed "full" and walked away. It isn't enough food to me, but how will I know if it is too much to him?

2. For those of you who do this, how long does it usually take once you get more accustomed? I'm worried about how I will do this before work in the mornings. I have started getting up at 4:30am lately and I'm still late to work nearly every day (oops!). I am very minimal (I don't wear makeup, air dry my hair, etc), so there isn't much for me to cut out as far as my own routine. Sorry, I am rambling now, but basically I am wondering if I will have to get up earlier paired with how late I usually have to stay up with Cooper...it hasn't been great for my health—I know you all can empathize as some of you probably get even less sleep than I do!

I promise this is not me whining or complaining, I hope it doesn't seem so. I'm worried about my boy and want to do everything in my power for him, so just need some guidance on how to navigate it all. Again, sorry this is probably the longest post ever.

Yesterday's thread
 
Hi Gabrielle. I hear your pain and difficulty. We've all been there. We're here for you to vent when you need but honestly you write about important concerns and ask important questions.

Hang in there. It'll get better. You're doing an amazing job. Cooper is blessed to have you :)

Syringe feed doesn't have to be complicated. i didn't grind the food in a processor just mushed it with a spoon and some hot water so it's puree. I cut the head of the syringe and fill it up and feed. It's easy. It does however take time.

When Fistuk took only food with a syringe I'd prepare filled syringes in advance so I both use time whenever I had it but also to not lose momentum when he was ready to eat.

I'm sure you know Cooper and you'll know when he's saying no because he literally can't stuff another crumb of food in and when his no is because he's sick or feeling unwell and finds it difficult to eat.

I can't see Cooper's weight and if he's in the right weight for him but my guess is that even if he overeats a bit and gains a bit of weight it's not going to be a disaster. Fistuk is so small and skinny since the big D that I gave him food until he pushed me with his paw and I understood he just can't take anymore. I've also fed more frequently during the day (and night) so the meals were broken down to every 2 hours sometimes every hour.

I also weighed the food because I had to know how much he ate every day (ketone monster threat) so I had a pretty good idea of how much I needed to keep on soliciting for food and when I could take a step back. This could quite your concern about overfeeding as well.

You'll know, Gabrielle. Just use your familiarity with Cooper and you'll know.

Something that sometimes helps with Fistuk to entice hie appetite is brushing. He really loves it so I'd start with brushing, he would get more open to suggestions and then I'll bring the food.

Syringe feed is a hustle. But you get the grips of it quite quickly and find your routine.

Sending you a big hug. Hopefully Cooper will eat more for you today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Gabrielle,
Of course you are not whining or complaining! I would be worried to bits too!:bighug:
And this is the best place to discuss your concern. There are so many people with similar experience who can help you navigate through.
How is he acting otherwise? Does he seem to enjoy being petted? How's his weight?
Hope the syringe feeding works well for him.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I can't see Cooper's weight and if he's in the right weight for him but my guess is that even if he overeats a bit and gains a bit of weight it's not going to be a disaster. Fistuk is so small and skinny since the big D that I gave him food until he pushed me with his paw and I understood he just can't take anymore.

His weight is so low, his hip bones are showing and he has no muscle definition. :( I actually am going to try the Fancy Feast kitten food to try to get some calories into him. Cooper has been pushing me with his paw lately, even after just a few bites, but I think he is mostly just annoyed lol. You're right, I will probably be able to tell just because I know him so well. I always get anxious to do things incorrectly and cause harm.

Bright side: before I left, I checked on him once more and he was eating out of his bowl! I'm sure he won't eat it all and I'll have to give him the rest tonight, but still, it assuaged some of my anxiety at least lol. Thanks again for your encouragement and good tips!! You making it seem not so daunting as I am making it out to be in my head. Appreciate you!! :cat:
 
How is he acting otherwise? Does he seem to enjoy being petted? How's his weight?

He is acting like his normal self, thankfully. I think that is maybe why I've been kind of deluding myself into thinking "oh, he's fine, he will eat soon" because he seems fine. Though his weight/body condition is very poor. He lost a lot just before diagnosis, and then started gaining a little bit back as he began to get more regulated (and I was feeding him nearly 4 cans a day), but now he's lost it all again. My poor baby. :( I appreciate your well wishes and support so much!! :)
 
Hi Gabrielle, we totally understand your concern and worry about Cooper.
Please never feel that you are writing or discussing too much. It’s so helpful to be able to vent and bounce what’s happening with your cat in this forum because there are so many other people who’ve been through so many different situations, and have so many different ideas and experiences and they are also willing to help each other.

I think we just have to try different ideas and see what will work and that is what you were doing.
And of course at the same time try to take care of yourself as well, which I know is really difficult especially with the sleep deprivation. It’s really hard and we’re all just doing the best we can do.

I just tried to syringe feed Ivy her normal amount of food and tried to get as much of it in before. She sort of just turned her head away signaling she was just done. Probably Cooper will push you away when he doesn’t want anymore in some fashion.

Sending you big hugs and prayers that he eats well for you, as always. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
just tried to syringe feed Ivy her normal amount of food and tried to get as much of it in before. She sort of just turned her head away signaling she was just done. Probably Cooper will push you away when he doesn’t want anymore in some fashion.

I'll probably have to try it in shifts and just figure out his signals! He does the whole turn away thing, and then one time he even went and laid down in his (clean) litterbox to get away from me LOL.
 
Back
Top