? 10/30 Chewy AMPS 163 +4 91 +7.5 169 PMPS 134

Shannon & Chewy

Member Since 2022
Chewy's curve yesterday was AMPS 418 (gave 2U) +2 205 +4 132 +6 135 +8 128 +10 104 PMPS 161 (gave 1U) +2 73 +4 84

After the bold numbers I gave hertz gravy (and he ate a little kibble that was out). I had to stop testing at +4 because I had to leave the house. I'm wondering what I should do today. I will not be able to test him much before the PMPS. If you look at Chewy's spreadsheet you will see that he has had poor management and a vet that moved him way too quickly. I also am not the best owner because I cannot test frequently due to work and personal circumstances.

Chewy's first low number came during routine bloodwork last week. Since then he has been on an antibiotic for a possible UTI. I say possible because we have not gotten urine from Chewy in a long time. I have plans to get urine tested soon but I wonder if the medication has helped with a UTI and that is making him more sensitive to insulin.
 
Last edited:
I should add that he is acting fine but not eating as well as he did when he was at the high numbers. I think some of it is getting the extra calories with the supplemental food has been getting lately.
 
Hi Shannon
Your kitty is gorgeous!
Are you around to monitor today? Do you have testing supplies and various carb foods like yesterday?
You shot a similar BG last night.
 
Thank you. He is a handsome and sweet boy. He is due for his shot now and I can only test later today at +6. I do have someone who can monitor him at home but not test him. We only have hertz gravy treats at the moment. I'm getting higher carb food today.
 
This is from the stickies:
If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.

Have you fed yet?

@Bandit's Mom Bhooma are you around?
 
I already fed him after getting the AMPS. My schedule is tough and I only have one day a week where I can do multiple tests or stall feeding and that was yesterday. I'll post again after the next test.
 
I was able to leave work during a break to test Chewy at +4. He was 91 and my mom said he has been playful and perky all day. Since I had to leave again I gave him some Hertz gravy as a precaution and my mom will keep vigil. I work as a 911 operator and need to cover for someone this afternoon. COVID has us always working with a skeleton crew. Chewy's PMPS is in 7 hours. I will come home for the +7 or +8 and then test at PMPS.
 
The PMPS ended low at 134 so I'm going to skip the shot tonight. He definitely is eating less food with his numbers lower but it could also be the antibiotic. I have seen one loose stool for the past 2 days. I will order a probiotic to see if that helps. Should I stick with the .75 dose for tomorrow morning? I'm still perplexed at these numbers on such a low dose.

I'm a bit frustrated that the vet did not insist on a urine sample before starting treatment. I also would have liked to try a diet change for Chewy before starting insulin. His numbers were fine last December and April 2022 and then he started on a kidney diet and his glucose went over 600.
 
The PMPS ended low at 134 so I'm going to skip the shot tonight. He definitely is eating less food with his numbers lower but it could also be the antibiotic. I have seen one loose stool for the past 2 days. I will order a probiotic to see if that helps. Should I stick with the .75 dose for tomorrow morning? I'm still perplexed at these numbers on such a low dose.

I'm a bit frustrated that the vet did not insist on a urine sample before starting treatment. I also would have liked to try a diet change for Chewy before starting insulin. His numbers were fine last December and April 2022 and then he started on a kidney diet and his glucose went over 600.
I will tag Elise for you about the dose
@tiffmaxee
 
Back
Top