? - 10/30 Bella *dose advice* AMPS 141, +3 55, +4.5 58, PMPS 202, +3 113 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 10/30 Bella *dose advice* AMPS 141, +3 55, +4.5 58, PMPS 202, +3 113

Bellas_mom_2020

Member since 2024
Just like last Thursday she went low again. This has to merit a reduction. Clearly, this dose is too much now. With us going away soon I’m really worrying.

@Wendy&Neko - you said to reach out a few days before we go.

I know we can’t base reductions on numbers we think would happen but I know she would have went under 50 if my husband didn’t give her more food. We’re really nervous about how she will be when we go away in a few days. My mom won’t be able to check throughout the day, only the morning and evening. We’re going to traveling internationally so we’re just really worried.
 
If I remember correctly, you had posted that you were going to be leaving a few days after daylight saving time change, so that would be Monday? You might want to try 1u starting tomorrow, and that will give you a few days to see how the reduced dose is doing and drain a bit of depot. Drawing up to the line is easier for most people who aren’t used to drawing up insulin, but it might be worth also having a comparison syringe available with something coloured like cola or juice, for your mom to easily see that she’s drawn up the right dose. Preshots and nadirs will likely go a little higher, but that’s ok because your mom can’t test in between anyway.

When I went on vacation, I would reduce the dose a few days before, but did have a few instances where my “vacation dose” that I was doing a few days before ended up getting reduced further at the last minute. Perhaps see how she does on 1u and by Sunday, check in again to see if 1u is still ok. In my case, the pet sitter who I used did not test, so I needed to be more cautious. The other thing I did was to use a bit higher LC food, but I did use an autofeeder which helped distribute feedings from onset to nadir. Do you think Bella will eat food like usual while you are gone? Will your mom be leaving food or little snacks out for Bella during the am and pm cycles?
 
If I remember correctly, you had posted that you were going to be leaving a few days after daylight saving time change, so that would be Monday? You might want to try 1u starting tomorrow, and that will give you a few days to see how the reduced dose is doing and drain a bit of depot. Drawing up to the line is easier for most people who aren’t used to drawing up insulin, but it might be worth also having a comparison syringe available with something coloured like cola or juice, for your mom to easily see that she’s drawn up the right dose. Preshots and nadirs will likely go a little higher, but that’s ok because your mom can’t test in between anyway.

When I went on vacation, I would reduce the dose a few days before, but did have a few instances where my “vacation dose” that I was doing a few days before ended up getting reduced further at the last minute. Perhaps see how she does on 1u and by Sunday, check in again to see if 1u is still ok. In my case, the pet sitter who I used did not test, so I needed to be more cautious. The other thing I did was to use a bit higher LC food, but I did use an autofeeder which helped distribute feedings from onset to nadir. Do you think Bella will eat food like usual while you are gone? Will your mom be leaving food or little snacks out for Bella during the am and pm cycles?
So we’re leaving Tuesday. My mom has given her doses like 0.25, and 0.75 but I know 1 unit would definitely be much easier for her. My mom needs my dads help - checking her sugar alone makes her nervous and my mom suffers from bad anxiety - so to make it easier on her I told her she just needs to check in the am and pm before insulin and my dad will be home for those times.

In the past when my mom has watched her like for a long weekend Bella’s numbers were always a little higher but recently she’s been getting a lot of low numbers and that’s why I’m worried since my mom won’t be able to check during the day.

Bella definitely will eat like normal at my mom’s house, that is never an issue. Bella typically gets breakfast, a mid day snack, dinner and an even snack. I will bring her auto feeder and teach my mom how to use it in case she needs it.

My main concern is she’s so close to a reduction I just worry she will still be low. If my husband checked her a little later than he did, she would have been under 50. I always know her sugar is dropping low when she eats her breakfast fast and is looking for more food. But we will start her in 1 unit tomorrow morning and see how is she Sunday morning and go from there.

Thanks for the advice.
 
Back
Top