10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!Pmps 277

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

The string of great numbers continues!
Have you compared the 2 meters in the past to see how close they were? Just in case you see a number with the new (old) meter that makes you go "huh?"
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

Too bad SO wasn't home to see you deal with this. You mentioned he was sort of terrified of it all, but seeing you handle this tonight might have made him realize it's not as bad as he thinks.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

I got the second meter in my kit so I admit I hadn't played with it yet. ohmygod_smile So many things in the first week!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

Probably a good time to tell you..... it DOES get easier, Misty. And you've learned a whole lot in a really short time. :-D

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

seems when i do something- it is full force- LOL
Lucky I don't have any more wedding dresses due this week. I am just making santa hats and working too much until christmas. I was almost up 72 hours last weekend finishing a dress (i was so far behind with all the kitty issues). I got some sleep last night and I think we are both getting used to the test/shot tango!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

OK, let's go with that!

Can you refresh my memory on what and when he last ate?

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

he ate maybe a bite an hour ago. he doesn't really bite food- never has- he lapps at the food so he I hav ebeen making the wet food watery.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

And it was the normal low carb stuff, right?

I think he's doing really well, and you managed the low numbers perfectly with what/when you fed him. Make sure a go back over this condo tomorrow or later tonight, so you can see how he did with what you gave him. It'll help you if/when this happens again and it's 3AM and your internet is out of order ;-)

Seriously though, this was a good thing to happen in the first week. A lot of people are worried over "what do I do the first time I see low numbers???", but after you actually do it, you know you can do it again.

You said you had to go pick up your other half from work? I think Bast is good, just leave out a bit of food for him, and check on him when you get home. It's a short trip?

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

back and yes it is a quck trip- we work about 5 miles away. I kept the car today because I was suppossed to go grocery shopping and go to petco for a timed food dish (that didn't happen- LOL)
so I am going to do anothe test in 15 min for a +7
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

Okay, I'm standing by :-)
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

That's not a bad thing. Still a good number, and wasn't caused by "over-carbing". He's looking like he's just coming up, maybe bouncing a bit from the descent to the 40s earlier. I think you can give his ears a rest. And rest yourself:-)

No telling what you'll see by pmps. He could bounce more, or hang out in decent numbers.

What you can do is check at +11, and at pmps, so you can see if the number is rising at shot time. Post the numbers here. I'll be in dreamland, but the late night/early morning folks will be on to see them.

Overall, Bast has had a really good day!

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

thank you carl! I just realized you are on the eEast, I hope you are safe and warm with all the storms.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

You're welcome, Misty:-)
Yes, but I'm way down the coast so the storm had little to no impact here luckily. My whole family is in New England, so I've been worried for them, but it looks like they were very lucky too.
Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

Misty

I'm around now to help you if you need it. Great job today. I hope you are feeling better.

I won't be up for your PMPS as tomorrow is my one work day but I can watch over the next couple hours and see where he's going.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

back from the pharmacy and i got 20 of the 1/2 unit size needles to tide me over. Had to go through 4 boxes with the girl- she didn't know the differnce.

i Am going to test at +10 to see how he is doing.
I have to leave for work tomarrow at 10:45a at the latest- this morning he got his am at 12:15p. Any ideas? Maybe a half dose? or come home at lunch and give a half dose?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

How about come home a little before noon, test, and if he's low, post for dose help. If he's high, shoot the full dose. You will be home from work by his +5 or so right?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

unfortunately that won't work- I start at 11- if I leave right before noon I won't have been there an hour. I might be able to get away about 1pm.

I could take the cat to work but I haven't gotten the playpen set up yet at work
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

I probably am jumping the gun- I need to start with his lower dose tonight - I was suggsted to lower from 1unit to .75 units

you were talking about backing up the dose tonight- from the time I did give today? Orr the time it was supposed to be this morning?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65 +6 65 +7

+10 is 250-- really cat you just want to mess with me- cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!

Looks like he's bouncing. Just shoot his new dose tonight since you have the issues tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!

is it safe to do a reduced dose at +11.5 thru a tigger bounce?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!

Hi Misty

Yes, it is safe.

Lantus builds up its action cumulatively over days - this is also why a reduction (or an increase) often doesn't "show up" in the BG numbers until a couple of cycles later. It *can* reflect sooner, but most often, it takes a cycle or two for the depot (the Lantus that has been "saved up" and stored in subcutaneous fat) to respond.

Marje is asking you to shoot the newly earned, reduced dose *despite the bounce* (you are familiar with the term "bounce"? If not, I'm happy to explain.) because you've mentioned scheduling constraints tomorrow. Shooting the reduced dose now (rather than shooting the previous, higher dose to help clear the bounce faster) gives you a better chance of less drama in the aftermath of the reduction.

Edited to add:
This is because the insulin depot (which was at capacity, spilling the excess into Bast's system, lowering the numbers enough to earn the reduction) will start draining and get to the level it wants to be at one cycle sooner, if you immediately go with the reduced dose. A depot that is no longer spilling excess insulin into the cat's system makes for greater safety (less chance of excess, "spilled" depot insulin being *added* to the given injection of insulin). Since, as I explained, a reduction (an attempt to get the depot to a safe level where it will *not* "spill" excess insulin) can take a cycle or two to affect the BG numbers, taking the reduction right away gives you a greater chance that things will go smoothly during the cycle where you have scheduling constraints and cannot test as vigilantly.

Does this make sense to you?

You did great!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!

i was reading about bounces but it seems hazy- please explain ;-)
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!

BOUNCE:

When a cat's BG drops *faster* than the cat is used to, or *lower* than the cat is used to, or *both,* that cat's liver "recognizes" that as out of the ordinary and, more pertinently, as potentially dangerous.

The liver, to counteract this potential "danger," then releases counterregulatory hormones and a form of stored sugar (glucagon), both of which act on the BG, *raising* it.

(This does *not* mean it actually *is* dangerous - cats who have been sitting in the 400s can bounce even off the 300s or 200s, which obviously is nowhere near "dangerously low numbers." The liver is "overreacting" in anticipation of what it "thinks" is a dangerous BG range for that specific cat. The liver does, however, have the ability to adjust and get used to the healthier, lower ranges. We call this LTS - liver training school. :smile:)

This raise in BG is called a BOUNCE - it can happen very quickly and it can go considerably high - a bounce of two or three hundred points is not unsual.

Bounces are a NORMAL reaction to unusual BG-dropping activity. They indicate that the cat's liver is in working order, which is a *good* thing. They can also afford the caregiver some extra rest (because high numbers from bounces *will* pass, and whil the cat is high, there isn't as much of a need to watch her or him as closely).

Normally, bounces will clear within 72 hours. (They *can* take longer, but it's normally alright to assume the 72-hour range applies.)

You'll see several ways in which LL'ers refer to bouncing - being on the trampoline, zooming, and so on. :smile:

When a cat comes back *out* of the bounce-induced high numbers, that too can happen with a certain amount of excitement, and it's good to be aware of when a cat is coming out of a bounce because it *can* influence dosing choices.

Having read all this - do you understand my explanation as to why it is safe for you to go with the reduced dose (in my previous post)?
Jane
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!

thank you for the explanation.
I was going to test him in about 2 hours like normal befor I sleep. Then in the morning at about +10
does that sound good or should I be tring to wake up more?
 
Hi Misty

Sorry, we are having internet problems. Unfortunately that tends to happen when there are high winds/storms.

I'm glad the explanation worked for you.

Yes, a (+2) is a good idea as always. I would also, given Bast's history over the past few days of clearing bounces at a decent pace, try to get a mid-cycle spot check.

I'd go with a (+5).

Hope you get this when you log back on for the (+2)!

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top