Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!
BOUNCE:
When a cat's BG drops *faster* than the cat is used to, or *lower* than the cat is used to, or *both,* that cat's liver "recognizes" that as out of the ordinary and, more pertinently, as potentially dangerous.
The liver, to counteract this potential "danger," then releases counterregulatory hormones and a form of stored sugar (glucagon), both of which act on the BG, *raising* it.
(This does *not* mean it actually *is* dangerous - cats who have been sitting in the 400s can bounce even off the 300s or 200s, which obviously is nowhere near "dangerously low numbers." The liver is "overreacting" in anticipation of what it "thinks" is a dangerous BG range for that specific cat. The liver does, however, have the ability to adjust and get used to the healthier, lower ranges. We call this LTS - liver training school. :smile
This raise in BG is called a BOUNCE - it can happen very quickly and it can go considerably high - a bounce of two or three hundred points is not unsual.
Bounces are a NORMAL reaction to unusual BG-dropping activity. They indicate that the cat's liver is in working order, which is a *good* thing. They can also afford the caregiver some extra rest (because high numbers from bounces *will* pass, and whil the cat is high, there isn't as much of a need to watch her or him as closely).
Normally, bounces will clear within 72 hours. (They *can* take longer, but it's normally alright to assume the 72-hour range applies.)
You'll see several ways in which LL'ers refer to bouncing - being on the trampoline, zooming, and so on. :smile:
When a cat comes back *out* of the bounce-induced high numbers, that too can happen with a certain amount of excitement, and it's good to be aware of when a cat is coming out of a bounce because it *can* influence dosing choices.
Having read all this - do you understand my explanation as to why it is safe for you to go with the reduced dose (in my previous post)?
Jane