10/30 bailey uk advice please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127512

hi, were not getting anywhere and im scared now hes on too much insulin as crazy as it sounds

last night I took strong painkillers for horrendous tooth pain and I slept 3 hours after insulin time so his depot would've dwindled yet we got the lowest reading weve had in days (313) but today hes at 571 3 hours after shot time. has he bounced from that 313 or is he on too much.

FD is so complicated I just never know whether im doing the right thing. he seems to feel better before each shot and I just don't know what to do :-(
 
(((anna))) We've all been there. It is so frustrating! I wish I had some great words of wisdom, but I really don't. It seems hopeless when you're stuck in the pattern of 4 doses, go up, 4 doses, go up, 4 doses, up again.

I don't remember, you had Bailey tested for acro and IAA, right? Looking at your spreadsheet, you did get to a dose of 9u of Lantus, so it's possible you have a few more increases to get a good dose to get Bailey into normal numbers.

One thing that someone told me (Julie or Donaleen)...don't worry about the dose. The cat requires however much insulin the cat requires. Some need more than others. ECID. Cobb got up to 31u of Lantus...so much insulin, I understand.

Hang in there! You'll find the right balance! :smile:

~Suzanne
 
I honestly don't think Bailey is getting too much insulin. I think where the problem started was when you stuck with the 5.0u dose of Lantus from Sept. 9 - 20. The dose was too low and when you lowered the dose further with the switch to Lev, it compounded the problem. I suspect there's some glucose toxicity that's built up. What this means, despite the terrible sounding term, is that Bailey is treating these high numbers as the new "normal." I would encourage you to be aggressive about dosing until you start seeing some blues. In other words, increase the dose every 4 cycles (2 days).
 
Hi Anna - sorry about those high numbers. I too know how hard it is to keep increasing and not see a change. :YMHUG:

I agree with Suzanne and Sienne, it's time to switch to the mode of increasing by 0.5U every 4 cycles, until you start seeing some blues. That glucose toxicity doesn't take long to build. You have to get on top of it quickly. I just had a cartridge go bad on me and Neko spent a week in higher numbers than I like and now I'm fighting to get her back in good numbers after a couple of increases.

Good luck with the increase and I'm sending healing vines for your teeth.
 
thanks peeps. yes we did go up to 9 units but only started seeing good numbers when I started decreasing to 8.5 then we saw greens and had to reduce til we were at 5.25 units. I get scared cos he was so poorly back then on 9 units but he seems to be playful even now so I guess there was something else going on back then too!(hes almost just made a point tonight as im worring myself to death.even in the 500's hes running about chasing a moth! unbelievable!

yes hes been checked for everything under the sun and he doesn't have anything. acro, iaa, fiv,pancreatitis, and many other things! weve had 10months of vet visits,specialists and he has NOTHING! barr FD hes healthy. its crazy! I just don't get it. hes never been normal but that's why I love him even more! ;-)

edited to say as scary as it is il up to 8u tonight!
 
i think the fact that he feels great at 500 just confirms what Sienne is saying about glucose toxicity. He's more used to high numbers than normal numbers. I'm not sure why you're afraid of going up in dose. As Suzanne said, the numbers that are important are the blood sugar, not the size of the dose. That's an almost-irrelevant number. You want to give him as much as he needs.

It also looks to me that you're holding the doses too long. If you're not seeing at least nadirs in the 68-160ish AT range, increase his dose. At this point in order to overcome the glucose toxicity (explanation post on the New to the Group sticky with the single topic posts at the end of the page) I'd increase every 4 cycles until he is solid in yellows and blue numbers.

As long as you are increasing methodically, by appropriate increments (0.25u - 0.5u) and testing (which you always do), you don't have to worry about him being overdosed. He's not. He needs more insulin and the blood sugar numbers are telling you that. Some cats just need more.

As well as all the tests, you did have a dental done for him too, didn't you?
 
yes Julie he had everything checked including teeth.

Im only afraid as he was so poorly last time when I got to 9units but this time he seems well barr the diabtetes (does that make sense) if you remember last time he was lethargic,eating on his side,i was having to hand feed and hold the water bowl to his face whislt he was lying down. it was horrid! thankfully hes completely different to that now and is playful and nosey and a little erm mischevious sometimes :-)

the amount of insulin hes on doesn't bother me at all il just keep upping and more quickly now til I see some yellows! come on my bailey.come on down!!!
 
Hi Anna, My Toby was the same way that Bailey was. He was diagnosed with diabetes 9/13 He was on PZI for a year not getting
regulated . I found FDMB and decided to change to levermir started at to low a dose . Toby got ketones and a uti His legs got
weak and he didn't feel good.I had started him on too low of a dose. I posted on TR and Julie, Wendy, Marg, and Sandy Adjusted his dose to 4 Units and he started feeling better but we were still had high numbers higher than when we were on PZI. I too thought we were better off on the PZI. I was so discouraged. They kept telling me to hang in there and to up the doses every 2 days. WE are now up to 12 units and are holding the dose to see how we make out. We are not there yet but we are seeing numbers a lot
lower. Getting a lot more yellows and blues than pinks and reds. Toby is acting like his old self again .Playful and his legs are strong again. So hang in there you're making progress even when it doesn't always show it. Listen to the group they know their
stuff. Take care Peg and Toby
 
Hi Anna, My Toby was the same way that Bailey was. He was diagnosed with diabetes 9/13 He was on PZI for a year not getting
regulated . I found FDMB and decided to change to levermir started at to low a dose . Toby got ketones and a uti His legs got
weak and he didn't feel good.I had started him on too low of a dose. I posted on TR and Julie, Wendy,Marg, and K.T Adjust his dose to 4 Units and he started feeling better but we were still had high numbers higher than when we were on PZI. I too thought we were better off on the PZI. I was so discouraged. They kept telling me to hang in there and to up the doses every 2 days. WE are now up to 12 units and are holding the dose to see how we make out. We are not there yet but we are seeing numbers a lot
lower. Getting a lot more yellows and blues than pinks and reds. Toby is acting like his old self again .Playful and his legs are strong again. So hang in there you're making progress even when it doesn't always show it. Listen to the group they know their
stuff. Take care Peg and Toby
 
I just want to make it clear I'm not telling you to change insulin . I'm just saying they know their stuff about diabetes.
Take care, Peg and Toby
 
thanks peg. that's so good to know and so great to hear. its messages like that that reassure me im doing the right thing. im just gonna keep going up. I don't care what we get to. its strange when we now know nothing is wrong physically for his high dose. youd expect something to not be right but hes FINE barr this bloomin diabetes. I daren't change insulin again. if I do itll be a while down the line. I need to get him so were seeing better numbers.

sometimes I feel like such a bad momma but im doing my best. like really doing my best. hes my everything!!!I go without to make sure he has the best food, insulin, vet bills etc... if ANYTHING should happen to him (which would be my worst nightmare) I know I couldn't and cant do anymore!

on the positive side hes back to being so playful and I love it!! waking me in the night chasing moths etc... its times like that, u realise its all worth it!!

thanks again!
 
Hi Anna,

So glad to read that Bailey's feeling better. Keeping fingers and paws crossed that his numbers will start behaving themselves.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top