10/30 Angie pmps=124 +3=72 increase or hold tomorrow?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good evening LL,

Our last condo was here.

Angie has been really well the last few days. Her numbers have come down over all and she's been more sprightly, sociable and talkative. I'm just not sure what to do about her dose. Her bg is still generally a bit higher than the normal range and it's been 10 cycles on this dose. However, she's gotten green three times on this dose and this evening's cycle is pretty good.

Should I go up to 1.2 or keep going on 1.1? I don't have any major interruptions coming up so I'll be available to monitor her.

Also, for future reference, at +3 she was 72 and +4 up to 83. Is that enough of an increase to go to bed or is it better to get another test? I wasn't sure so tonight I'm getting a +5 (in a few minutes).

Thanks,
Grace

Wendy and Michelle - thank you both for your help on the nadir at +12. I didn't know that was possible on lantus (I thought that was specially for levimir cats) and wasn't sure what on earth I was looking at! She seems to do that double dip more often than not - her peak is often at +10 or +11. The nadir at +12 was new though! Maybe Angie's borrowed Neko's 12 sided dice. :lol: The +11 test tip has been great for planning my night. With the pmps and +2, it really does help understand what her curve is doing. I'm not doing it in the morning though because the extra hour of sleep was too important to me. I did get that last test in btw - I just hadn't updated her ss before I crashed into bed! I am learning - yay!
 
Hi Grace!

Yes, I would increase her dose. You've got 10 cycles (post-fur-shot) at 1.1u. The guidelines below suggest increasing by 0.25u after 10 cycles if the nadirs are under 200 but the overall numbers are still too high. Whether you choose to increase by 0.1u or 0.25u is up to you. Sometimes it seems like it works better to give a larger increase to get on top of the numbers.

If you do a 0.1u increase and don't see the overall cycle high numbers come down, then next time try a 0.25u.

Or try a 0.25u and just be prepared to catch her if she goes below 50.

I think it's your choice, but I do think she could use a little more insulin.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top