10/30 Alska AMPS=284 PMPS=257

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
I am finally ok with his numbers even though this is a little higher than I like for an AMPS. If he is bouncing a little then I like it to bounce to this level rather than to the reds.

So last night Alska started playing in the middle of the living room floor with myself and all of my civvies watching in frozen amazement because he just doesn't do this. He was rolling on his back and tossing around a toy - not a care in the world. It was fun. I guess he is feeling better.

Yesterday I asked my ophthalmologist if the eye drops he prescribed will blur my vision so I could figure out if I had to administer them before or after I poked and shot Alska. He laughed... Everything revolves around our sugars!
 
Re: 10/30 Alska AMPS=284

Lol yes it does...Its all about the kitties!!!

And to think most of us picked cats over dogs in the beginning because they were less needy. lol You didn't have to walk them or take them out to potty.

Now our worlds revolves around canned cat food and insulin and testing. lol

Looking at his spreadsheet I'm wondering if he is going lower overnight and bouncing or if it just plain not enough insulin. Any way to get a few pm tests? Don't kill yourself, but maybe on the weekend set an alarm and see if you can catch a before bed and a +6?

If you don't see anything in the p.m. cycle and no blue preshots by Monday I would crank him up again. With Autumn I find sometimes I have to go up to go down.

I would really like to see him at least see him staying under renal threshold. I'm not crazy about holding Autumn in the greens but do try to at least keep her under renal threshold and her 14 day average in the blues.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/30 Alska AMPS=284

I am going to try to get a +6 tonight. My eyes were in bad shape last night so no go. I know the 284 seems high but I feel like his highs are starting to come down. I know that he goes lower at night than during the day but not drastically like Nuzzles who would pm at 600 and nadir at 70. Yikes! So glad Alska is not doing that. I am going to hold this dose for ten days. I think it takes him a little longer to settle in. My goal is for his highs to be below the threshold like they were before.

Alska's goal is to hang out with his girl instead of watching from another room.
 
Re: 10/30 Alska AMPS=284

See that's what I was suspecting that he dropped into the green overnight and bounced this a.m.

A couple of things I do with Autumn since once I take my meds at night the show's over for me waking up, is not only watch her numbers across the spreadsheet but also down. Are her numbers still going down for the most part if they are then she is still settling. I watch her average on the meter as well if that is also still going down for the most part again still settling. And lastly sometimes I either back up and look at just the waves of colors or will actually plot her numbers on a line graph over a 24 hour period so I take the clock out of the equation. At least with her I've found her peaks and valleys have nothing to do with a normal 12/12 cycle but to keep them in place I have to dose 12/12

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and the Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/30 Alska AMPS=284

Yeah right, we have cats because it's less complicated. :o ROTFLMFAO It USED to be!

When I lost my Golden, 2 ys ago this coming March, I decided I wouldn't get another dog until I have a place of my own. Although I have had Goldens only for over 20 yrs and would not WANT any other breed, the care that they require is more than I can handle now. My own physical/medical issues prevent me from being able to get down on the floor and brush for an hour+ every day and bathe once a month and I dang sure can't afford to have someone else do it. Not to mention having to go out for walks from a 3rd floor apt. I love my Goldens, there is no other breed that has that personality and I hate that I won't get another one. But I do love Bully Breeds and think I'll take a rescue once I have my own place. Less hair, less brush time, my own yard to walk in and I can hire a local college kid to bathe every couple months. Less bathing than long hair. I really miss having a dog, but now is not the time or place.

Remember when we could put out 2 big bowls of food and water, 2 big litter boxes and take off for the weekend??? That's why cats are easier. :lol: Used to be! I used to do that with 4 cats and either take the dog with me or hire someone to take care of him while I was gone. Now my whole world is wrapped around a 12 hr schedule.
 
Re: 10/30 Alska AMPS=284

Food Bowl? You used a bowl? I use to just tip the bag over and leave a slow stream running in the kitchen sink. lol

Ah how life has changed. Of course if I knew then what I know now about dry food I wouldn't have 14 and I can't imagine anyone of them not being in my life. Guess we are real cat people. Sort of like the difference between a horse person and an equstrian. A horse person gets pitched of and breaks a leg and demands the cast be hinged so they can still ride, an equestrian has the same thing happen they sell the horse. lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top