? 10/3 Shooter AMPS 288, +6 360, PMPS 301, +3 120, +4 69

Oh geez... it's only +3 and he dropped from 301 to 120. If I want to get at least SOME sleep tonight, should I feed him some medium or high carb food now then get up when he usually nadirs around +7 or should I check sooner? Although I've been doing this for 5 months I'm still pretty new to feeding the curve at night while trying to get sleep as well.
 
he dropped from 301 to 120

I've been told if he drops more than 100 points in 2 hours, feed higher carb. I don't know his numbers well enough to say HC at that 120, but at least MC.
And as to feeding and then setting an alarm, I'd go with the option of testing 25-30 minutes after the higher carb, then you'll have a better idea of how long/if you can sleep. Imagine if it didn't prop him up enough, and you went to sleep until his nadir while he continued to drop. That would really suck.
 
Wait a minute, you increased on the 4th cycle after seeing green? I am so confused. And stop giving him HC right before his nadir. That 63 didn't need HC. It was a flat cycle with 80 two hours earlier, he wasn't dropping fast. HC is really not necessary there.

Am I missing something here; everyone is ok with an increase with a nadir in the green just two days ago?
 
Wait a minute, you increased on the 4th cycle after seeing green? I am so confused. And stop giving him HC right before his nadir. That 63 didn't need HC. It was a flat cycle with 80 two hours earlier, he wasn't dropping fast. HC is really not necessary there.

Am I missing something here; everyone is ok with an increase with a nadir in the green just two days ago?

I fed hc that day because I didn't have any mc on hand. I was going to work for a few hours so I wanted to be safe. I thought it would be ok to increase because he had been on 2.25 for so many cycles without going below 50. I thought we weren't supposed to keep them on the same dose for an extended period of time if they weren't staying consistently in greens.
 
He was bouncing from the green on 10/1 and today was the high before the bounce clears. Higher dose + bounce clearing cycle = no sleep :)
Looks like the HC slowed him down. Let's see the +5.

I assumed that because he came down into the blues the next day that he was clearing the bounce.
 
I thought it would be ok to increase because he had been on 2.25 for so many cycles without going below 50. I thought we weren't supposed to keep them on the same dose for an extended period of time if they weren't staying consistently in greens.
You are partly right. But for those greens on 10/1, he did look like he needed an increase. Could have waited till today to see if those greens come back after the bounce clears but we don't know if he saw green today because of the increase.

I assumed that because he came down into the blues the next day that he was clearing the bounce.
Sometime they do that. Look like they are clearing the bounce. Then go back up and a high before the bounce breaks.
 
I fed hc that day because I didn't have any mc on hand. I was going to work for a few hours so I wanted to be safe.
Ahhh, gotcha, that makes more sense. You did tell me a few days ago you were out of MC ;)

I thought it would be ok to increase because he had been on 2.25 for so many cycles without going below 50.

I'm still really confused though. "Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit" is what TR says.

What am I missing here? Not meaning to be critical AT ALL, just trying to understand.
 
I'm still really confused though. "Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit" is what TR says.

What am I missing here? Not meaning to be critical AT ALL, just trying to understand.
What would apply in this case would be:
"when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

The cycle count is from the first green on the dose.
 
I fed hc that day because I didn't have any mc on hand.
Ohh, you were still out of MC. Gotcha. And you had to leave, makes complete sense now.

What would apply in this case would be:
"when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

The cycle count is from the first green on the dose.
Oh lord.
This whole time I've been interpreting that as the last green, not the last green on this dose. Big difference.
What a dingbat.
Thanks for setting me straight.
 
Back
Top