? 10/3 SHEBA AMPS 401 dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-2-sheba-amps-167-4-173-6-65-7-5-70-9-92.145261/

The pattern seems to now be 2 or 3 lovely cycles followed by a bounce of a couple of cycles.
We are now in 2nd cycle of a bounce....and they seem to be lasting 2 cycles lately.
AMPS 401

Daylight saving starts here tomorrow so I have started to adjust the time of the shots.
It is a long weekend here in NSW....my state.
Tomorrow (Sunday) I will be out for the morning cycle from about +3.5 at a family BBQ....at a Harbourside beach/park....a beautiful spot. So I will not be able to monitor Sheba, and given her big drops into low numbers which need holding up with honey, I have temporarily reduced her dose by 0.5 units to 6.25 units.
Unfortunately she is bouncing at the moment.....I am hoping she doesn't come off the bounce Sunday morning as she usually drops fast.
I only found out we were going further afield for the BBQ yesterday afternoon so couldn't post earlier and ask advice.
So my question is....is this a good plan? And is it enough of a reduction in dose?
I will also be using the auto feeder.
I hate having to fiddle with the dose at this point as she is doing so well but she would not be safe to leave if she is having an active cycle.
Thanks for advice.
 
An alternative would be to leave a higher carb food out and in the feeder. Sheba's got a pretty good sized depot so it's hard to know if a reduction now will give you sufficient time for the depot to drain a bit. Of course, if you're nervous, you can always leave HC food out, too.
 
Thanks Sienne and Carla for your thoughts/ advice.
The 6.75 units dose is almost too much for her.......every cycle is really strong and I have to hold it up with honey and even with that it continues to drop. So I would not be comfortable with just leaving her at the higher dose and leaving HC out as that just doesn't hold the numbers when she is dropping. It is hard to see how strong the cycles are, looking at the SS, as I don't let the numbers get too low (under 3). If I am at home I can manage the strong cycles and I know the extra insulin is good. It is when I have to be away from the house for any length of time it is a problem.
The depot did concern me Sienne....I hope it has drained a bit.
I think I will leave some HC food out in the auto feeder as well as the reduced amount of insulin ........if she is high for the day, so be it.
ETA. If you look in the remarks column of the SS you can see I give honey quite a bit manage the drop
 
Hi Bron. I hope everything works out well for Sheba and you too so that she can stay safe and you can enjoy a day out too.
Thanks Voula. Pity it wasn't today as she is bouncing! If she was not such a diver I would not worry so much but she loves to drop fast.
Hope all is well with you and sweet Lucy:bighug:
 
Hi Bron, no dosing advice from me but hope the reduced dose, plus the HC food will do the trick and keep her a bit high but safe. Paws crossed Sheba cooperates for you. Enjoy your family BBQ, sounds fun.
 
If she is always willing to eat, you could leave her the regular food and add the amount of honey you typically use.

Have fun with your holiday!
 
When Purrdy has flown I have reduced his dose by a third for two cycles. Probably a bit of overkill but rather be safe than sorry - especially in circumstances where he wasn't going to be able to access food! I would definitely leave plenty out for Sheba.

I hope you have a lovely day out with the family.
 
Thanks Suki, Julie and Serryn for suggestions.
It should be a lovely day tomorrow........going to be hot ...35 degrees which is ridiculous for October. The spot we are going to is just beautiful.
@julie & punkin (ga).... you have given me an idea. That is a good idea to put in the feeder what I normally would feed.......but I would like to trial it first before I actually do it. What I could do is on a day I am at home....and Sheba is having an active cycle....set up the auto feeder with what I would normally feed if she is dropping...including the honey. And then just monitor the BSL but not interfere with the food side and see how the BSL goes. Thanks Julie!
 
Hope your BBQ sunday is a wonderful time! 35 degrees certainly is pretty hot though, stay hydrated ;) Hopefully Sheba behaves and doesn't do an funny business with her numbers. Fingers and kitty toes are crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top