10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+6.25/69,+7/88,+7.5/112,+9/209,+11/400

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112

Can you give her some cooked chicken? Or something that's very low carb that will help to reduce her hunger and appease her until it's shot time?

(Thanks for linking all of the condos.)
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112, +12.5~115

9:51am (+12 and 10 minutes) ~ 112
10:21am (+12.5 ~ 115)

Yes, I have raw chicken I can cut some off for her. She be just as happy with a chunk of my hand, though. At least she didn't draw blood.

How long do I need to do the 15-20 (max 30) minute testing? How long will I need to test her today? I was going to help a friend around 4p but she's trying to find someone else. She's diabetic so she understands if I can't help. I canceled an appointment I had this morning so I'm here all day.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112, +12.5~115, +13~117,+13.5~137

Gave raw chicken breast. Happy cat!

+12 and 10 minutes ~ 112 (9:51am)
+12.5 ~ 115 (10:21am)
+13 ~ 117 (11:03am) Fed raw chicken breast after testing
+13.5 ~ 137 (11:36am)
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112, +12.5~115, +13~117, 13.5~137

Hi Lylene,

I'm at tbp and at a dissadvantage (can't see ss due to firewall).

the longest you want to stall is 2 hours (+14). Then it's generally shoot or skip.
If you get a decent rise at +14 and are going to be home and are prepared (strips, HC food) and feel confident you can manage a potentially active cycle, go for it.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112,+13~117, 13.5~137, 13.75~189 HELP

Got a "decent rise". How much do I shoot? She's been getting 3.5u. Do I shoot? What the hell am I doing here????? AHHHHHHH!!!!

Taking deep breaths.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112,+13~117, 13.5~137, 13.75~189 HELP

I looked at your spreadsheet, and it looks like you can go ahead and shoot your regular dose.
After 3 rising numbers (at the +13.5) I think it was safe to go ahead and shoot.
Sorry, I wasn't on to help you, then.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112,+13~117, 13.5~137, 13.75~189 HELP

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
If you get a decent rise at +14 and are going to be home and are prepared (strips, HC food) and feel confident you can manage a potentially active cycle, go for it.

That is a substantial rise
 
10/3 Paisley +12~112,+13~117, 13.5~137, 13.75~189

Ok, shot 3.5u. Now where do we go from here?

When to feed her and how much. She's on FF right now but generally raw. Going to stay with FF for today. Had to give her some chicken so I could shoot. I'm going to give her 1/4 can now and check back for feedback.

When and how often to test? I've read the protocol and learned some things but there seems to be big gaps in other things. It looks like I need +1 and +2. Given the night we had are there specific times to test?

Is there a time I can take a nap?

And thank you everyone for helping me through this. Don't know how anyone could do this alone.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112,+13~117, 13.5~137, 13.75~189

Lylene:

Do you know how many calories/day she needs to maintain her weight? A minimum amount is 15 calories/pound/day but that is a bare minimum. You might want to figure 20 calories/lb/day and then weigh her often and see how she does on that. Anyway.....I think the best way is to know how much she normally eats in a day; divide that into two portions....one for am cycle and one for pm cycle. And then spread that out over several minimeals. I believe I posted in your condo last night that many feed PS, +1, +2, +3 minimeals. When Gracie was on lantus and we used that schedule, we fed her the main portions in PS and +1 and then smaller amounts in +2 and +3 so she had alot of food on board by the time she onset.

Because Paisley is coming up, IMHO,I think you can probably wait and do a +2. She shouldn't onset before then but if she will tolerate it and you feel more comfortable, you can do a +1. I'm not sure I see any value added in it with all the testing you've had to do. Normally a +1 is warranted if she is dropping or staying the same. But she had a pretty good rise in 15 minutes. Once you do the +2, then see how she is doing. If she normally onsets at +3, you might want to check her again then unless she has come up ALOT...which means she might be on the way to a bounce.

I nap in between tests if I've got even an hour to wait for the next test.

Please let us know your questions...keep 'em coming. We're here to help. We've all been there ;-)

eta: could you please put her AMPS in the subject line so we know what you shot? Thanks!!!
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley +12~112,+13~117, 13.5~137, 13.75~189

Glad you shot. Remember, your PM shot will be 12 hours from this shot. To get back on schedule you can shoot either 15 mins early each cycle until you reach your desired shot time, or 30 mins early once each 24 houos (not 2 cycles in a row).

Sounds like you need to develop an eating plan. How much does Ms. Paisley weigh? is she at a good weight? thin? full figured?

Like I mentioned yessterday, I feed BK +12, +4 and +8 around the clock. That works for us. Others have their own methods, ECID. As with all things in LL consistency yeilds the best results.

See what your +1 nd +2 are. she may be heading for a bounce, which will give you a chance to nap.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon)

I'm going to wait until +2 to test with the delay in getting her food to her

I'm not sure how to figure calories with the raw diet I make. It's from Holisticat. I grind a never frozen chicken and giblets (except liver), beef liver (safer source), few extra gizzards, raw egg yolks, cooked egg whites and low carb veggie (zuke, green beans, etc.). I just got a frozen beef heart that I need to divide up somehow. Not sure how to figure out calories on that. I do add supplements but they don't add calories

Paisley decided she loves kale. Have to look into that as a veggie.

I'll just have to go by % of cat's weight and weigh every three days. Go from there.

Going to lay down for an hour. Thanks again.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon)

Lylene:

Hope you are resting but I'll leave this note for you.

If the amount of food you were giving her pre-FD was adequate to control her weight, then just divide it up as I suggested. You'd only need to worry about calories, etc, if she is gaining or losing. If she's holding steady on the amount of food you've been feeding, then just spread the feedings out.

Will that work??
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon)

I got Paisley as a rescue after her diagnosis. Venita found her on Craig's List, I think. She was a relinquish to a private shelter downstate in May '11. Not sure why or what prompted the diagnosis. She was underweight but gained and was pretty close to normal when I got her the end of July. I was mostly letting her eat as much raw as she wanted. Then I wasn't able to make it and we did a few days Wellness and FF twice. Anyway, she's gaining weight. It seems recent. Bought another battery for the scales yesterday. Let the weighing begin, later.

I definitely will cut back on her canned food. Get her weighed and figure out an amount for raw.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon)

Sorry if this sounds way too obvious, but do a Google search. I searched calories in beef heat and found that raw beef heat is 30.33 cal. per ounce. Weigh your ingredients, get the total calories in your raw mixture, figure out what the calories are by ounce or portions (e.g, 1/4 cup = 1 portion), and divide it out so you have the calories of what you're feeding. As long as you keep your proportions the same, you'll know what you're feeding. It may take some work to come up with this but you'll have an idea of how much Paisley is eating.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon), +2~341

In fact, it's an impressive bounce. Now, you just wait it out. It could take up to 72 hours to clear.

Didn't you have a vet appt. scheduled? I thought it was for today.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon), +2~341, +6~352

The bean napped too long. She also forgot to call the vet to schedule an appointment and they closed at 5p.
 
10/3 Paisley AMPS~189 (noon), +2~341, +6~352, +8~354

Is this normal for a bounce? Just fed her 1/4 can of FF. (after +8 test)

Is what happened with her numbers dropping a good thing in the long run? Does it mean she's starting to respond to the insulin? What should I be looking for toward the end of this cycle (midnight) and over the next cycle (midnight to noon)?

Is a +10, +11 and +12 test what I should be doing next. Also, she will be hungry and get difficult to handle. She hasn't eaten as much as she normally would have because I've been overfeeding. Should she have another 1/4 can soon or wait and give some chicken if necessary?
 
10/3 Paisley AMPS~189, +2~341, +6~352, +8~354, +11.25~262

Fed 1/2 can FF at +9.75. Misread time

+11.25~ 262 (11:20pm) Can't get spreadsheet to take the +11.25 like it used to. Anyone know why or how to fix it?

What am I looking for at +12? Which is where I am right now because I didn't hit submit.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley AMPS~189, +2~341, +6~352, +8~354, +11.25~26

Just like with all things, every cat is different. So, Paisley may bounce differently from another cat. And, each bounce can be different. Last night was the first time that Paisley surfed for any length of time in normal numbers. This is good. However, her liver isn't used to being in those numbers and it panicked. When this happens, there's a release of a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that causes BG levels to rise. The more time that Paisley spends in normal numbers, the more her liver will get used to being in the lower ranges.

There's not way to predict what the next cycles will look like. A bounce could clear within the cycle or it could take up to 72 hours for it to clear.

Given where Paisley's numbers are sitting, I would wait until PMPS to test. Give yourself and your kitty a break. You want to refrain from feeding after +10. If Paisley is being frantic, a snack of chicken will be fine.
 
10/3 Paisley+12~380/316 Shoot?

I got 2 +12 readings 380 & 316. Had a bit of difficulty getting blood as her ear was a bit cold.

Should I shoot the 3.5 she usually gets?
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316 Food questions

Thanks Sienne.

Food questions. If I feed her at PS, won't it affect +1 & +2? She acts like she's starving. She ate 1/2 can FF at 9:45pm and now it's about 12:30am. When I fed her earlier, she literally grabbed the chunk of food I'd just cut and was pulling out of the can. She acted like she hadn't eaten in days. Any thoughts on that? Also, not sure how much to feed. She will vomit if she goes several hours (8 or 9 sometimes) without food. So I'd say small meals through the day but sometimes it just isn't possible to do that consistently. It's a bit to figure out.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316

I'm trying to understand this. She last ate at 9:45 and her shot was at 12am? No food was given with PM shot?
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316

Actually her shot was closer to 12:15 and she got 1/4 can food just after her shot. Usually I have the food ready but I'm getting really tired and forgot. She HAS had food.
I was wondering how the food affects +1 & +2 because I seem to remember those being important somewhere. Can't find it now.

Since we're coming off a bounce, how frequently do I check her BS and are there any specific times?
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316

Ah... OK. I'm not sure exactly what info you're looking for, especially since I'm not a regular to your condo and not familiar with Paisley, so I'll leave the detailed answering to someone else. The general answer is that you might see a food spike in your +1 and possibly +2 numbers, but these numbers can also be helpful in letting you know where a cycle is going. Since you're coming off a bounce, you're likely fine getting a test or two before you go to bed and giving Paisley's ears a rest.
 
10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271

+2~271
She's done the counter surfing. Still insists that she's starving. She can be nasty. Back to hissing at others. *sigh* At least Barry only tries to crawl into the fridge every time he hears it open. Persistent but laid back. "you're starving me. Fine. If that's how you're going to be,fine."
 
10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195

+4~ 195

I'm going to feed her 1/4 can of FF and retest at +6. Going to take a nap until then.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195, +6~69 Help pl

Paisley's going down from her bounce. +6 was 69. I fed her 1/4 can of FF at +4.5.
Suggestions on testing?
I'm going to go back and read the sticky on low numbers.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195, +6~69 Help pl

That's quite a drop. I would try to feed her a little (like a teaspoon) of HC gravy, to try to stop the drop and get her on a surfboard. And I think you can test again in 30 minutes. I won't be here, but others will be to help you.
Sorry, no more naps for a little while.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195, +6~69 Help pl

If you haven't fed her since +4.5, then you can try a little LC regular food, with the teaspoon of HC gravy over the top of it.
 
10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195, +6.25~69 Help

I just got her food to her about 5 minutes ago. Should I wait for 30 min. after feeding her? Otherwise it'll barely have time to get into her system.
She got 1/4 can FF and some HC shredded food with as must gravy as I could get.

Actually test was +6.25. Alarm was a bit off.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195, +6~69 Help pl

How about testing in about 20 minutes after she ate? And don't give her too much now.
You don't want to fill her up, in case she is in the 40s with the next test. If that is the case, then you'll want to feed her some more HC, probably without the LC.
I have to go, but others will be around to help you.
 
10/3 Paisley PMPS~380/316, +2~271, +4~195, +6.25~69, +7~88

She's up to 88 and we're at +7.
She's getting good at making testing hard. Wiggly cat.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+2~271,+4~195,+6.25~69,+7~88, +7.5

Looking good Lylene! ~O)
(she did not bounce for long!)

You are handling this like a pro!
Try and get maybe a +9 and definitely a +11.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+2~271,+4~195,+6.25~69,+7~88, +7.5

+9 and +11. Yeah, I'm starting to feel like I'm starting to feel like a pro. See that's what sleep deprivation does. She's chasing flies.

Should I wait until +9? That's 9:30 EST.

Might have gotten a little bit of higher carb food but very little. I can't find info on it but from the ingredients, it has to be somewhat HC. Innova for cats & kittens. No flavor listed.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+2~271,+6.25~69,+7~88,+7.5~112, +9

Got a bit of a jump there. +9 was 209.

I should add that she'd been running around chasing flies and looking for food. Basically having a grand time as those are her two favorite pastimes, besides terrorizing Willow. Now she's back in her room for a while.

See you at +11.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+6.25/69,+7/88,+7.5/112,+9/209,+11

Paisley's +11 is 400. She has been in her room for the past two hours. She vomited some nasty stuff. Apparently I missed some dead flies and moths. She ate them. She puked them. She really wants to go outside and seems stressed that she can't. I'm going to spend the next hour in her room.

3.5u shot is due at 12:30. Any thoughts until then?
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+6.25/69,+7/88,+7.5/112,+9/209,+11

Wow - that's a big jump, although she had a pretty steep drop from the 380 to the 69.

My only thought is what made her puke - was it ingestinig the insects?
it's important that she eats witihin a couple of hours following her shot.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+6.25/69,+7/88,+7.5/112,+9/209,+11

I'm sure she'll eat. She loves to eat. I'm wondering if she went too long without food. She will vomit from that. Maybe a combination. She does hate being cooped up and it's a beautiful day outside.
 
Re: 10/3 Paisley PMPS~380,+6.25/69,+7/88,+7.5/112,+9/209,+11

Going to a new condo for 10/4. Her AMPS was 434.She's happily eating 1/2 can of FF.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top