10/3 Lucky +13~68 +14~61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi again everyone. :smile: Well, Lucky's number has been dropping this afternoon and it's continued to drop after his normal shot time (which I haven't administered yet). When I took the first reading it was low, so I waited half an hour and took another reading, then a half hour and so on until now, and it seems to keep dropping lower. Here are his numbers so far today and his spreadsheet:

10/3 Readings
AMPS 245
+6 277
+12 93
+12.25 78
+13 68
+14 61
+14.5 51
+15 45 (fed 1/4 can FF)
+15.5 59 (fed 1/4 can FF)
(fed 1/2 can FF)
+17 95

It's pretty much been 3 hours since he was supposed to get his shot, but he's still going lower. I haven't fed him yet (I'm going to right now, though I guess I'll do a quarter of a can instead of half), and I guess I don't feel data ready to handle this since his numbers have been all wacky the past few weeks. My biggest question is if/when I should administer the shot. Any thoughts/suggestions? I remember the low numbers guide recommended feeding and testing in intervals (looks like I'm going to have to read through it again :? ), but I'm not sure about the shot, or if it would be best just to skip it tonight. Thanks again y'all for your help, it's much appreciated.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucky Low Reading Help?

trying to help you get Sienne's attention.
how about if you put some numbers in your subject line instead?

10/3 Lucky +13~61 +14~45 Dosing????
 
Re: 10/3 Lucky Low Reading Help?

When did you last fed Lucky. This is 2 hrs past the shot time & he's at 45? If you havent fed I'd feed him a bit of HC gravy to bring up the bg & skip the shot. Pls test 20 min after the feeding.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucky Low Reading Help?

I can tell you when you stall, you don't feed.

But you said it has been 3 hours.

You always have to consider whether or not you can handle a different shot schedule when you stall to shoot later. Some can't handle
the change in their shot times.

The other options are a BCS , big chicken shot of a token amount to avoid running the depot to a lesser amount.
and also option of skipping.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucky Low Reading Help?

@Rhiannon: Thanks for the bump and reply, I'll change the subject line and see if it helps. I figured I was supposed to delay the food too, but it's been a while since the time he usually gets his shot, plus he dropped into the 40's, which is worrisome. I've never heard of BCS though, could you explain it? At this rate, though, it's looking like I may just have to skip, considering how late it's getting into the cycle already. It makes me feel bad though, because usually when I skip shots his numbers are through the roof at the next pre-shot (last time he jumped into the 500's, which really had me worried :sad: ).

@tortie58: Well, I just fed him 1/4 can right now since he dropped into the 40's. The last time I fed him before that was in the AM cycle at +6, which was about 9 hours ago (he usually eats 1 1/2 cans in each cycle). I'm going to test his number right now, I'll be back in a bit!
 
Re: 10/3 Lucky +13~61 +14~45 Dosing????

There are only very rare exceptions where you can shoot the 40s and this isn't one of them. If numbers are continuing to drop, I'd skip.

Your spreadsheet and summary don't match.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucky +13~61 +14~45 Dosing????

Well, his number has gone up to 59, though I guess there's no way to tell if that's because of the food I just gave or the insulin wearing off.

@Sienne: Thanks for the quick advice, I guess I'll just have to skip the shot this time. Also, regarding the SS, I'm not exactly sure how to record these extra readings... I'll try reworking it a bit, just a sec.

Edit: LOL well, it looks like I got the intervals a bit wonky in the opening post, so I fixed them up a bit. Thanks again to everyone for their quick replies, hopefully Lucky's numbers won't jump too high come tomorrow morning, we'll see. XP
 
My guess is that the 59 is a food spike, although it's quite possible the insulin is wearing off.

FWIW, you can shoot late if your schedule can accommodate it. I suspect being this far off schedule would make it rather difficult.
 
Well, I guess I can accommodate, I've been sick recently so I'd have the time off for it, though dialing it back over the next few days might be difficult. I just fed him another half can of food though, but let me check his reading again and see, maybe if he's going real high already I'll shoot (if not, I think I'll just wait till tomorrow though).
 
Well, he's at 95 right now... do you think it might be because of the food I've given him, or would it be safe to shoot? Maybe hard to tell, hmm. :-|
 
I thought the 13th hour since shot was the numbers you had while ago.

+13~61 +14~45

your numbers are different in the subject heading now.

the 13 tells us all that it has been 13 hrs past shot. So if you do multiple tests in one hour , like every 15 minutes. it's 13.25, 13.5, 13.75
and then 14th hour.
If it's been another hour. +15 and so on....
all the way until the next time you give a shot.

Lucky will catch up so don't worry about having to skip the shot tonite.
It really is difficult to get back to your shot time when you have to stall several hours.
 
re-cap for your cycle for today...
AMPS 245
+6 277
+12 93
+12.25 78
+13 68
+14 61
+14.5 51
+15 45 (fed 1/4 can FF)
+15.5 59 (fed 1/4 can FF)
(fed 1/2 can FF)
+17 95

I think you are still seeing a lot of influence from the food.
I just found your numbers had been modified back on your original post.
Some of us don't look back at that original post ( at least I usually don't...)
IMHO, i'd stick with the skip....
 
Where are you at +time now? If numbers are rapidly rising, it might be OK to shoot. However, if you've been sick, how much later can you stay up to make sure numbers are on the rise and it's not a food spike? I'd want you to get another test so we have some idea which it may be. If you're already 4 hours past your usual shot time, it could take a week to get you back on schedule. Usually, once you're past 2 hours, it's a pain in the neck to get back on schedule.
 
@Rhiannon: Oh geez, sorry about that, I kind of messed up with the times when I started taking down those numbers, so I went back and updated the first post, sorry for the confusion. :oops: I think I'll stick with the skip tonight, and hopefully he won't jump too high tomorrow morning.

@Sienne: Right now it's +5 from the shot. If it'd take a week to get back on schedule if I shot now tho, I guess it'd probably be better to just skip for tonight (I do remember the last time I shot was a real pain, I'd keep forgetting to set my alarms and it took a while to get back to a normal time XP).

Thank you both so much for your quick replies and help this evening, Lucky and I really do appreciate it. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top