10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+7/97,+10.5/47,PMPS 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Was expecting that this morning since I skipped his shot last night, surprised he wasn't higher. He got his 'zero line' R and a fat .75 this morning. We'll see what happens.

He's not feeling well, hiding under the bed. I reached in to drag him out and heard a squall, it was Meow Meow, not Lucian! :lol: She squalls when you get physical with her in any way.

I've got to block the underside of my bed somehow, it kills my shoulders, back and knees to get down on the floor and reach under the bed. Sux getting old. :-x
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417

Yep figured he would be higher too. But hey at least the meter didn't greet you and I would rather see that ugly red than had him hypo overnight. Especially as tired as you were last night it just wasn't safe to shoot when you couldn't stay with him to monitor. Better high for a day or two than too low for a minute.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417

I agree Mel. But there have been no meter greetings since on Lev. This is about as high as he's gone I think. If he started pushing 400, I gave R to help bring it down, but it's been a couple weeks since I've had to do that. First time I gave him a reduction, I had to use the R, so after 3 days, he went back up. Second time I reduced I had to use R once and immediately took him back up. But he did good on the reduction for a few days that time. Don't know how he'll do right now, but I feel, because he responds so much better to the Lev, he'll be ok in a few days or I'll have to take him back up. I don't know if he's on a fat .75 or a skinny 1.0, but that's what I'm shooting. Gonna give him a few days to see if he'll settle into it.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171

Hope he'll stay at a decent number till the Lev kicks in.

He's not eating well, I don't know why. I give him 1/4 can and he only eats half or less. Been like this a couple days. I know when they are high, they eat more, maybe it's because he's been running lower than normal the last couple days? Even high at amps, he only ate half what I gave him. Has me a little worried, only had one time in the last 10 months that he wouldn't eat. But he IS eating, just only half what he has been until now.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+8/97

You've also got to look at the long run- he is finally in good numbers most of the time. Yes, he does have a red here or there but a lot of it is in yellow but he is in blues and greens without the spike to black.

You've got to wonder if his body could be getting the nutrients it needs out of less food because he has the insulin and it is keeping him down but keep an eye on it. When Sneakers stopped eating 18 oz a day the first time it was abrupt and i tested every pee time I could catch. The next time it went down slower but it was a noticeable difference between old and new.

Normal food intake for a cat is between 4 and 10 ounces- depending on weight and activity. Sneakers is 10 lbs and eats 6-8 and has zero activity level.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+8/97

At the rate he's going now, it's about a 5.5 oz can a day, maybe a bit more. His only activity is sleeping! He's in training for the US Olympic Sleeping Team! Going for the gold! :lol:

I need to check for ketones, haven't done that in weeks.

Aw shoot! He's under the bed, here we go, I hate having to drag him out from under the bed. ohmygod_smile I try to catch him and put him ON the bed. He can get up there, but he won't if I'm home. He's rotten. He meows at me to put him up there and if I don't hear him or ignore him or he doesn't meow, he goes under. Oh well, he should come out between now and pmps, it's over 4 hrs. If I'm here, it's Meow! Put me up! Meow! Put me down! Meow! Put me up! All day and all night long! The other night, when he didn't wake me for 7 hrs, was like the first time my babies slept thru the night, scared the begeezus out of me!

I just noticed how much Lucian looks like Sneaks! Always laying down too.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+7/97

Bed risers may elevate the bed enough that you can snag him more easily. And as a bonus, bigger boxes fit underneath for storage to block off the area.

I've found them at Bed, Bath, and Beyond.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+7/97,+10.5/47

I did not see that coming! :o WTH? I have no clue. Didn't expect to see a 47.

My bed is very high, built in the early 1920's, the top of the mattress is 31 inches from the floor, I have a double bedskirt and a bunch of boxes under it. Next time my son comes over, I'll have him lift the mattress, etc and I'll arrange the boxes so he can only go a short distance under there. It's not the bed, it's my old body that doesn't function well. :lol:
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+7/97,+10.5/47

Wow - I just read through yesterday's and today's condos. Lucian is doing some crazy stuff.

What is really amazing to me is that Alska peed on my bathroom rug on Tuesday night. He's never done that so what is up with these two. I finally moved the litterbox back into his room because the civvies were making a game of harassing him if he came across the hall. I had to Frizzion the rug. So I will have to check the phone bill. It looks to me like Alska and Lucian are talking.

Geez you are back to really low numbers again. Weird

I have a really high bed also. I have nothing under it though. Alska does not go under it and I have to put him on the bed because he won't use the steps. I know your pain with lying on the floor to snag them out only I use a squirt bottle :twisted: Getting down is easier than getting up. Do you think Lucian is going under the bed because he is not feeling well?
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+7/97,+10.5/47

The last 2 times Lucian went under the bed, he did not meow at me, he's sneaking behind me and going under the bed and I don't realize it, cause he always meows at me. I don't think he feels well at all. It has me worried, because I am broke and haven't gotten a WC check since the 5th of September. My son is having to pay my rent this weekend. It's very upsetting and the last thing I need is for him to get sick.

I need steps for Lucian.
 
Re: 10/3 Lucian AMPS 417,+4.25/171,+7/97,+10.5/47

Oh dear... well, I will say many prayers for Lucian tonight.
 
Thanks hon. He's at 80 for pmps, I'm going to go with a flat .75 for a few days and see what happens.
 
Wonder if the R dropped him down a little too far then the Lev kicked in and really dropped him. Although all in all that is a beautiful curve.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top