10/3 Jack AMPS 297 - during the night +6.75 48

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Member Since 2019
Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-26-jack-amps-143.253481/

I can't find the sweet spot for Jack. 4U isn't enough and 4.25 or 4.5 takes him too low during the night. Should I hold the 4U dose longer, for a full week, even though I only see yellows and pinks? I'm afraid to go higher than 4U, yet 4U isn't working. What should I do? Should I try prozinc again? (I switched to Levemir on 8/16.) The last two days on prozinc started to look better. Should I give that a try again?

Also, could someone explain what is meant by insulin toxicity if a dose is held too long?
Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Your cat is a long term diabetic. I don’t see a dosing method? If you switch to TR you would hold the dose for 3 under 50 or even one time under 40. Switching the dose at round line you are isn’t giving lev the consistency it needs to work best.

If glucose toxicity sets in you will need to give more insulin to get to better bg numbers.
 
Your cat is a long term diabetic. I don’t see a dosing method? If you switch to TR you would hold the dose for 3 under 50 or even one time under 40. Switching the dose at round line you are isn’t giving lev the consistency it needs to work best.

If glucose toxicity sets in you will need to give more insulin to get to better bg numbers.
Carolyn is following SLGS as per her spreadsheet.
 
Carolyn is following SLGS as per her spreadsheet.
That's right. I am following SLGS as per my SS. I do prefer to hold the dose for a week but I keep changing it because of his numbers. A couple of times, I lowered the dose because he hit a low number during the night. I did jump from four units to 4.25 after only a few cycles, but that was because I thought maybe I dropped the dose too low. I had gone from 4.5 to 4, and I thought maybe I should just bump it up. Well, I bumped it up and he went low again. I think at this point I am just going to hold four units for a week. I'll get some random tests in and do a curve next weekend. If his numbers are too high on four units, I'm probably going to try Prozinc again. His pre shots were high on prozinc but I can always see if something has improved there. Thank you Katherine.
 
To me Jack's numbers look way better on Levemir than Prozinc. Remember all those blacks you got on Prozinc? Jack is now learning how to use Levemir (it takes time), and lately even reds are fading away. It can take cats up to three months to proper adjust to a new insulin. To me it looks like he's slowly starting to flatten out. And his earning dose reductions whereas on Prozinc you were just going to higher and higher doses.

When are you feeding Jack during the cycle? I'm wondering if tweaking feeds can help flatten him out more.
 
To me Jack's numbers look way better on Levemir than Prozinc. Remember all those blacks you got on Prozinc? Jack is now learning how to use Levemir (it takes time), and lately even reds are fading away. It can take cats up to three months to proper adjust to a new insulin. To me it looks like he's slowly starting to flatten out. And his earning dose reductions whereas on Prozinc you were just going to higher and higher doses.

When are you feeding Jack during the cycle? I'm wondering if tweaking feeds can help flatten him out more.
I absolutely agree. His numbers are better. He eats frequently throughout both cycles. Most of the time, either I'm with him or my daughter is. And my daughter's up late at night, so she feeds him. However, last night it had been a long time since he ate before she tested him and got that lower number of 50.She said he hadn't asked to eat and she didn't feed him. Naturally, she fed him after that. Usually, all four of my cats eat every 3 or 4 hours, if not more. Their biggest meals are in the morning and then when I give Jack his insulin at night. In between, they get smaller blobs.
So do you think I should just then stay with four units and see what happens from there? I do dread the thought of going back to seeing black numbers. Levemir definitely took care of that rather quickly.
I'm beginning a new job tomorrow, so I'm going to be out of the house a lot more hours and Jack will be by himself more.
 
How soon after shot time will you leave the house for work? That +3 last night that was lower than preshot was an indicator of an active cycle. Just wondering if there is a way you can get a heads up on an active cycle before leaving for work, and leave out higher carb food then as a precaution.

The smaller frequent meals sounds fine. Will he graze if you just leave more food out?

I would go with 4 units for now.
 
How soon after shot time will you leave the house for work? That +3 last night that was lower than preshot was an indicator of an active cycle. Just wondering if there is a way you can get a heads up on an active cycle before leaving for work, and leave out higher carb food then as a precaution.

The smaller frequent meals sounds fine. Will he graze if you just leave more food out?

I would go with 4 units for now.
I don't think I can get a +3 in the morning, because I leave not that long after I shoot him and my daughter is not available during some of the day. Even if I could dose him earlier, it couldn't be that early consistently. But we can always get a +3 at night. And during the day, his numbers never seem to go too low, especially with 4 units. And as far as grazing, we put food down so frequently for them that there's usually food sitting there the majority of the time.
I think I may look into an automatic feeder for the times that we know we won't be there.
I'll stay with four units for now and get as many tests as I can. Thanks Wendy.
 
Understandable if you can't get a +3 during the AM. I'm wondering if there is another pattern that might indicate he's thinking of going lower. For me and Neko, if I got a +9 or +10 and there was flat or a drop to preshot, then that was my heads up. Just seeing if there is something that can help predict what Jack is up to (or down to). He does seem to like to do a fair bit of flat blue the cycle before he drops. Or maybe a +2 if you can get it? I think that worked for Marje and Gracie.
 
Understandable if you can't get a +3 during the AM. I'm wondering if there is another pattern that might indicate he's thinking of going lower. For me and Neko, if I got a +9 or +10 and there was flat or a drop to preshot, then that was my heads up. Just seeing if there is something that can help predict what Jack is up to (or down to). He does seem to like to do a fair bit of flat blue the cycle before he drops. Or maybe a +2 if you can get it? I think that worked for Marje and Gracie.
I just looked back over his spreadsheet. It seems that I don't get many +3 tests, but when I do they're always higher than the pre-shot number. So it would be good if I could get that number. But.. it won't be possible in the morning. And you're right. It seems that a day full of flat blues is an indicator that something may happen later in the night. So for now, I will use that as a heads up.
 
Back
Top