10/3 Herman amps 113 +3 121 +5 99 pmps 115…chin acne?

Herman has has little bumps on his chin before, I assumed chin acne, they often cleared on their own, switching from plastic dishes didn’t seem to make a difference to recurrence. Currently though he seems to have a bigger than usual flare up, red and a bit crusty with bloody scabs when picked. A little oozes. He doesnt like me touching them but im thinking these need some sort of treatment as they have gotten worse over last few days to the point where I started wondering if he got bitten as it’s the spacing of two fangs where the two main scabs are….seems unlikely though…
Hydrogen peroxide? Or is this call for another vet visit? :oops:
 
Last edited:
upload_2023-10-3_11-26-19.jpeg
Yes, this is the best pic I could get, you should see my camera roll !
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-3_11-26-19.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-3_11-26-19.jpeg
    13 KB · Views: 245
Hi Amy. Looks like Herman is finding greener fields after the flat :D
Hydrogen peroxid can be good to try. Perhaps give it a go before you go to the vet. Did you change his food?
:bighug::bighug:
 
what is smidergy?
It’s a jokey term we’ve throw around for basically what is referred to as fattening and skinning the dose when a full 0.25 unit adjustment is just too much. I think @Angela & Cleo is the queen of smidgery with Cleo as she tends on the dramatic (Cleo like to dive to those limes) and Angela uses calipers to measure her doses so she is able to accurately replicate the smidgeried dose. I don’t think it is something most users should consider, they are better off sticking to the protocol and relying on the dosing advice of the masters. In fact maybe I shouldn’t have even mentioned it in my previous dose so as not to confuse people, hopefully my above explanation addresses that concern.
 
It’s a jokey term we’ve throw around for basically what is referred to as fattening and skinning the dose when a full 0.25 unit adjustment is just too much. I think @Angela & Cleo is the queen of smidgery with Cleo as she tends on the dramatic (Cleo like to dive to those limes) and Angela uses calipers to measure her doses so she is able to accurately replicate the smidgeried dose. I don’t think it is something most users should consider, they are better off sticking to the protocol and relying on the dosing advice of the masters. In fact maybe I shouldn’t have even mentioned it in my previous dose so as not to confuse people, hopefully my above explanation addresses that concern.
Couldn't of said it better myself!! Thanks @Amy & Herman
As a long term diabetic, Cleo can sometimes be sensitive to small changes in insulin dose. When she's done with a dose she's REALLY done with it dropping into the low 30s, 20s and once the meter just read "Lo" :nailbiting:. I'll take a full 0.25 reduction per protocol which usually will fail and have to go back up in dose. But the last dose brought her too low :rolleyes:. Hence smidgery :p
Note for lurkers, this is something done with my cat only after collecting over 18 months of data

Have you searched the forum for chin acne?
I found this link https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/chin-acne.278778/
 
It’s a jokey term we’ve throw around for basically what is referred to as fattening and skinning the dose when a full 0.25 unit adjustment is just too much. I think @Angela & Cleo is the queen of smidgery with Cleo as she tends on the dramatic (Cleo like to dive to those limes) and Angela uses calipers to measure her doses so she is able to accurately replicate the smidgeried dose. I don’t think it is something most users should consider, they are better off sticking to the protocol and relying on the dosing advice of the masters. In fact maybe I shouldn’t have even mentioned it in my previous dose so as not to confuse people, hopefully my above explanation addresses that concern.

Got it. Thanks for the explanation. And, yes... we will be sticking to protocol:)
 
Those don’t look like acne to me. My first cat had it. At the time the vet treated it with prednisolone and an antibiotic, Baytril. There was never any puss. I think if there is it might be infected. My current vet sad it’s not caused by plastic.
 
I can’t see the photo clearly but I also am not sure it’s chin acne. Has Herman ever had it before?

The cases I’ve seen looked like blackheads or pustules that broke open when squeezed. My vet at the time was old school and told me to pick up some Stridex acne wipes or a tube of benzoyl peroxide. He scrubbed the chin first with soap and water then followed with the wipes. An IM vet once gave me different wipes but similar instructions—clean the chin then use wipes.

Is there any chance Herman tangled with something while outside… critter, piece of metal, barbed wire, etc.?

I’m wondering whether that might be why he’s showing slightly higher BG. Hmmm.
 
Back
Top