10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 +5 39 +6 86 +7 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105612&p=1121617#p1121617
(Lara, yes he loves the coconut oil! I put it on my skin sometimes as a moisturizer and he always tries to lick it off. Julie, entirely possible he had a bad dream the other night...didnt think of that)

ok so last night I gave him his shot by picking up the fur on his side and shooting into the loose skin there. His numbers went crazy high last night. (he has a LOT of loose skin like he might be genetically related to cats that are bred to be in cold weather...a lot of insulation even though he is short haired)

So this morning I shot right into the muscle in his arm and .....wow low numbers!

Is there something about shot location that I missed?

gave him a bunch of his regular food and will test again in a few minutes.....scary though!

and as per usual he is looking and acting completely fine. Even just drank a bunch of water as if his numbers were high
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

ok 15 minutes later its 31
do I need to break out the karo syrup??
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Hi Michele-
I haven't reviewed your profile but I would definitely try to get Crushy's BG up. A bit of Karo is good or if you have some gravy that would also work.

I'm not on the board much these days but saw your 911 and wanted to respond. Are you going to be able to test a few more times? We want to make sure Crushy gets up a bit and then has at least 2 safe numbers not food related.

Karen
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

thanks Karen

I fed him some more food and a couple corn chips. I dont have any gravy yet (its on my list ohmygod_smile )

Ill be home the rest of the afternoon so I can test and watch him.

Im going to test again in a few minutes and break out the karo if its not rising
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Yeah, when our Fur Ball took his first dive all we had was Karo syrup as we weren't prepared for it!!! Thankfully he survived. :smile: But I liked using the MC and HC food better to control his lower numbers.

Let's see what his next numbers are to help you determine what to do.

Karen
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

How long has Crushy been in the 30's?

We like to feed and test 20-30 minutes after feeding

When is the last time you fed and when is the last time you tested?
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Michele, any time you get into the 30's, you should be feeding High Carb or low carb with some honey, Karo or even maple syrup. When you feed their regular low carb food, it doesn't have enough carbs or sugars to bring them back up above 50

Also, you only want to feed enough to get their numbers up because you might need to get them to eat more for several hours to make sure it stays up...and if they are full, they're not going to want to eat when they really need to

Don't forget that Crushy has earned a reduction so it's back to 1.75 units

And I'm not sure why you injected into the muscle...Insulin usually is supposed to go into the fat in the subQ layer, not into the muscle..Hopefully someone with more experience can help with that
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

I tested at 2:50 (7 minutes ago) and it was 32

The first # in the 30s I caught was at 2:20

at 1:15 he was 110
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Thats a pretty big drop early in the cycle. Can you please feed him 1-2 tsps of his regular food with a drop or two of karo syrup mixed in.

Can you please retest in 20-30 minutes?
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Need to add a couple of drops of syrup, karo or honey to a teaspoon of food and get him up Michele

Come on Crushy...it's time to come up
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Just fed him some reg food with karo
Ill test again in a few minutes

He is a big eater...I cant see him turning down food so that shouldnt be an issue
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

What you need to do after you've added some syrup is to keep retesting every 20-30 minutes...Continue to feed a little with syrup, honey, karo until you get a test above 50. Then keep testing (without food) until you get to at least 2 hours after feeding and he's still above 50. If he drops below again, you have to start over and give a little karo to bring him back up and then more testing.

You want to make sure he gets above 50 and stays there without having the "bump" of food or sugar, so you keep testing until it's been at least 2 hours since he had any food, and he's in safe numbers. Then you can relax a little.
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

I would wait 20 minutes to test him again, it takes 20-30 minutes for the food to start working to bring his numbers up

Michele, I am going to hang out and watch for your next test.
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Hi Michele-
Looks like you got some help on board. Hope its a great surfing afternoon for Crushy and congrats on the dose decrease. :-D

I have to get back to work. Good luck this afternoon!

Karen
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Just tested again and its 39

at least its moving in the right direction

Fed another spoonful of food and more karo

Will test again in 20 minutes

Thanks for your help guys! and thanks for writing out exactly what I need to do Chris
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

That's what we do here Michele...and once one of us is working with you, we make sure either we stay with you until things are settled down, or we'll find someone else to sit with you.

I've had people here holding my hand through my first few really low numbers, so it's only right for me to help others through theirs.

China threw me a 22 just the other day, so I get plenty of practice at getting those numbers up!

Just so it doesn't come as a big surprise to you, at some point, Bemmer's liver is probably going to panic and release a bunch of hormones and glucogen and you're going to get a really high number. That's called a "bounce" and is totally normal (although irritating at times). Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, so it's important that you know what's a bounce and not give more insulin just because of high numbers.
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

You did the right thing by feeding more food and adding karo.

I am sure Chris or I will be around for your next few tests!

You are doing a great job Michele!
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

thanks Jamie! I really appreciate it!

Oh Im fully expecting a bounce Chris. Im kind of surprised he hasnt bounced already actually....

should I take the 911 alert off?

Im already wondering what to do with my next dose though. After my genius move of shooting in his muscle this morning Im wondering if a reduced dose in the subcutaneous fat would be enough. I shot in the fatty part of his skin last night and he was super high all night. I guess we need to wait until the numbers come in.....
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Yeah..let's worry about the PMPS until after we get him up into safer numbers :lol:

Yes, you can take the 911 off...You have both me and Jamie to help you and at least one of us will stay with you as long as necessary to make sure Bemmer is safe


Edited to add....I think your high numbers last night were from the 64 during the PMPS cycle on Oct 1st....those were "bounce" numbers....they don't have to go below 50 to bounce...any lower number that Crushy's liver isn't used to will trigger a bounce
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

You've got some great people helping you now. You can take off the 911. Could you also update with you latest test numbers so we can see that Crushy is coming up. A shot in the muscle will react faster. Better to stick with subq.

Good catch on that low and congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

hmm I thought his bounces happened a little quicker than that. He had pretty flat numbers all day yesterday. I was pretty excited about that actually because it seems like he constantly bounces. I havent seen that much of a delayed bounce before but....Im still learning! (obviously)

Just tested and he was at 43
Fed more food w/karo

Crushy (not Bemmer...though that is a cute name!) is having a great time with all the extra food and attention btw. I think its a good day in his book
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Can you tell I'm dealing with more than one question? :lol: ohmygod_smile

Sorry about that...Now I'm curious though...how did you come up with the name Crushy?
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

You did the right thing again by more food and karo. Would really like to see Crushys numbers come up above 50 soon!

How are you doing Michele? I know this can be a little nerve wracking. Are you ok?
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Im doing ok Jamie. He's acting completely fine and normal which is really helping. And the support from you guys is helping a lot too!

His name: (its actually THE Crusher from the wrestler in the old Bugs Bunny cartoon) He was part of a litter of kittens born in our closet that we didnt think we were going to keep (famous last words) and he was easily twice the size of all the other kittens. We thought it was funny to name teeny little kittens big tough names. Then we ended up keeping him (and two of the other kittens) and the names stuck. His sister's name is Spike (from the tv show Buffy the Vampire Slayer) the other kitten Puff (not a tough name at all) was from some movie that was out at the time. He passed when he was a year old. I still miss him

The names dont fit them at all because they are the sweetest cats, lol

Just tested again and he's at 63
woot!
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

YEAH!! Now you don't want to feed any more, but continue to test every 30 minutes for the next hour...if he continues to go up, you can wait and do the next one an hour later..and if he stays up that long, he's probably over the hump

If he drops during any of those but stays above 50, keep testing every 30...but if he drops below 50, it's back to the karo/food (but if he's not in the 30's, a little less Karo..we want to keep him above 50 with the least thing that will work)...we call it "lather, rinse, repeat"...lol
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Welcome to the limbo dance! (aka How low can you go?)
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Just tested again and he's at 86

this limbo dance is tiring! the heat is off and Im all the sudden exhausted

Im going to set my phone alarm and close my eyes for 30 minutes till the next test

Lather rinse repeat...lol!
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Michele, it would also help if you'd edit your first post's Subject line with the latest numbers so when people come on, they don't think you're still at 39 as well as putting the numbers in your spreadsheet

If you run out of room, just leave the most important ones, like AMPS, +3 and then the ones that show he's coming up ...unless of course he comes back down
 
Re: 10/3 Crushy amps 304 +3 110 +4 39 eek!

Just read all this, and wow, good going, Michele and Crushy!
The first time it happens, you feel like you can't feed-test-feed-test-feed fast enough.
After this experience, it'll be so much easier. You'll see how he reacts to HC, MC and LC, and when to use them.
Be sure to lay in a couple of cans of Fancy Feast with gravy as part of your hypo kit.
 
thanks Lara and Jamie!

back up to 128

His feeder is scheduled to go off in an hour and a half. Should I skip that feeding considering how much he has eaten today or just stick with the routine?
 
It doesn't really matter...he might not be too hungry though. As long as his numbers are above 50 and you haven't fed him anything in the past 2 hours, he's over the worst of it.

You did GREAT!!

Next time (and there will be a next time), you'll do even better!
 
I hope you both have a nice restful night after this big adventure!
%253D%253FUTF-8%253FB%253FSmFuZXQtQW5kLUJpbmt5J3MtQ2F0LUZvb2QtQ2hhcnQuanBn%253F%253D-784278
 
You did great and had some excellent help. I checked the board while I was at a meeting -- couldn't get to your SS -- and it looked like things were under control

A couple of thoughts...

Tonight: Shoot through the bounce. In other words, shoot your current dose (2.0u) tonight since it looks like Crushy is bouncing. If the numbers come down by PMPS, you can always reduce the dose tonight. But, if numbers are sky high, shoot the old dose.

Tomorrow: reduce the dose to 1.75u.

FWIW, please remember that insulin is typically given subcutaneously. It's not really meant to be given in the muscle. I don't think the numbers today are entirely because you gave an IM injection.
 
thanks
he has already started to bounce I think
I hate the stinky pinkies but they are a lot less stressful than those low numbers right now
that was quite an adventure!
 
thanks Sienne that helps a lot

I was wondering about dosage
Ill go ahead with the 2 units tonight if its still high (my guess is it will be) and reduce tomorrow

and no more muscle shots!
 
One last thing that I forgot to mention... When you see numbers in the 30s, you can be a bit heavy handed with the carbs. The way I think about it is that it's important to get your kitty out of the low numbers and into the 50 - 60 range relatively quickly. You don't want to dump a can of high carb food into Crushy's bowl or give him a tablespoon of syrup but you do want to get the numbers up. That way, you'll have a safer range and if numbers wobble, you'll have a margin of safety.

I'd also suggest you get some gravy-based high carb food. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers or any other similar food is good.
 
going to the store tonight for some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers

its odd to switch gears and go so high carb....but its clearly very necessary in times like that.

This has definitely been a good learning experience

thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top