10/3 Apollo PMPS 308, +2 287, +6 189

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

Morning, John. Beautiful # this morning for Apollo! I'm not one for giving dosing advice, so I won't. PLEASE wait until someone with more experience advises you, ok? I know all too well the sleep deprivation part of it. :lol: If it's any consolation, I was rudely woken up by one of my civvies (Bubba) entering the cupboard under the kitchen sink, and knocking over a canister of Resolve. I need more ~O) this morning. :lol:
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

I hear ya on the exhaustion...been up since 3:45 because of various kitty antics myself (hairballs, scuffles, etc). I'm planning on nap after work - and, sadly, am very excited about that!

I'm sure someone will be along shortly to offer suggestions about dose. But wow...Apollo is really responding well!

Amy
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

Good morning! We were up all night too. Please John, take a look at Stella's SS. We try never to skip shots. People do, but we never do unless I am gone to work and my sister can't make it over to assist. Please read all of the stickies again. Here is my theory... if you skip this shot...you are just asking for a HUGE bounce...and a hypo in another cycle. Its like you skipping lunch and almost passing out...do you see what I mean?

An expert should be along shortly to advise. Good luck!
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

Good morning! I hear ya sleep deprivation. It seems all the kitties had a conspiracy last night. That is a pretty low AMPS. You need to do what you are comfortable with. Reduced dose or skip. Hope you get some rest today. Have a wonderful Monday!!
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

Morning John,

Your choices are -

stall for a substantial rise then shoot (in this case don't feed until you shoot)
give a token dose (just to throw something in the shed)
skip it


(I gotta runn - getting ready for tbp. . .)
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
John --

Skipping is a decision that's entirely up to you. No one needs to give you permission.
Exactly!

Sandy outlined the choices. What do you think?
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124

I decided to skip. When do you think I need to test him again? Can I go to bed now for a few hours and then test him later?
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124, dose?

Mary and Stella said:
Here is my theory... if you skip this shot...you are just asking for a HUGE bounce...and a hypo in another cycle.

There may or may not be higher numbers after a skipped shot. ECID, and even the same cat's response will vary at different times in their insulin journey.

Skipping a shot would not set them up for a hypo in a future cycle. I've never seen that happen. The only way skipping might lead to future low numbers would be if skipping a shot obscured the fact that your cat might actually need a dose reduction. As much as John monitors, it is very unlikely that he would miss catching the signals that a reduction is needed. :smile:
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124

Mary & Stella said:
Here is my theory... if you skip this shot...you are just asking for a HUGE bounce...and a hypo in another cycle. Its like you skipping lunch and almost passing out...do you see what I mean?
Interesting theory; I'm not sure what factual information it's based on, though. Something like this might happen in the small percentage of the human population who have been diagnosed with hypoglycemia. There are lots of people who skip meals and suffer no ill effects. (Think about what happens to people who fast for various reasons. I've not heard of an epidemic of fainting due to fasting.) My experience is the same as Libby's and she's been here longer than I have. In some cases, the cat bounces. In some cases, the cat's numbers are just fine. Either way, it's manageable.
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124

We are all with you on the sleep deprivation. You have to take care of yourself as well as Apollo. I usually go back to bed after giving Tess her AM shot, I know i have a couple of hours before any action starts.
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMPS 124

No 'facts' people, I said it was my theory...and I do tend to faint when my BG's get too low. ;-)
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMBG 124, +15 122

Very nice work this morning, John and so far he's not skyrocketing....really good!! He may cruise here a while from the effects of the previous cycle.

I hope you get some rest. Apollo is doing great and so are you with his management.
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMBG 124, +15 122, +18.5 171

Still holding onto blue. . . :-D

FYI - if you want to move your shot times (earlier), you have the opportunity to do so under these circumstances.
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMBG 124, +15 122, +18.5 171

Hope you got some sleep John! I know you're exhausted but I also think, from watching how Apollo is responding to this, you may have him OTJ or at least completely regulated before many others of us other 'newbies' get ours just into the 'steady' zone! KT's just now really starting to respond, we've been doing this dance for at least 3 weeks longer....

IMHO, you're the top leader in the current 'DWSC' (Dancin' with Sugar Cats) contest.... :-D
 
Re: 10/3 Apollo AMBG 124, +15 122, +18.5 171, +21 308

Squeaky and KT said:
Hope you got some sleep John! I know you're exhausted but I also think, from watching how Apollo is responding to this, you may have him OTJ or at least completely regulated before many others of us other 'newbies' get ours just into the 'steady' zone! KT's just now really starting to respond, we've been doing this dance for at least 3 weeks longer....

IMHO, you're the top leader in the current 'DWSC' (Dancin' with Sugar Cats) contest.... :-D

Hope so! We would both be glad to reach that point sooner rather then later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top