10/29 Sootie 224ambg 173+3 234,220+6.5 247/243+9.5 263pmbg 207+2.5 196+4.5 162+10

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...est-228-5-216-4-213-11-5.167363/#post-1811966

Good morning and with :bighug::bighug: vines for an even keel day for all.

That midnight mirtazapine last night sure did the trick for Sootie and her feeding frenzy buddies , one of whom definitely partook a little from the laced dish of fud when Sootie stopped for a moment to catch her fud breath.

By 2:30/3am, the Romanesque fud fur all wound down with me intending to bg in a couple hours. Oops. Tested ca 7:45 am...224.:( Sootie ate, and she got a 0.05u surprise (tho she hardly noticed being fully focused on fud).

Thanks to the night owls (as seems from this est time zone!) !:bighug: :bighug::bighug:

And tomorrow is the "fall back" part of the time change cycles....
 
I'm glad the mirtazapine helped Sootie eat. I hope she'll keep eating and won't need that little bit of insulin much longer. Sending prayers.

And tomorrow is the "fall back" part of the time change cycles....
It's actually next weekend, November 6th.
 
I'm glad the mirtazapine helped Sootie eat. I hope she'll keep eating and won't need that little bit of insulin much longer. Sending prayers.

Hope so too. The joy, both in seeing her eat well with gusto out in the open and accepting...enjoying the company of her bff's all the while, gladdened my heart with happy tears.

Thanks, too, for correcting me on the upcoming time change! Must be my age catching up with me, haha, or the old "stress and limited REM's wreaking havoc on brain's orientation syndrome" !!
 
Thanks, too, for correcting me on the upcoming time change! Must be my age catching up with me, haha, or the old "stress and limited REM's wreaking havoc on brain's orientation syndrome" !!
It's confusing this year because Oct. 31 is Monday. That throws things off one week. It would normally be this weekend. You're not the only one that has been confused. I had to look it up to make sure.
 
Kind of like moveable holidays....glad I'm not the only one in that boat!

BTW: just did Sootie's +3: 172 is :confused:.... but how about :cool: for good luck?
Sure is better than :nailbiting: and we're glad to be back in the blues again.
 
Sootie's +6.5 (at ca 2:30pm est) 234 and 224 (in left ear).:stop: Her face was full of fud nibbles, evidence she'd recently been snacking more on breakfast.

Thinking ahead (or thinking options)...for tonight pm..loathe as I am to pm dose for several reasons, tonight may well be one of those nights to nudge the blue and green balls rolling.
if she is still in the yellows, thinking another 0.05 (meaning half of 0.1u) at pmps.
If she happens to be in blue at pmps, thinking droplet or repeat am's 0.05u She tends to go lower at night but at these #s I doubt risking nighttime hypo with droplet or 0.05 even if she is in high blues coming down from yellow?
 
I think I would give the same dose you gave this morning, unless she gives you an unshootable PMPS (under 50), which I don't expect. It would be nice to get her depot filled and get the numbers evened out a little. Then, hopefully, she'll decide she doesn't really need the juice any more!

ETA: I'm so happy to hear Sootie is eating and you aren't seeing any concerning side effects from the Mirtz. ECID for sure, and this time it's great!
 
Last edited:
Hi Tricia, thank you.
I'll retest in about 1/2 hr (it being about +9.5). Removed all fud after +6.5 hoping to give her bod some time to stabilize w/o likely pretty constant bits of fud intake.

About Mirtz effects: today the meowzies appeared. Interesting bc she's talkative by nature but hadn't been so at all in recent weeks.

This morning Bella, who'd partaken a bit of of Sootie's laced food, was zonked out as if sated or hung over. Dancer about the same. Sootie been revved for fud fud and more fud. Mood elevation with appy absolutely, yet sometimes it's as if she feels it's beyond her control...as if she's kinda stoned and grooved in a 24/7 bring on the brownies state of mind.
 
Yea for eating! (Love the image of the face crumbs!)

I also would be inclined to hold the dose. The more stable the dosing the easier it is for the depot to find it's equilibrium and show what the dose can do. My thoughts.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Marilyn and Tricia,
Sounds like a plan...Sootie's +9.5 (5:37 and retest 5:44pm est): 247 and 243. :banghead:
Did just offer her snack of wet fud, ate about 1/8 cup before Bella and Dancer horned in to Sootie's front room. Heard a Sootie meowzies. They didn't stay long. (Dancer having barfed on bed linens about fifteen minutes earlier). Was my turn to change the sheets speedy-like.

I'll recheck at pmps and do the 0.05u (barring any drops to the greens ...I'll
Ask...or the 50's won't shoot and will update. )

Thanks again, appreciate you hanging in there with us and :bighug::bighug::bighug:vines from all of us.
Sina
 
Sootie's pmbg (at 7:41pm est) = 263.
Was on track to dose 0.05u. Not on fence about changing dose (and don't want to increase at night) but am doing a big what's going on, Sootie???

With all she's been through recently, health and with Bo's passing this week, that she's been on eating frenzy since 'trial' midnight dose of mirtazapine (and now pretty tuckered out):

too much Food? That's my fault but first time she's eaten avidly in days and days...

Something about the mirtazapine (one of side effects can increase blood pressure.) are high blood pressure and higher glucose often hand-in-hand?

Something about reintroducing insulin?
 
Good questions. No easy answers. I could make a case for any and all of your thoughts on the reasons. Her world has been rocked in several ways, so no wonder everything's out of kilter. I think you'll just have to follow her lead and try not to overanalyze it too much. Just my thoughts.

Why do you suspect a fur shot? Did you smell insulin? Sometimes there's a little on the needle that gets on the fur, so you smell it. Get a +2 and that may give you an idea if it all went in or not.
 
Thanks Tricia. Yes her life recently has been full of upheavals on top of not feeling well. Thank you for understanding and keeping that in mind.
Ididn't think to try to smell insulin on her fur. It was the tactile feel when I retracted needle. The feel of no cutaneous 'resistance' if that makes any sense. and I was in an awkward position causing sudden muscle spasm that surged when I did the shot.

Yes will recheck around 10pm est. and as needed. This evening she seemed mellow, almost relieved, with appy frenzy subsiding. Perhaps the mirtazapine is wearing off. If appropriate to dose again (next time would be Monday) think I'd do lower dose. Will update with vet on Monday and also ask him about the Cypro you mentioned yesterday and about Ondansetron for nausea too.
Hoping for a peaceful night for all and greens and blues the operative theme for all too.
 
207@ +14.5 (10:48pm est). Oops should be @ +2.5 bc did pm dose.
& 1-2 tsp fud & FD topper (chicken)

Tricia,
Think test more throughout the night?
Think more fud every 3-4 hrs?

Thanks, Sina
 
Last edited:
I'm noticing on your ss that today, for example, there is about a 1/2 hour gap in between the preshot test and giving insulin. Is there a reason? You probably know that with Lantus, unlike the quick acting insulins, you have a couple of hours before the insulin is likely to onset. That means that it isn't essential that she eat before you give the shot. As long as she isn't sick, you might find it helpful to try to get the test and shot closer together. Most people do it within about 5 minutes.

Think test more throughout the night?
Think more fud every 3-4 hrs?
I'm not Tricia, but we all answer regardless of who is asked, lol. I'd feed as you normally do and get one more test right before you go to bed. Compare the next test with the previous one and see how fast she is dropping. Use that as a guideline to help you figure out if you need to test again tonight, and if so, when that might be. Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour - and for example with Lantus, it usually starts its action about +2, so there might very well be little drop between preshot test and +2. But looking at how quickly a cat is dropping can help you determine what to do next.

Hope that helps some.
 
Hi Sina.

Sorry. I had to run out to the grocery store so I could fix dinner.

I agree with Julie that you should feed as normal and get at least one more test tonight. That will tell you if you need to set an alarm or give higher carb food. The only thing for sure about FD is that is is unpredictable. I have a feeling that is because of the "F" in FD! :rolleyes: Cats love to drive us crazy trying to figure out what they will do next!

BTW, I don't think it was a fur shot!
 
Julie and Tricia
Thanks. Let's see if blurry-at-this-hour -me can reply coherently!
1. Glad doesn't look like pm was a fur shot.
2. Julie's question about this morning's 1/2 gap between ambg and shoot: first, appreciate you rereviewing Sootie's SS. This morning was a combo of me being slow, Sootie eating but with changes from the night before (me thinking wanted to be sure she was going to eat more than a bit at a time), and me losing track of things by going in to feed azalea and do her eye drops. yes my pattern has been to shoot Lantus within 5-10 minutes +- of/during feeding when her appy was good (and before this recent iffy appy period including stresses, uti etc). Other times (and in blues/greens mostly I think) when some delay in shoot times, may have been when had question and was holding off for suggestion(s). Either I shot late (and maybe retested before shot?) or skipped dose if beyond window.
3. Thanks for the grounding about nighttime under these circumstances.
MO being go with flow, follow Sootie's lead, crossing paws for blue.
I'll retest in about 1/2 hour (DH says Sootie just ate 3 minnows and her standard process tabs.

Barring any hypos or other surprises, have feeling we're gonna be ok through the night.

And see what the am bg brings... Crossing paws.
Sweet dreams and thanks and :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
196@+4.5 (12:32am) & FD chicken treats. :confused: ! Better than :banghead: !

Thinking will rouse myself and Sootie ca 3-4 am for a little wet fud snack?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top