10/29 Simon PMPS 115 +4 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Thanks for all the well wishes yesterday. My fingers are still bothering me but I didn't type much at work yesterday so they are not as bad.

Meanwhile, Simon keeps having higher numbers. They are not bad overall, but still much higher than I am used to seeing for him. I decided to increase his dose a little today from .50 to .75 to see what happens. When I took Cleo into the vet, he mentioned that some vets are saying that dasuquin can raise bg in some cats. Simon has been on it for about a month and his numbers keep creeping up. I'm interested in hearing if anyone is using dasuquin and if so, have you noticed a change in bg? My vet is also interested because he told me that since I am one of the few clients that hometest on a regular basis, I could help him see if there definitely is a correlation. I wonder if I should get some kind payment for providing him with research data! :lol:

I am off to run errands and then I am going to a cat show that is being held just a few miles from my house. Should be fun! If I bring some cat food cans, I get a discount at the door for the admission price and all the food will go to the no kill cat shelter near me. I am bringing all the expensive food that Simon refuses to eat which is practically a case of food!

Happy Saturday!
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 Dasuquin and BG?

Sorry to hear about your fingers! Here's your condo from yesterday.

There's a little bit of info on glucosamine and BG levels in humans. The early data suggested there may be a relationship between glucosamine and elevated levels. However, it sounds like the relationship is unreliable. It may be an ECID situation.
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 Dasuquin and BG?

haven't used Dasuquin, but when i started alex on Cosequin, i did notice a slight elevation in her numbers for several weeks. however, she seems to have evened out now. the benefits outweighed the temporary increase in numbers.
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 Dasuquin and BG?

I’m glad your fingers got a bit of a break yesterday. I hope you can rest them some more this weekend.

I’m seeing a pattern that may explain why our kitties suddenly turn up their pretty noses at foods they loved yesterday. That rejected food ends up being donated to needy cats. Our kitties are philanthropists!
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 Dasuquin and BG?

Thanks Sienne and Jill for the info. With the increase in Simon's dose, maybe I'll see a little better numbers even if the dasuquin is causing some elevation. I have definitely seen some good results so far from it, so I hate to take him off of it. Maybe like you said, Jill, once it is in his system for awhile, the numbers will even out. Thanks!
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 Dasuquin and BG?

Hi Georgia, glad your fingers are better today. Good luck with the increase and enjoy the cat show. How nice and sweet of Simon to donate his food to the no kill shelter. I like what Linda & Weezer said about our kitties being philanthropists and saving the expensive fuds for needy cats. :-D Maggie is back to eating NV if I hold the dish for her!! :lol: Enjoy your day.
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 Dasuquin and BG?

lucky you! a cat show! i've never even heard of one around here, but maybe i'm not in the loop. good info on the dausequin!
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 +2.5 153 +6 115 Dasuquin & BG?

punkin would be more than happy to eat any and all that any other cats don't want! :-D

georgia, your condo this morning discussing dasuquin sent me into a little online looking - just thought i'd share this with you. i just posted it in punkin's condo, but yours is more on-topic. i would imagine dausequin would be the same.

interesting little bit of info i saw this morning that was new to me - i was googling re: glucosamine and found that people whose cats had chronic cystitis or UTIs without bacterial infection had great success with the glucosamine. the lining of the bladder is "fortified" by the glucosamine. same dosage as for joints - 1 capsule/day for under 10lbs and 2 for 10lbs +. we started punkin on it about a week ago - can't tell yet if it's making a difference.
 
Re: 10/29 Simon AMPS 163 +2.5 153 +6 115 Dasuquin & BG?

I'm glad you are better today, Georgia and hope each day has your hands doing better and better.

Glad someone gave you the info on the dasuquin/BG possible connection. And yes...you are right..you should get a break in vet bills for providing him info to do a paper on :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cat shows = danger for Simon and Cleo if mamabean finds an irresistable kitten to bring home. That's where we first fell in love with Scottish Folds and got Teddi Bear and then later Max. :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Simon PMPS 115

I'm back from the cat show and Simon is posting a pretty nice PMPS with the little increase in dose.

Linda, I loved your comment about our kitties being philantropists since we are donating all the food they won't eat to the cat shelters. Maybe Simon can get a tax write off! They were very appreciative of the expensive food I gave them.

Julie, thanks for the info on the glucosomine. Very interesting about the UTI's and glucosomine. I just put Cleo on dasuquin and she is notorious for getting UTI's. Maybe this will help. And next time, I will ship all the food Simon doesn't like to Punkin!

Marjorie, yes the cat show was a very dangerous place to be with all the very cute kitties. I also fell in love with the Scottish Folds...so adorable. I watched the finals for the best kitten in show and a gorgeous Maine Coon 3 month old won. They also had cat adoptions through the no-kill shelter that was getting the donations from the show. There was a little grey kitty that looked so much like Simon...I wanted her so bad but with 2 "special" kitties at home, my DH would have killed me! Instead, I filled out some paperwork to do some volunteer work for the shelter since it is so close to my home.
 
Re: 10/29 Simon PMPS 115

Great to hear that you are feeling better Georgia!

Good luck with the dosecrease, but it looks like Simon is already putting it to good use. What a fun day at a kitty show. It would be way too tempting for me and I don't need any more animals. DH already jokes that we are running a nursing home since all the furbabies are getting older. :lol:

Have a wonderful evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top