10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 +2 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127598

Surprised to see him low today after both the vet trip and being high last night, although he did have a pretty good sized puke last night so that might have something to do with it. He did eat breakfast after a little encouraging- I used a medium carb food to mix in his raw instead of his usual low carb and I did shoot a slightly skinny .5u just because he's a little low. Now that I finally got a timed feeder I'll be able to leave him two small meals for later today.

So the vet trip did go fairly well, although we don't have any definite answers until his blood work comes back either later today or early tomorrow. Basically whatever comes back, he's going to end up going for an ultrasound one way or another. I talked with Dr. Cooper at length about the vomiting (how often, texture, etc), the possibility of pancreatitis, gallstones, IBD, etc... her main concern at what could be going on is if there was mineral debris further up his biliary tract that could have made its way down into the bile duct. Not gallstones (she doesn't think they could form + obstruct that quickly from his surgery), but still enough to upset his whole system.

We discussed the snap test from the other vet and she was fairly willing to believe it actually was a negative reading given despite the vomiting (and the nausea which has been going along with it) that he probably doesn't have pancreatitis right at this time. We opted to check the liver as the primary source for problem instead, given his history. They did a "senior" health screen which basically is a full blood work and urine test to get an idea of what's going on across the board, but whether the levels come back normal or not she did suggest an ultrasound on Thursday would probably be the next step.

I asked about cerenia for nausea when she mentioned sending something home for him and she said that she's had better luck with anzemet in cats she's seen... I haven't really seen or heard of it on here but they gave him a dose while he was there and sent me home with one for tomorrow and Thursday morning and he was more than willing to eat, so it must be working lol. Overall she said that aside from the vomiting/nausea he looks really well and actually has gained weight from the last time we were in for the very first BG curve we have on our SS... which is good that he's not losing weight, at least. She was very pleased with him coming down on his insulin dosage as well and was happy to hear that I've been diligent on that on my own time.

Sorry for the novel of a post... I'll update when I hear back from her on his blood work and when I end up going back on Thursday I'll see if I can get a copy of it for myself as well.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 (back from vet!)

i'm glad you wrote all the details - you might either copy and paste it (reduce the font size) into your comments section of the spreadsheet, or put a synopsis of it in there. I also used to paste the link of important condos into the comments section of my ss so I could go back later.

Haven't heard of that med, but my fingers are crossed that it works for Shylo. Glad he ate a little bit this morning.

Let us know what results you get from the testing.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 (back from vet!)

This vet is actually great Julie because she types up a discharge summary for every visit... makes it really easy to remember what was discussed and etc. These guys are typically more of a referral veterinarian and usually just jump right into the "all out" option but given Shylo's history and etc she was more than happy to just start with blood work for me and go from there. (a little easier on my wallet and my sanity, hahaha).

I tested his +1 given his lower preshot and it looks like he's come up a little bit which is nice. He's begging from treats right now (he likes to sit right in front of where I keep them), but I have the feeder set up and ready to go so he can deal and wait for that. P:

And thank you Angela!! You as well.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 (back from vet!)

I looked up Anzemet and it looks like it's in the same class of drugs as ondansetron. The drug name is Dolasetron - looks like slightly different formulation. I found it referred to on Tanya's Chronic Kidney Disease, which is a really good site with accurate information. We often refer people to this site if their cats are having kidney issues. That may not apply to Shylo, but still I wanted to give you the link for the discussion about vomiting, nausea, its causes, and this particular drug. I'm linking to the point where the drug is mentioned, but there is a lot of good info on this page and it's probably worth you scrolling to the top and reading the whole page. Feline CRF, nausea & vomiting
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 (back from vet!)

Hi Emiily:

Your vet sounds very thorough and very open-minded. Just the kind we need with an FD kitty! The Ophthalmologist I took Cinco to and the people at UCD all do those wonderful summaries. I just love them, as I have a terrible memory and forget half the things we talked about before I get home!

I'm glad Shylo is eating and keeping it down so far today. I hope the timed feeder works out well for him.

Sending good vines for the BW and ultrasound.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 (back from vet!)

Thanks guys... unfortunately the vet called me with Shylo's blood work and it's not great. ): The good news is she's almost positive it's not a biliary obstruction or pancreatitis. Bad news is that his liver levels are elevated by nearly 18x what they should be. At this point she thinks it's cholangiohepatitis (I think this is the spelling) and actually wanted him brought in through the ER tonight so they could start him on an IV. I'm working until late but they said he should be alright overnight, so I'm bringing him back first thing tomorrow morning for an ultrasound. They asked to have me bring his canned food and insulin with him because they don't know how long he'll be there until they look at the ultrasound and see how bad it is.

I know what-ifs aren't the way to think, but I'm definitely kicking myself for not going back to this vet right away when he started the vomiting. ): My poor baby just can't seem to catch a break.

Fingers crossed for a good appetite tonight at least, and good vibes for tomorrow. Totally beside myself right now and they won't even let me leave work early. P:
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 (blood work update)

I had to coax him a little with freeze dried food on top but dinner appetite seems ok at least... added a little extra water to make sure he's staying hydrated but he seems to be mowing down on everything. No puke when I got home either (hopefully he keeps everything down tonight).
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 (blood work update)

Hi Emily, so sorry you got some bad news for Shylo. I'm sending lots of vines your way! It sounds like you have an excellent vet on your side, so hopefully, he'll be in better shape soon. Keep us posted.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 (blood work update)

Thank you, Deanna! I feel l ike it's been one bad thing after another with Shylo recently and I mostly feel bad that he has to get poked and prodded at so much. ): We'll get through this. This vet is really great and I wish she had her own practice instead of just being at the referral hospital, hahaha.

Dinner disappeared completely, though! That's always a good sign.

edit; I should say dinner disappeared completely and now he's looking for more, lol... he'll have to wait for his snack at +1. P:
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 (blood work update)

I know the feeling :sad: The poking and prodding is really a bummer, but ultimately, it leads to them feeling better overall. That's what I keep reminding myself. You will get through this like you said! It's great that he made dinner disappear :smile: I hope you both have a nice night, and I hope tomorrow goes well.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 (blood work update)

I'm very glad he's eating!

Are you saying his ALT is about 1800? What about his AST, bilirubin, GGT, and alkaline phosphatase? I'd be sure that I Always get a copy of his labs and I'd track them. You can see Gracie's on the lab tab on her SS.

Here's some good info on cholangiohepatitis which is now often referred to as cholangitis. It's inflammation of the liver but often involves the bile duct as well. In a cat, the bile duct is short and connects the small intestine, liver, and stomach. It is easy for bacteria to come up the bile duct from the small intestine. There are several causes for cholangitis.

Does he have any jaundice? You can check the whites of his eyes and see if they are yellow.

Gracie has had an intermittent elevated ALT but it's never been over 392. She's not had any symptoms of cholangitis other than occasional small, clear vomit. The IM specialist put her on ursodiol and denamarin. I know Shylo is on ursodiol; I'd talk to the vet about denamarin.

The last bout with this for Gracie started in July. Her ALT was 392. She was already on ursodiol, he added denamarin, and water soluble liquid Vitamin E. I could originally only find Twin Labs with glycerine and it drove her BG sky high. I stopped it but not before the liver values were down to 117 in one month! She was off the vit E for close to a month, we rested and her ALT was back up to 292. I found the product above (it has no glycerine) and started giving it. It does not affect her BG. In two weeks, her ALT is 129.

I would suggest you discuss this with the vet. Although Vit E is a fat soluble vitamin, this water soluble liquid vit E is what is needed for the liver support. I tried regular vit E after the Twin Labs and it had no effect.

Fluids are a great idea. Paws crossed he will improve and they can give you an idea of what's going on.
 
Re: 10/29 Shylo AMPS 96 +1 149 PMPS 211 (blood work update)

Thank you so much Marje... when I drop him off tomorrow I'm going to get a copy if I'm awake enough to remember then! I'll get it one way or another. It doesn't look like he has any jaundice that I can see, and the vet didn't make note of it earlier (which I guess is good? ).

I'll definitely ask about the vitamin e.

Shylo scarfed down his small meal at +2 without any problem, so thankfully he at least is feeling well enough tonight. Going to crawl into bed now so I can drag myself up at 6am, hahaha.
 
Sending more healing vines your way. It does sound like a terrific vet. I get mine to email me the lab results whenever I get them. Makes things much easier. I'll be sending more good vetty vines for you tomorrow and hoping for good results on the scan.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top