10/29 Shanga AMBG -277, +3 143 +4 378

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pallid

Member Since 2011
Hello Guys,

Yesterday,
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55252

As all you know that was a long day for me and Shanga yesterday.
I went to my vet today... I told everything about last night and said It was over dose for Shanga...
and Her face changed in a sec and she said: I was not the one who has a diabetic cat so she knew how to treat...
I stayed calm. I told her I dont want to use insulin anymore if it would be that way...and also said starting with lower dose would be better for shanga....
She said I did panic more than enough , and she said I wanted to use insulin on shanga, she didnt.(then I asked BG 492 was not enough to start insulin for her) and she added that Insulin was not something that I could start and leave. I said I just didnt want to give 2 units, If that would go that way, I wanted to use pills...
She said She would make it 1 unit... She didnt give a shot to Shanga today because he didnt get so high BG. (I wouldnt let her though)
I took the insulin from her to home..... I feel safe finally.
I just didnt want to hurt her but as you see she hurt me...So if I would show the documents her just think what would happen...
I told her today, people used twice a day of insulin on cats. She said ONCE A DAY...
Stayed calm and back to home... Actually I was so happy that she didnt shot him today... and taking insulin to home... Such a relief...
I researched the vets again and I finally find one who has same ideas with you... She uses Lantus on cats... I have an appointment on Monday...
She said if Shanga has high blood sugar like 250-300 until Monday told me to shot him with 1u Lantus... Because we have no those syringes here. But we will find a way to give him 0.5 u...
It's the story of today...
I didnt bother Shanga too much today... He had really hard time last time with me...He is sleeping now, I am feeding him every 2 hours and 30min so I can keep his blood sugar low...
Hope everything will be good for my babyboy.... I am tired all of these but I think he is so much more than me.
Thank you,

Love and Hug
 
pallid-

it's so very hard, isnt it?
hard to know what is best for your kitty...hard to have a vet treat you shabbily...
and hard not to believe that maybe they are right since they are supposed to be the experts in animal care.

Sending you virtual hugs from far away, and hoping that you and Shanga get some peaceful rest
and feel ever so much better when you wake.

celi & binks

20110220_an01_020.jpg
 
Pallid,
BIG BIG BIG HUG for you. You've been thru such a battle just trying to help Shanga - I REALLY admire you for doing all of this. I'm so glad you found another vet for him. I know you're so tired but now relieved that you can control the amount Shanga gets.

I can't imagine doing all of this you've done the last few days. You've been exhausted, worried, scared and still provided such good information in wonderful english, a second language for you. You're one amazing person! I'm proud to 'know' you. THANK YOU for taking such good care of Shanga. I think the vets are learning something from you even if they act angry. They must have very big egos.

Hugs,
 
I'm glad you found a vet who seems more knowledgeable. I hope that you can communicate and you are treated like a partner. Many people here have had problems with their vet. The vets seem to forget that we're paying them. They should be working for us.

I do think 1.0u is still too much insulin. Jill had suggested a dose of 0.1u -- there's a picture in your previous condo or in the New to the Group sticky note. What I would suggest is getting U100 3/10cc syringes. If you can find them with half unit markings, great. If not, it's OK. You can take a syringe and practice getting the dose you want. I'd use a colored liquid so you can see when you're practicing. Once you have drawn up the dose as accurately as you can, save the syringe. (You can mark the amount with tape around the syringe barrel, nail polish, etc. You can then use that syringe as a comparison with the one you will actually be using with insulin. This should help you to dose as consistently as possible.

Please talk to the new vet about the relationship between interferon and diabetes. It may be important to know about this relationship in order to manage Shanga's diabetes while your using interferon.
 
Hi Pallid !
So happy to hear you found a vet that is a bit more agreeable. Hopefully she has a more open mind (and less ego) ;-)
Remember - Shanga is YOUR cat. You get to decide on the recommended treatments. If you have questions for the vet she needs to provide answers

Don't worry about the other vet - your intention was not to hurt her, your intention was to get her to work with you to best help Shanga.
Her ego is probably hurt.

I think 1u is too much for Shanga. 0.5u may be too much too. Start with 0.1u. You can always raise the dose after a week, if needed. You don't need any more drama!
Can you post or link us to a pic ofo the syringes available to you?
Have your ss updated with feeding times and BG numbers, print out a copy and bring it along. Explain to her, showing her the data, how his BG comes down after he eats.
Print out a copy of the veterinary study, the one Sienne provided you with the link to.

I wonder what she will think of Shangas mouth problems? She may have a different opinion than the last vet.

You are doing great Pallid !
 
Dear mybuddybinks,

Yes,It's.... It's really hard....You know what is the worst??? Feeling desperate... Feeling desperate because of the vets here...
I feel like something sit really heavy on my chest and dont let me to breathe...
As always I said If I wouldnt find this forum and friends like you I would be completely lost...
Thank you for supporting , thank you for the nice words, :) I feel so much better with you guys :)

and

Dear Squeaky and KT,

Awww Thank You for the nice words, They touch my heart and can not stop tears again :)
I was talking to mum today How amazing people you are... Howmuch I feel lucky :)
You said very well... Some people have BIG EGO... But I think its the worst thing to have if you work for human or animal health...
I am done with that vet... I have been friend with her... She helped me with my cats who live on the streets but I am really done...
I had really hard time since months because of her... Shanga has diagnosed with eosinophilic granuloma 7months ago. ( Shanga has stomatitis but she just dont accept it, but stomatitis treatment is same with it so I stopped to talk about it months ago) I have been down since 7 months and I feel so much worse since he has diagnosed with diabetes...
I am very hopeful that I found out a new vet today... She seemed great. We talked on the phone and she was so helpful... :)
I wish I could bring her Shanga long ago... I hope all the kitties here will feel great soon... I pray for that all the time... :)

Thank You very much being there for us :)

LOVE and HUG
 
Dear Sienne and Gabby,

I was thinking same thing, May be that's why i can not sleep... I want to start with 0.1 u... But we dont have these syringes here...
I told the new vet today about it, she asked his lbs and she calculated and said 1u is ok with Shanga. I told her about 0.1u and she said that we didnt have those syringes here and adjusting the 0.1u right can be impossible... But I am gonna bring her how we can make it 0.1 u... I am gonna bring her the documents about how i can get the dose i want...
We have those here

http://www.medikalstore.com/vitrin/product_info.php/products_id/938

If you hit the pic then it will be bigger...

Thank You for informing me about how i get he right dose... I ordered this syringes,( couldnt find them in the pharmacy) and can not wait to practice :)
I wrote down everything about Shanga... I am gonna ask everything... I decided to quit Interferon actually. He is on the 6th day and tomorrow i will give him last time... If you have any document about Interferon I would love to have it, I want to bring all documents there on Monday...
Because Shanga has been a victim of not dealing or not agreeing with the vets... I dont want to live samething again and over again...

Thank You for everything... I really have no words to tell... Thank You

LOVE
 
Dear Sandy and Black Kitty,

I am so hopeful about the new vet.She was very concerned with Shanga... But I still dont feel completely relieved... Because of the dose...
Starting with 1u is too much for Shanga but I hope when i talk to her face to face she will understand me...
And about the other vet... I dont know why I am like that but I just dont know how im gonna tell her that i found another vet... She helped me with other cats that I found on the streets several time... I appreciate it... and so I want to do it without hurting her....I already have 2 cats at her clinic now who live in the street... Anyways, I'll found a way :)
Everything is for Shanga's health now...
I will ask about everything.I hope she can cure shangas mouth. Im gonna see on Monday...:)
Im gonna bring all documents ... I already wrote down everything about Shanga and now just for Monday...

Thank You my friend, Thank you for leading me on this path :)

LOVE&HUG
 
pallid, you have done wonderfully! good for you for standing up for shanga - he counts on you to be his advocate! i think you have a winner with the new vet.

it will always be your hand on the syringe, so you can give the dose you want. if the vet wants to give a shot, you can say that you want to give the shot at 7pm monday night so that you can be on a 12 hour schedule, so she can just show you without giving shanga the shot.

when you get your syringes, you can practice with those new syringes. 0.1 is just a drop or so. maybe someone who has done tiny doses can tell you how many drops that is. those syringes in the picture are still bigger than the ones we use, so you'll probably need to count drops.

i do what jill suggested whenever we have anyone else give the shot. i have a sample syringe that has colored water in it showing what the dose is. you could keep that for comparison.

you are doing so well! we're all so proud of you! it's great to have you as a friend!
 
Hello julie & punkin, :)

I feel so much better :) I will have to practise all day long tomorrow. I have to find this syringes tomorrow because its sunday and my order wont come...
I am excited and really can not wait to practice...
You all are my heros :)
I am so glad to have you too...

BIG HUG :)
 
i just read the rest of your condo from yesterday. i am so glad you and Isil have each other and can support each other - even if you are living far apart! it sounds like your situation with vets is worse than in the US, but even here we have a lot of that.

my brother-in-law (married to my husband's sister) told me i could get 100 more than looked just like punkin at the humane society. he's right, of course, but i choose to keep punkin! most people here don't give insulin to diabetic cats. most vets don't treat very many diabetic cats. my vet didn't know how to treat punkin, so i learned on here and i told him what i wanted to do. there are vets in the US that understand and treat cats with diabetes, so we can find someone - but we also have to work at it. and MANY people think we're all a bit crazy to NOT euthanize a cat with diabetes. one of my close friends' cat was diagnosed at almost the same time as punkin - she euthanized him. that is probably the most common thing people do.

slowly i think the internet is giving people another option - they find FDMB and they learn that a cat can be treated. changes happen one person at a time.

you & isil have done the best thing you can do - you have educated yourselves and are teaching others - even if it doesn't look like it. the vet you saw today - she will think about what you said, even if it doesn't seem like it. you don't need to worry anymore. you absolutely have done the right thing, pallid.

big hugs back at ya!
 
This is some of the information that's available.


This is a paper that deals with the pharmacology of interferon-omega. It's a form of interferon that was developed specifically for cats and dogs. It's very technical. Basically, there are concerns about it's relationship to diabetes.

Roferon: This is the package insert information for this medication. If you go to the link for the USA, it will pull up the information. Beginning on line 307, there is mention of Roferon causing hyperglycemia, as well as on lines 616, 844, and 912.
 

Attachments

Dear Sienna and Gabby,

Thank you very much about the information. I want to stop giving interferon...
I was reading for days about interferon and that site that you sent has great info.
I have some questions and I am gonna write them under shangas new condo...

Thanks,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top