10/29 Sev, AMPS 164 (new meter) 1 Unit, +3 152, +6 161, PMPS 193, 1 unit, +3 134 (keto 1.7)

Sevytheking

Member Since 2025
Good Morning!

Yesterday's Post - 10/28 Sev, AMPS 143 1 Unit, +5.5 84., PMPS 141 (new meter), 1 unit, +3 118

So, finally made the switch to a good meter! My old True Metrix Air gave me a 115 last night (my lowest PS number ever), but the new meter read 141. This morning new meter was 164 and my old one was 143. (just for reference) I decided to switch to the ReliOn Premier because the True Metrix Air just got way too pricey, needed too much blood, and the constant error messages were seriously stressing me out. Definitely do not recommend that one anymore.

He’s looking good and eating well! His water intake has gone way down since switching to the low-carb wet food and starting insulin. Now I’m just trying to figure out if I should keep him at 1 unit since his numbers seem pretty stable.

photo_4904571400853588782_y.jpg (the cone helps with the blood testing.... but mostly because he’s just too cute🎃)
 
Hi, Severus is looking good. You have helped him so much by switching his food to the low carb wet diet. It’s amazing what that can do for a cat just in and of itself.

Has anyone ever talked to you about what is called meter variance? The glucose meters are permitted to have a variance of about 20 percent— meaning that you could test the same drop of blood and get a reading +/- 20 percent. So a reading of 200, for example, could be 240 or 160. In actual practice, I rarely see variations that great, but it can happen. This is why we are looking for patterns and trends in BG more than individual numbers— or perhaps I should say we look at the big picture as well as individual numbers.
 
As for his dose, have you had a chance to read through the ProZinc dosing methods yet? How you want to proceed depends upon your goals for Severus. The two dosing methods are Start Low Go Slow and the Modified ProZinc Method. SLGS is good if you just want to get him regulated on insulin and MPM is preferred if you would like to try to get him into remission. However, I should also ask about your schedule: are you able to get a few tests each cycle (well, at least one test other than the preshot test?) or are you frequently gone for long periods of time?
 
Hi, Severus is looking good. You have helped him so much by switching his food to the low carb wet diet. It’s amazing what that can do for a cat just in and of itself.

Has anyone ever talked to you about what is called meter variance? The glucose meters are permitted to have a variance of about 20 percent— meaning that you could test the same drop of blood and get a reading +/- 20 percent. So a reading of 200, for example, could be 240 or 160. In actual practice, I rarely see variations that great, but it can happen. This is why we are looking for patterns and trends in BG more than individual numbers— or perhaps I should say we look at the big picture as well as individual numbers.
Yes! I’ve heard about meter variance, but I’m still trying to really wrap my head around it and get familiar with how it all works. That made a lot sense.
 
As for his dose, have you had a chance to read through the ProZinc dosing methods yet? How you want to proceed depends upon your goals for Severus. The two dosing methods are Start Low Go Slow and the Modified ProZinc Method. SLGS is good if you just want to get him regulated on insulin and MPM is preferred if you would like to try to get him into remission. However, I should also ask about your schedule: are you able to get a few tests each cycle (well, at least one test other than the preshot test?) or are you frequently gone for long periods of time?
So I really want to get him into remission, so I’m thinking MPM will be the way to go. I’m going to read up on it more so I fully understand the testing schedule and timing. I work from home, so I’m able to monitor him pretty often and don’t usually go out for long periods of time. I also have a great support team ☺️ that’s offered to help with monitoring if there’s ever a long stretch where I can’t be around.
 
I do find it interesting that it seems like the Relion is reading consistently higher (assuming Sev’s just not having a high cycle) than the other human reader Joha was using.

I was talking with Joha about this outside of this thread, but she was seeing Sev still pee a lot even when he was in the 90-110 range on the old meter. I’m wondering if he was potentially higher in reality than that meter indicated and was still above the renal threshold. I’m glad you made the switch to the Relion, Joha! A lot of folks here use that one and it is cheap and strips are easily available if you need any in a pinch.
 
Back
Top