10/29 Rusty vetty visit. PMPS 223, +4.5 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107109

After his yellow "rest" day, Rusty is back on track this morning. It is 19 degrees outside, a hard frost, and our kitty was snuggled in his part of the quilt (the very center, of course) with his head on his little green pillow. He ate all his nighttime food and this morning we had a good test, good shot, breakfast (first sitting), lung treat, and a nap in his little bed by the radiator. We didn't have time for a schmooze yet, because I had to take Edward to his yoga class (and scrape the frost off the car windows first). They say it will be 60 degrees tomorrow!!! :lol:

We all watched the game last night and were so happy that the Red Sox won.

Gotta get caught up with what is happening on the board. The World Series has put a crimp in my schedule. Today is a travel day for the teams, as the Series will resume tomorrow night in Boston.

Wishing all a fine day and continuing to send good thoughts and healing vines to all kitties in need of some,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

19?????????????? Way too cold! hard frost and freeze for sure. I can only imagine on the window scraping. It sounds like winter is on its way there... oh wow on the change for tomorrow! Back to fall... and sun!

It is nice to see Rusty with a such a nice amps. YAY! Love those yellow resting days. One just knows good things will follow. :cool:

Enjoy your day today. I hope all goes well. And Rusty - surf well!

Auntie Ella! That is way too cold there. I will be back with more hot ~O) ~O) ~O) and some to go cups in case you have to go out. They are insulated, and no way will that ~O) get cold! See ya! ~~ Elsa, Lil BIT, kitteh barista
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123

Looks like the LagoonMeister is on the shore :-D .
Stay warm, Ella! And thanks for the support this morning :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123

Hi guys .. burr, 19 is cold!! We've hit upper 20's here and that was cold enough .. hard to believe worse stuff is on it's way .. I'm sure rusty will enjoy his radiator today! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123

our kitty was snuggled in his part of the quilt (the very center, of course) with his head on his little green pillow
:lol: :lol: :lol: That made me laugh. Of course our kitties have the same type of setup. They are all a little spoiled.

Nice blue start and way to kick that yellow to the curb. Brrrrrrr. That is too cold for me. Hope you have a great day Ella!!
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123

Come on Rusty, it's a new day, a day that's perfect for the Lagoon!

WOW! 19º already! A "hard frost" for us is 25º and in the middle of winter!

Rusty! Come on in! The water's great, much warmer than where you are! -- Tess
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--to & back from vet-- +5.5 100

Hi again,
We decided to take Rusty to the vet to have her check on his having scratched the area on his head behind his ear so much that the fur is gone. The skin is not inflamed or irritated. She suspected an ear infection and observed a slight redness/inflammation on the ear drum. So we have an ear wash called Epi-Otic (made by Virbac Animal Health) and an Otibiotic Ointment (made by Butler Schein Animal Health; on the box it says "For Otic use in dogs only" [I assume that this is a precaution against use by humans]). It contains the following: Gentamicin Sulfate USP, Betamethasone Valerate USP, and Clotrimazole USP. We are supposed to use it for 5 days, twice a day (4 drops twice a day, after cleaning with the Epi-Otic).

My question is: Betamethasone Valerate is a corticosteroid (a "synthetic adrenocorticoid") and sounds pretty scary. Sienne, Linda, if you are reading this I would like to know what you think. Is it safe to use? Has anyone here used this medication?

Many thanks!

Ella
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--to & back from vet-- +5.5 100

You might want to PM Sienne or Linda just to be sure they see this. I don't know anything about that particular steroid.

While many vets will say that a topical steroid won't raise the BG, it did with Gracie (steroidal eye drops). I don't know anything about the safety of the betamethasone vale rate in cats.

I hope he feels better and his ear heals quickly. And Brrrrrrrr!
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--to & back from vet-- +5.5 100

Sending healing prayers to Rusty! I hope you get the meds sorted out. Have a great afternoon, Ella!
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--Vet--+5.5 100, +9 133

Hi again,
I went ahead and gave Rusty his ear meds: it could have been worse. I don't think we'll see the Lagoon today!

bbl,

Ella & Rusty

thanks, Marje, I sent Linda and Sienne PMs and will be interested in what they can tell me.
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--Vet--+5.5 100, +9 133

Did the vet do a swab and look under the microscope?

The Otibiotic is a three in one treatment -- antifungal, antibacterial, and anti-inflammatory. Whatever Rusty has going on, it sounds like this will kill it! I'm more familiar with Zymox which contains hydrocortisone or you can get the type that is steroid free. There are, however, some ear infections that need steroids. You'll need to see how Rusty responds and you may need to raise his dose of insulin.
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--Vet--+5.5 100, +9 133

Hey, Ella -

YIKES, 19 degrees?! After the frost a few days ago, today was in the lower 70's - T-shirt and flip flops! :-D

Sorry about Rusty's ear infection; I hope the meds help SOON! Considering the ear infection and vet visit, I'd say his numbers look GOOD today!

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--Vet--+5.5 100, +9 133

Hi Ella,

As others have already mentioned, the betamethasone valerate is a topical corticosteroid. It can be absorbed and may have a systemic effect. I don't know if it will have an effect on Rusty's BG, but it has the potential to do so. Hopefully it will be in a small dose for a short duration and have a minimal impact. If it clears up his ear discomfort, it may be worth it. I think that the antibacterial/anti-inflammatory/antifungal combination is pretty standard for ear infections, and I believe it is generally well tolerated. If there is an infection, you obviously want to control it. If Rusty's BG reacts badly, then I would call and ask if there is an alternative that does not contain a steroid. I hope that his discomfort clears up quickly!
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--Vet--+5.5 100, +9 133

Hi Ella and BRRRRRRRRRRRR!! My air conditioning went out today and I am freaking out :lol: :lol: Were back in the high 80's. Now I know why I'm in Florida!! :lol:
Sorry to hear about Rusty's ear infection. Hopefully the new med will be ok and not raise his BG and he will get better real soon!
Have a great night!
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--Vet--+5.5 100, +9 133, PMPS 223

Thanks Sienne and Linda for your explanations. The vet did not do a swab/ microscope examination. She looked inside his ear with one of those ear loupes/scopes.
Rusty did not enjoy the cleanser I'm supposed to put into his ear first. But he was better with the actual medication. (I used 2 drops, rather than the 4 that the instructions that came with the medicine said to use for "dogs" under 30 lbs, because the drops looked pretty big to me. (The medication is in a tube and has the consistency of melted vasoline.) Rusty is exhausted from his day and has been sleeping it off. Too bad I may have to raise his dose, especially since I just lowered it by .25 U (in three shaves).

Edward just reported that he "showed" Rusty his dinner and that Rusty rushed over to eat it.

Thanks to everyone for your concern. I'll report later.

Ella & Rusty

p.s.: I talked to Roni (Moonie) today on the anniversary of Hurricane Sandy. She sounded good. Busy. It was good to talk with her.
 
Re: 10/29 Rusty AMPS 123--to & back from vet-- +5.5 100

Sorry, Ella, I haven't used any of those ear meds on Tigger. We had 2 Springer Spaniel rescues (GA several years ago) with frequent ear infections & ear mites. If the Epi-Otic is the BLUE solution, it bothered our dog's ears (made them red for an hour after use & caused heavier scratching), so I started using Vet's Best Ear Relief Wash & Dry solutions (2 bottles). The Wash smells heavily of clove, and again this was for DOGS - not sure how well that would translate to a cat, I know they are sensitive to herbs/oils.

I hope Rusty's ear's better soon & the corticosteroids have a minimal impact on BG. Looks like he came sooooo close to the lagoon today (in spite of the vet visit!) & his PMPS is good, too! Paws crossed for you!

I agree - Brrrrrr! glad you got those quilts going!
 
Thanks to everyone for their concern and especially for the information about Rusty's ear medicine. Much appreciated. We are heading off to bed. Rusty seems OK, if a bit subdued tonight (but that is not all that unusual). Tomorrow I'll try to do a better job administering the meds. I hope they work and that they don't cause him other problems.

Ni ni. Tomorrow is a busy day. We are hosting the group's Halloween potluck.

Ella & Rusty
 
I just realized I forgot to post in Rusty's condo. I checked in at work, but didn't get to post and forgot to come back. Sending prayers the meds clear up Rusty's ear infection quickly. Hopefully it won't raise his BG.
 
Hi Ella, Sorry I missed most of this yesterday. I am so glad you were able to g your questions answered. I hope the meds will help get Rusty's ear all fixed up. Good that he seems fine. YAY! I will hope too that it doesn't affect his BG's. Be well soon Rusty!
 
I'm so sorry I missed this yesterday. I hope Rusty's ear heals quick. Lots of healing vines coming. Our drooler, Charlie, has had both of those quite a few times because he has ear issues being a long eared dog. We use the Epi-Otic once a week to keep his ears clear. I know he hates it but it isn't difficult to make him do what we want. (Those droolers are too easy to please.) I can't even imagine trying to do it with one of the kitties. ((((Ella))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top