10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291,+2.5/197+6/71,,+9/112, +11.25/325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
I apologize for no #s in the subject line. I did just finish her ss. Not quite sure what to do shot-wise.
Note: We lost a dog on the 18th quite horribly and I didn't handle it well. There is some time where testing was minimal.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PM+12/123, AMPS~194? forgot to retest b4

I gave Paisley 2.75u at 5am. That's about 15-20 minutes after it was due. I forgot to retest before the shot & food so I grabbed a test just after she had inhaled her food and about a minute after her shot.

Will see what this cycle shows. How frequently should I be testing her given all the greens? She's getting a bit annoyed with testing, especially when it isn't followed with food. Her ears are a bit sad looking.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PM+12/123, AMPS~194? forgot to retest b4

I'm wondering whether you can be a bit more consistent with shot time? I think some of the variability in Paisley's numbers is due to the changing shot times.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PM+12/123, AMPS~194? forgot to retest b4

lol! you're not alone. on occasion i've forgotten to test before feeding, too.
sienne's right about striving for consistency with shot times whenever possible...
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PM+12/123, AMPS~194? forgot to retest b4

HI Lylene, good to see you ~O)

Looks like Paisley has been doing well.
Why the decrease in dose?
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- AMPS~194?, +2.75/357, +6/313

Good to be back, thanks.

Most of the times are actually pretest times off the monitor to help me if I've gotten behind so there is a little more consistency. Mostly it's me not focusing and giving myself enough time to prepare before the shot is due. Some is not being home right on time. Some is stalling. Some is due to the lag time between doing the test, asking for help here, getting it and implementing it. That can be a good half hour at best.

I'm still not real sure about what to do when numbers are low. I'm not certain now I know what low is. I've read the sticky and have tried to follow that, which results in stalling. I'm especially not sure what to do when the preshot is higher but she's had so many greens. Guess I'm still confused. Looking back, I'm not sure why I dropped the dose. On the 10/26 I was so tired and afraid I'd miss if she went hypo. I'd slept through the alarm several times and was trying to be safe. I figured it'd work itself out eventually. I'm terrified of her going hypo and me missing it because I fell asleep and didn't hear the alarm or wasn't home to catch it.

All in all I guess I still am very unsure about what I'm doing, despite reading things over and over. I'm afraid of asking for help too much or asking about something that seems so obvious to others or something that is close to something I'd previously asked but I'm not seeing that it's the same. Sometimes I think I understand something then a situation arises and I'm not so sure. I'll go back and reread a sticky and think I have it but guess maybe I don't. Sometimes I wish I hadn't adopted Paisley, in hindsight. My memory of Barry before he went OTJ was that I knew pretty much what I was doing. Now, not so much. The last thing I want is to hurt her and I feel like I'm not giving her the best care she could have gotten with someone else.

I'm working on getting everything ready so she gets her shot right on time. I'm setting my watch alarm to warn me it's time to get ready and am working really hard on not getting distracted during that time. What is the maximum time between pretest and shot? Is there a preshot number where I should be stalling besides the sticky that says 150? Am I not completely understanding the concept of a "low" number?
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- AMPS~194?, +2.75/357, +6/313

oh, goodness...so terribly sorry about your dog...

and NEVER fear that you are asking too many questions, the wrong questions, or ones that have been answered before.

that's what this forum is all about...people helping people help their furbabies!

hang in there, Lylene...
and we'll all happily hang in there with you!

hugs from me to you...

celi
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- AMPS~194?, +2.75/357, +6/313, +10/248

I second everything Celi said. You're Paisley's angel. Don't beat yourself up.

Hugs from me and Weezer.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- AMPS~194?, +2.75/357, +6/313, +10/248

I'll increase her dose back to 3u at her PM shot. Don't know what I was thinking.

Thanks Celi. Not everyone is so understanding. Social interaction is not my strong point. People frighten me because I don't understand them and what they want. I don't understand why many people can't be bothered with someone who doesn't fit their definition of "normal". I'm finding myself slowly pulling away from people again. I'm tired of being hurt. I'm even pulling away from people who I know care about me because I can't handle any more losses and I know more are on the horizon. The trial for the guy who assaulted me is the middle of December with another pretrial hearing the middle of November. I'm so scared. That, the change of seasons and not feeling well in general just magnifies every other stress. I also know that my retired psych service dog will be leaving me soon and I'll likely have to decide when. It's a big responsibility to be the one to decide when your best friend who gave you your life and saved your life will die.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291

PMPS/291 back up to 3.0u. Got her shot at almost 5pm on the dot. She didn't want to be tested because she wanted the food she saw me putting into her food bowl.

It did help to start preparing at 4:45. Shot & food ready. Lancet pen loaded, padding for behind the ear, monitor and bottle of strips laid out. The little bottle of water to warm her ear was last. I'll have to add time in case she doesn't want to be tested. Maybe 20 minutes before her shot is due. The water was already hot from the tea I'd just made. 20 minutes is probably good. If it's chaotic here, an extra 5 minutes. This is doable.

The only foreseeable problem is if there is an issue with her test result and advice is needed. That shouldn't be too often if I test at +10 or +11 because I should be able to see it coming.

Short nap. Test at +2. Put poultry in lockdown for the night. Make cat food. Looks so simple until cats are added to the equation. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71

+6~71. This is where I start to worry about her dropping too low.

I just finished cutting up 2 chickens and have to run them through the grinder, along with the eggs. I'll mix it up and pull some out for her and toss in a little of supplements so she can eat. I'm using capsule taurine because I forgot to have the hfs order more powder. It's going to take forever to open all those capsules. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71, +7.5/58

+7.5 / 58 Still dropping. nailbite_smile

Fed her a meal of the raw I just finished.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71, +7.5/58

you have a lot on your plate, kiddo.

we'll keep you in our hearts and thoughts!
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71, +7.5/58

yes, you do have a lot on your plate. :YMHUG:
we'll be watching for your next number...
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71, +7.5/58

Pardon my being so brief earlier - wanted to respnd quickly regarding present numbers.
(I'm a very slow typist - I have PD and the least bit of adrenaline gets me really shaking)

You have a lot going on right now - don't be to hard on yourself.
with time this will all make more sense.

You've made good progress with Paisley
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71, +7.5/58, +8/72

+8 was 72.

She's a happy cat. Full belly. Probably a little too full but I was kind of throwing food at cats. Sprawled out on the bed with one paw hanging over the edge, trying to sleep.
I've noticed that when she gets canned food she acts like she's being starved to death and can get downright nasty trying to get more food. She always licks her bowl clean and tries to get molecules that might be in another cat's bowl. Not so with raw. She doesn't lick her bowl clean. Doesn't follow me around. Isn't nasty. Don't know.

Thank you and yes, ready for hypo.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291, +2.5/197, +6/71, +7.5/58, +8/72

mine were the same when i fed raw. i think it might be because the raw is more dense... they're satisfied with less.
that 72 is looking nice. i'd let him have a bit more raw and retest in a half hour. it should be enough to get him up on a surf board...
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291,+2.5/197+6/71,+7.5/58,+8/72,+8.5

+8.5 was up to 87.

I gave her a little more to eat. She's still eating or probably just finishing.

So I should test her at +9 and then, assuming it's still going up, then what? Can she go for a couple hours while I nap? That would put her at +11. Shot due at 5am.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291,+2.5/197+6/71,+7.5/58,+8/72,+8.5

sorry, i was testing and feeding my crew here.
if she's higher at +9 (i think she will be), i would leave some food out for her to nibble on and go to bed.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291,+2.5/197+6/71,+7.5/58,+8.5/87,+9

+9 was 112.

She hadn't finished all her food so I added a bit more and am heading to bed when the drooler gets back in the house.

Thank you all for helping out.
 
Re: 10/29 Paisley- PMPS/291,+2.5/197+6/71,,+9/112, +11.25/32

+11.25 = 325

Big jump. She was still sleeping and hadn't eaten anything more since +9.
Getting ready for AM shot.

Thanks everyone. See you on the AM side :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top