Elise & Gus
Member Since 2022
Hello!
We’ve had drops to some low BGs over the past few days and would love to get some thoughts/advice on what might be going on. Starting off at the top here with some background but feel free to skip ahead to the “questions” portion.
Background:
New member. Gus was just diagnosed one month ago and we’ve been reading many of the posts on here over the past few weeks and have learned a lot, but definitely have more to learn! In addition to diabetes, Gus also has asthma, IBD, hyperthyroidism, and mild heart disease. Profile has a complete list of meds and doses. His diabetes was caused by steroids he was taking for the IBD and asthma, so we are no longer on those. Diet is Blue Buffalo Hydrolyzed dry and wet food and he free feeds throughout the day. Insulin is Lantus. Meter is Alpha Trak 2. We started off at 1 unit every 12 hours and after two different glucose curves done at the vet we are now at 3 units every 12 hours. Overall he’s mostly behaving normal and definitely has improved with the weeks. Hard to say for certain what’s a symptom and what’s normal- might still be slightly fatigued and might be slightly under-eating from his pre-diagnosis self.
Quick Disclaimer:
Having now read a lot more of the posts we are unfortunately light on data. My vet, sadly, is fairly anti-at home testing so we initially delayed on getting a glucometer. After telling her I got one anyway, I asked how often we should test and her response was “occasionally”. So I wasn’t aware of the recommended pre-shooting tests until just a few days ago (sigh). We also skipped days here and there and I have practically no PM readings. At least now I know for the future. On the spreadsheet I only included days I have data for, but let me know if it is helpful to add in days with no data just so gaps in data are more obvious.
Questions:
As you can see from his spreadsheet, Gus was registering high numbers on 1 and then 2 units. 2 units was especially concerning since it actually went up for some reason. Would love if anyone has an idea what might have caused that?
We actually had a third glucose curve scheduled with the vet on 10/26, but due to his more-normal behavior decided to push one additional week to 11/2. Decided to do my own at-home curve on 10/26 instead. Abruptly on 10/26 we dropped down to AMPS 176. (really kicking myself I didn’t do any readings on 10/25). I was actually so shocked to see a number below 300 for the first time it completely freaked me out. At +4 went down to 66- which started to get me even more nervous since vet’s one piece of advice was call if it was below 60. Furiously read posts on this forum all afternoon and skipped insulin that night since PMPS was only 116
Next day back in the 300/400s. And then this morning took a AMPS and it registered at 80. Called vet and confirmed what I had already decided, which was to skip AM shot. As I explained to the vet- I don’t know if I’m just being overly cautious but it seems really jarring we suddenly are so low. Vet also said the 66 number on 10/26 was “concerning”. Vet’s advice was to see what PMPS number is, give insulin depending on number and recheck in morning. He’s back up to 371 PMPS and I will continue to update the spreadsheet, but I would love anyone’s take on what might be going on. My gut says we’re at too high a dose and I’m worried staying at 3 units we will go into hypo one of these times. Can’t get in to see the vet until Wed for another curve sadly. Thanks in advance for any thoughts!
We’ve had drops to some low BGs over the past few days and would love to get some thoughts/advice on what might be going on. Starting off at the top here with some background but feel free to skip ahead to the “questions” portion.
Background:
New member. Gus was just diagnosed one month ago and we’ve been reading many of the posts on here over the past few weeks and have learned a lot, but definitely have more to learn! In addition to diabetes, Gus also has asthma, IBD, hyperthyroidism, and mild heart disease. Profile has a complete list of meds and doses. His diabetes was caused by steroids he was taking for the IBD and asthma, so we are no longer on those. Diet is Blue Buffalo Hydrolyzed dry and wet food and he free feeds throughout the day. Insulin is Lantus. Meter is Alpha Trak 2. We started off at 1 unit every 12 hours and after two different glucose curves done at the vet we are now at 3 units every 12 hours. Overall he’s mostly behaving normal and definitely has improved with the weeks. Hard to say for certain what’s a symptom and what’s normal- might still be slightly fatigued and might be slightly under-eating from his pre-diagnosis self.
Quick Disclaimer:
Having now read a lot more of the posts we are unfortunately light on data. My vet, sadly, is fairly anti-at home testing so we initially delayed on getting a glucometer. After telling her I got one anyway, I asked how often we should test and her response was “occasionally”. So I wasn’t aware of the recommended pre-shooting tests until just a few days ago (sigh). We also skipped days here and there and I have practically no PM readings. At least now I know for the future. On the spreadsheet I only included days I have data for, but let me know if it is helpful to add in days with no data just so gaps in data are more obvious.
Questions:
As you can see from his spreadsheet, Gus was registering high numbers on 1 and then 2 units. 2 units was especially concerning since it actually went up for some reason. Would love if anyone has an idea what might have caused that?
We actually had a third glucose curve scheduled with the vet on 10/26, but due to his more-normal behavior decided to push one additional week to 11/2. Decided to do my own at-home curve on 10/26 instead. Abruptly on 10/26 we dropped down to AMPS 176. (really kicking myself I didn’t do any readings on 10/25). I was actually so shocked to see a number below 300 for the first time it completely freaked me out. At +4 went down to 66- which started to get me even more nervous since vet’s one piece of advice was call if it was below 60. Furiously read posts on this forum all afternoon and skipped insulin that night since PMPS was only 116
Next day back in the 300/400s. And then this morning took a AMPS and it registered at 80. Called vet and confirmed what I had already decided, which was to skip AM shot. As I explained to the vet- I don’t know if I’m just being overly cautious but it seems really jarring we suddenly are so low. Vet also said the 66 number on 10/26 was “concerning”. Vet’s advice was to see what PMPS number is, give insulin depending on number and recheck in morning. He’s back up to 371 PMPS and I will continue to update the spreadsheet, but I would love anyone’s take on what might be going on. My gut says we’re at too high a dose and I’m worried staying at 3 units we will go into hypo one of these times. Can’t get in to see the vet until Wed for another curve sadly. Thanks in advance for any thoughts!