eXaCtLyOf all days for Nelli to be flirting. Just like a cst.

@Olive & Paula, I am not going to test again until 4.5-4.75
Sound ok?
There are 2 ways to earn a reduction when using a human meter : A) When kitty goes under 50 for newly diagnosed( under one year) or under 40 for a kitty DX over one year ago.@Marje and Gracie we are in day seven today. Based upon my understanding of Stickey TR Protocol (“Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.”), she gets a reduction tomorrow?
My only uncertainty is what does normal range mean...what is that?
Thanks-
Remember, the kitty can change his/her nadir anytime they like. Looks like her onset at +2 was her nadir this cycle so far. Bubba used to nadir at +12 in each cycle. Then his numbers would start to climb back up again and then start to come down again around +8 and then go lowest again at +12. Then the 2nd time he was on insulin, he nadired around +5 -6. Now this rodeo, he seems to nadir early around 3-4.What is confusing to me about Nelli’s numbers today is the +2 1/2 being lower than the 3 & 4? I guess probably all three numbers are basically the same number, right? I am getting ready to go home and do a +6 then I might not be as confused!
Where is the nadir?!?
Thank you Bobbie- (but) Nelli is not a long term diabetic.There are 2 ways to earn a reduction when using a human meter : A) When kitty goes under 50 for newly diagnosed( under one year) or under 40 for a kitty DX over one year ago.
B) when kitty stays in the normal range of all green numbers 50 -80 and stays under 100 overall for one week .
Nelli hasn't earned another reduction yet. I have copied the guidelines for you below .
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
- reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
I thought I saw in your signature today 6/21/17......and that was WITH my glasses on......Thank you Bobbie- (but) Nelli is not a long term diabetic.
That is in the above that I sent in post +19 and post #14. My mistake on your DX date, otherwise all the info is taken right from the stickie : New to the group and scroll down to "Where Can I find" .@Jill & Alex (GA) under the TR Protocal Stickey what is “numbers in the normal range”, numbers?
I quote:
“...at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range”
Thanks
Got it, thanks!That is in the above that I sent in post +19 and post #14. My mistake on your DX date, otherwise all the info is taken right from the stickie : New to the group and scroll down to "Where Can I find" .
ThanksNelli is doing so well! So happy for you Krystina!
...
, simply get regulated
... my confusion is when they become regulated that must mean hitting a good does is found and that’s what she will stay with…? Know what I mean jelly bean? he-heIn context, we're talking about seeing mostly BG numbers in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and under 100 mg/dL overall...@Jill & Alex (GA) under the TR Protocal Stickey what is “numbers in the normal range”, numbers?
I quote:
“...at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range”
Thanks
In context?In context, we're talking about seeing mostly BG numbers in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and under 100 mg/dL overall...
Yes, in context: considered together with the surrounding words you've quoted from the sticky.In context?
She hasn't yet met the criteria for decreasing the dose if you're following the TR protocol used in this group:Anyhow, I am confused. Do I keep Nelli at 4.75 now? The guidelines are somewhat ambiguous to me![]()
Ok.Yes, in context: considered together with the surrounding words you've quoted from the sticky.![]()
Fortunately we have the experienced ones to help us.
Thanks. I’ve had problems learning- understanding c.l.e.a.r.l.y, some of the data available here to me.I’m with you Krystina the “ under 100 overall” is a bit ambiguous for me. I like hard numbers, something like “ if 87.3% of the numbers are under 100”.I’m often unsure if Scooter has been green enough. Fortunately we have the experienced ones to help us.
Not Nelli either. I know she would have been signed off, written out...Imagine if we just had a vet to rely upon for dose advise and not his board. I don't think Bronx would even be here still![]()



@Jill & Alex (GA), this is what I read (following) TR protocol regarding reduction- nothing stating “range of a healthy cat (50-80 mg/dL.)”.She hasn't yet met the criteria for decreasing the dose if you're following the TR protocol used in this group:
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
Bailey's fine. We're still on the road so I skipped her dose tonight, and gave her reduced doses the last 3 cycles. Better safe than sorry. Hate those pinks, abnd hoping we get through with no redsHow in the heck is Bailey doin?!?
I'm sorry you're confused. There are so many things to become confused about. Some breeze through the TR protocol without problems. Others, not so much. We all (including those who have put this all together for others) do the best we can. It's difficult at best when we're all coming from different backgrounds. Many have stayed on to help others over these bumps.Forgive me but, furthermore, the information I hadcoming in to this forum, was that normal range is between 50 and 150?
It is confusing and I can’t imagine, confusing only to me?
Thanks![]()
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.
I think maybe what you are thinking is the range when you first arrive to the forum. We tell peeps 50 is the reduction number and don't shot under 150 until you have enough data to know how your kitty responds to shooting lower numbers. I bet this is where your confusion is as to what pertains to the "earning reductions" protocol.coming in to this forum, was that normal range is between 50 and 150
Ok, thanksKrystina
Have you ever read Tilly’s web page which is linked in the sticky on the TR protocol? The first sentence under “4. Reducing the dose” states:
I don’t really see that the two paragraphs you quoted are “tied”. One references how reductions are earned and the other references what we look at in terms of dosing before a cat starts an OTJ trial.
At any rate, right now, Nelli has seen too much blue in the last seven days to have earned a reduction. Patience, Grasshopper![]()
@Jill & Alex (GA) first of all I want to thank you and everyone else that has stayed on to help all of us active FD members. Ive never lost sight or taken for granted the wealth of expertise... the selfless caring about Nelli that flows in abundanceWe all (including those who have put this all together for others) do the best we can. It's difficult at best when we're all coming from different backgrounds. Many have stayed on to help others over these bumps.
. I am graciously thankful, I am, truly.