10/29 Mikan AMPS 214, +2 167, +3 158: PMPS 296

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Member Since 2023
10/28/24

Good morning.

4th cycle at this dose since the increase. Time to work it, Mikan!
I will keep this dose unless she needs a reduction, until her dental is done next Monday. Her dental will be at AM+7. The vet says that i can do the usual feed/shoot in the morning and then no more food from there. She will also use an antiemetic med before anesthesia.

I am nervous about the whole thing. I know it has to be done, but i wish it were my teeth, better yet, DH's teeth, instead of Mikan.

Happy Tuesday and wishing you all a nice day!
 
10/28/24

Good morning.

4th cycle at this dose since the increase. Time to work it, Mikan!
I will keep this dose unless she needs a reduction, until her dental is done next Monday. Her dental will be at AM+7. The vet says that i can do the usual feed/shoot in the morning and then no more food from there. She will also use an antiemetic med before anesthesia.

I am nervous about the whole thing. I know it has to be done, but i wish it were my teeth, better yet, DH's teeth, instead of Mikan.

Happy Tuesday and wishing you all a nice day!
lol and lol on DH’s teeth. Spit out the coffee :p:p:p
Thanks for the chuckle, Kit.
I always feel the same. I can take the hit easier than see Ivy have to go through a procedure anyday (and I’m a terrified patient myself).
Hoping Mikan can work this dose but wise to hang in until the dental is done.
Do you normally feed her any snacks at say +1, +2 or +3, etc.?
If you don’t then the plan for fasting her should work out well for her dental.

Hope you both have a good day and a safe surf for Mikan. Hope both girls have a nice surf today :cool::D
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
lol and lol on DH’s teeth. Spit out the coffee :p:p:p
Thanks for the chuckle, Kit.
I always feel the same. I can take the hit easier than see Ivy have to go through a procedure anyday (and I’m a terrified patient myself).
Hoping Mikan can work this dose but wise to hang in until the dental is done.
Do you normally feed her any snacks at say +1, +2 or +3, etc.?
If you don’t then the plan for fasting her should work out well for her dental.

Hope you both have a good day and a safe surf for Mikan. Hope both girls have a nice surf today :cool::D
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
Hahaha, what a DW I am :p:p:p
Yeah, the plan is a good one to feed/shoot then at probably around +8 the procedure starts. But I have to have some contingency plans as well.
Her snacking really varies depending on her BGs and my schedule (can I monitor, etc).
If her AMPS is lower, I will reduce the dose. And I might just feed her MC then. If she drops big at +2~+5, I can give her a bit of Karo syrup. I should ask the Vet.
Never know what she will do!
Hopefully, things will go as planned without a hitch. :nailbiting:

Hope you and Ivy have a great Tuesday!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Hahaha, what a DW I am :p:p:p
Yeah, the plan is a good one to feed/shoot then at probably around +8 the procedure starts. But I have to have some contingency plans as well.
Her snacking really varies depending on her BGs and my schedule (can I monitor, etc).
If her AMPS is lower, I will reduce the dose. And I might just feed her MC then. If she drops big at +2~+5, I can give her a bit of Karo syrup. I should ask the Vet.
Never know what she will do!
Hopefully, things will go as planned without a hitch. :nailbiting:

Hope you and Ivy have a great Tuesday!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You are a great DW!! :kiss::kiss:
I do think your plan is good, just have contingencies ready since our girls sometimes don't go with "the plan" :eek:

Like last week when Ivy tanked while at the vet when she was fasting and had half a dose of insulin a few hours before the appointment.
Not my best time that day.

Paws crossed she will be a good girl and be very stable!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You are a great DW!! :kiss::kiss:
Thank you! You are too kind! :p
I do think your plan is good, just have contingencies ready since our girls sometimes don't go with "the plan" :eek:
Exactly my sentiment. They are so good at thwarting plans :rolleyes:
Ivy's drop at the vet was a scary one. I hear that general anesthesia can lower BGs - I'll ask them to keep monitoring during the procedure.
I just saw Ivy having a mojito party! :eek::eek::eek: Hope she comes up a bit and gives you a break!
Hope she will give you a stable afternoon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you! You are too kind! :p

Exactly my sentiment. They are so good at thwarting plans :rolleyes:
Ivy's drop at the vet was a scary one. I hear that general anesthesia can lower BGs - I'll ask them to keep monitoring during the procedure.
I just saw Ivy having a mojito party! :eek::eek::eek: Hope she comes up a bit and gives you a break!
Hope she will give you a stable afternoon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Lol, it's already 3 pm and she's keeping me working:D.

I'm trying to figure out what % carbs to prepare for her dinner in 3 hours (I try to assemble the meal with all the supplements around now each day). But we aren't out of the woods yet....
I think 12.5% is my plan...

I hope Mikan behaves next week and it's good to discuss monitoring with them ahead of time, i know you are on top of it, Kit:)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Lol, it's already 3 pm and she's keeping me working:D.

I'm trying to figure out what % carbs to prepare for her dinner in 3 hours (I try to assemble the meal with all the supplements around now each day). But we aren't out of the woods yet....
I think 12.5% is my plan...

I hope Mikan behaves next week and it's good to discuss monitoring with them ahead of time, i know you are on top of it, Kit:)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
What a day Ivy gave you today :eek::eek::eek:
You must be exhausted!
Looks like she came up a bit - hope she'll give you an easy night so you can SLEEEEEEEP!
Wishing you a peaceful evening, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit, that's a good plan to keep the dose unless she learns a reduction.
Too funny about what you said about DH and having a dental :p
I'm sure Mikan will do fine when she gets her dental. It's normal to feel nervous, when Tyler had his dental I couldn't wait for my vet to call me and tell me I could pick him up. Try and keep busy so the time goes fast . I bet you will see much better numbers after her dental :bighug::bighug: :bighug: :bighug::cat:
 
Hi Kit, that's a good plan to keep the dose unless she learns a reduction.
Too funny about what you said about DH and having a dental :p
I'm sure Mikan will do fine when she gets her dental. It's normal to feel nervous, when Tyler had his dental I couldn't wait for my vet to call me and tell me I could pick him up. Try and keep busy so the time goes fast . I bet you will see much better numbers after her dental :bighug::bighug: :bighug: :bighug::cat:
Thanks Diane.
Your kind words mean so much to me.
I've been feeling down about the whole thing and Mikan not getting down to a good range lately.
I know a lot kitties go through dental work and are totally okay with it. So Hopefully, Mikan will get though it without a hitch and starts regulating a bit better.
Funny how it feels that time is moving so slowly when you are worried about something!
Hope you had a nice day ! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Kit, I know you have been down . I know I keep telling you chin up, but I know how you feel. She will be ok. The day before she has her dental I will say a prayer for her . I go to the church every day to light a candle for Ashley , my dad and my mom. I'll light one for Mikan . Hang in there my friend ❤️ I'll be on the board later on today.
@Mikanmama
 
Last edited:
Hey Kit, I know you have been down . I know I keep telling you chin up, but I know how you feel. She will be ok. The day before she has her dental I will say a prayer for her . I go to the church every day to light a candle for Ashley , my dad and my mom. I'll light one for Mikan . Hang in there my friend ❤️ I'll be on the board later on today.
@Mikanmama
Awww, Diane. You are so sweet. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ Thank you.
This means so much to me. @Diane Tyler's Mom GA :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top