10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +11 108 PMPS 109 +1 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Skip shot, Race and Travel Condo

Yesterday

AM: no shot, no BG reading
+7 HI
PMPS 451
+3 370

Good Morning LL, hugs and vines to all for healing, comfort, and safety for those in storm's way.

Can't wait for Mannie's special brew ~O) ~O) ~O)

We're under High Wind Warning right now, and Leo has been out of sorts since this started last night. He ate some of dinner last night, and has eaten about 1/4 of his normal food so far this morning. NOT NORMAL AT ALL for this little boy. He won't even eat his dried salmon treats. He's huddled under the bed. No plays, minimal purrs when I scratch him, but they're more the kind of purrs cats use to comfort themselves. Empty litterbox since we got back yesterday late afternoon. His BGs slid down from HI to 155 in 14 hours. I think I will try to get him to eat a little bit of MC or even a bit of HC in a bit if he won't eat because he's headed to dive into the flooded greens today.

We've had rain all night, winds growing, and some of the ground outside is lightly flooded. Take a look at the satellite pictures. This thing is massive from North Carolina to Nova Scotia. Massive massive storm. I'm nervous and a little scared. Some towns in NJ are already flooded and many areas are under evacuation. Our Governor Chris Christie called state of emergency two days ago, and I'm confident he will do all possible - he handled Irene amazingly well for us. I'm approved to work from home today. I'm not exactly sure how much I can concentrate. I just got a new MacBook Pro (first computer in 7 years!!!!) and I may try to distract with learning a Mac for a while today (I'm a life-long PC person).

My prayers to all in the storm's path. Please be safe, have your kitty travel kits stocked and ready to go if you need to evacuate.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155

Sorry that Leo is not feeling well, hope he gets well soon & eat his meal.
It must be very stressful under the threat of the storm. Is it possible that you need to evacuate? Maybe Leo has picked up that panicky feeling. Stay safe! Take care!
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155

Poor Leo and poor all of you. Thinking about you and hoping Sandy leaves quickly without too much fanfare.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155

Nice comeback from that HI yesterday, Leo.
J.D. didn't want to eat at first this morning either, and is hiding in the basement. I hope they don't know than we do.

Eat your fuds, Leo.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155

The kitties are a bit out of sorts for sure...they can forecast the weather pretty well! I'm still crossing my fingers here....right now, it's just a little breezy and a bit rainy where I am - maybe this is the worst of it??? I'm hoping...I know we're just at the beginning, but I'm hoping.

Be safe, guys!!!
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138

Dyana And Amy - I agree, the kitties sense things before we do. Yesterday was just a little rain starting and Leo was already out of sorts. Rain doesn't bother him terribly, but storms send him scurrying. I just gave him a snack of 20%. I don't want him sliding to greens and starting another bounce because he's not eating. I'll test close to nadir and hopefully that will be enough to keep him in blues.

Amy - I know you want to hope, and please keep hoping for all our sakes, but this is just the beginning. I don't want to sound like a doom-sayer, but please don't be complacent. Just be alert and keep the weather news on TV. Are you in an area that might flood?

Look at this really neat Google interactive chart - this is good. The storm hasn't even hit the coast yet!

http://google.org/crisismap/2012-sandy

Helen - In NJ, probably not an evacuation but probably loss of electricity, which could mean flooding in our house, but we have a generator hooked up to run the sump pumps if that happens. I'm sure Leo can sense my nervousness but I'm trying to be upbeat with him.

Melissa - thank you - fingers crossed for that.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138

Hi Lisa, thinking of you and Leo and saying prayers for your safety. I've been watching it on TWC, CNN, and just looks horrible and lots on NJ. I have a friend in DC and also CT. I think, too, our pets sense the storms, earthquakes, someone outside in the yard, etc. Glad you can work from home. So many schools and offices are closed, too. Keep in touch with us when you can so we know you're okay. I hope Leos appy picks up.

Leo, how did you like my new bed? I'm here for you any time, sis Mags
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138

Hope Leo is eating. Gotta have that food on board, Leo.

Praying for all of you up there in the flooding path.
Glad you get to stay home for work and be with Leo. Hopefully your presence will help him calm down.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138

+5 138.

The HC worked. I gave about 1/5c gravy lovers and he ate that right up at #3. He just came out from under the bed during a break in the storm and he ate 1/4c 4%, so I feel better about him not crashing. I'll give a little more 4% in a bit before the next band hits. I made Leo a cave in my closet - I piled small suitcases and put my bathrobe on the floor as a bed. He went right in and I scratched him in there for a while. I'm relieved he knows it's there - that little area is a lot more quiet than my bedroom under the bed. I put a blanket over the bedroom window to make it quieter. My bedroom has two outside walls on the top floor, so it's not a quiet place to be in the storm.

Thank you Rhiannon and Ann for checking in with us.

Thanks Maggie. You are the best warm snuggly big sister a little guy could ask for. **preens you** ~Leo
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138 +7.5 130

The red circles are shelters. You can unclick the box on the right side to get rid of them. It does like the center is projected to shift, but you are on the north side of it, which is bad for water, if you are around any of the rivers and streams. NJ in our area will still have 50-70 mph gusts as they say - the storm is 1000 miles across, so the wind will still be blasting even if the center doesn't go over us. DH says its howling at our place. We'll keep an eye out to see what the updates are. Ironically, it's now closer to me in MD than DH in NJ according to this. My lights have flickered a couple times, so I may lose power. Howling here too. But I made a pot of chicken noodle stew with leftovers and the smell of fresh chicken tempted a Certain Furry Someone out from under the bed! He's surfing a wonderful blue and sitting on the floor next to me. Seems warm chicken is better than Rescue Remedy! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138 +7.5 130

sounds like Leo has a wonderful little cubby to snuggle in. I've been following the storm on the NOAA sit, but that Google map is really good. I hope you are well stocked up and can ride everything out. They say this may be felt as far as the midwest, power outages too. Thinking of you and hoping the power stays on.

:-D :-D :-D What kitter wouldn't want chicken stew! Have fun w/ your MacBook, we've been Macheads since the 80s and they are great!
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138 +7.5 130

Hoping you and Leo are safe and doing okay. I`ve never been in a big storm... I think I would be hiding under the bed with Leo. :YMHUG: hugs to you guys.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138 +7.5 130

Hi Ann - yeah, I looked at NOAA too. I didn't realize, but the outline on both of those pictures is the probable path of the storm center and does not indicate the size of the storm. Dyana and I thought it did, but sadly, it's just where the center of the storm may be. I am well stocked for LEO :smile: but less so for me. But I'll be fine. Pray that our place in NJ keeps power and I'll be willing to lose power here in exchange. I have no basement here. :shock:

Hi Alexa - yeah, I want to get under there too! So far so good. The power has flickered on and off and I lost wireless for a minute, but it came back on. I just ran the garbage out to the dumpster. Wet and windy. Flooded areas in the trees and some big bursts of wind.

So far so good.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138 +7.5 130

Lisa I hope both you and DH stay safe and don't lose your power. I will be praying for you all. I'm glad Leo came out and got some of the chicken noodle stew. That sounds really good.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +2 155 +3 138 +5 138 +7.5 130 +11 108

+11 108

Well, isn't this interesting. Leo slides all the way down to 108. My electricity has been flickering occasionally today and just recently. I have one average strength flashlight. I already prepared his dose. So I ponder - do I shoot the full dose if his PMPS is this low ... knowing I might have to test and steer with only a flashlight? And nothing to heat up his ears? I've got about an hour to ponder this.

Any suggestions on logistics?

Sheesh - I just recovered skipping a dose. I suppose I could just shoot, testing if I can, and give food as I have in the past when he tanks. Interesting one for Lisa and Leo's Learning Labs as Leslie would say!

Thanks Carla - Leo is more out and about - currently laying on my foot, claiming me as his hooman.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

There is a pre-Party party in the Lagoon and Leo wants to join in! ;-)

I ould shoot if your light is good enough. I never use the sock any more. I just sit and massage her ears for a few minutes and that warms them up nicely. Is your stove gas or electric? If gas you can light it with a match.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

Yeah Ann, Leo misses the green pool and he can't wait to get back in! I haven't had to use the sock when we travel, I think because his BP is high enough that his ears are already warm. Unfortunately, this place is all electric. I filled the tub with hot water for other purposes, but if I need too I could dip the sock in a plastic bag I guess. His little ears just get so cold!
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

On TV just now they said that the storm turned faster "west" than they'd forecast, and it's supposed to landfall within the hour at Atlantic City? And estimating that along that part of the coast, 3-5 feet of water will be on the streets right along the coast. And the next high tide will be 11 feet above normal?

My prayers are with everyone anywhere close. It missed us, and did a little bit of erosion damage to our ever shrinking island even though it was a couple hundred miles off the SC coast when it went by, but that's nothing compared to what everyone from Jersey to NYC are going to see.

Be safe,
Carl
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

Hi Lisa, thinking of you and Leo. I just heard the same as Carl & Bob on TV. Do you have any candles? I'm glad Leo came out of his man cave! :-D Prayers and vines to stay safe and no power outages.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

Hi Lisa, We do ear rubbing too, gets Jasper's ear nice and warm plus we get some gratuitius cuddling & purring cat_pet_icon . Thanks for the Google link, we are watching the storm, my mom lives NE of Philadelphia. Be safe!
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

HI Carl, yeah, all that and more. Several towns are ALREADY flooded out. Atlantic City, parts of Point Pleasant, many towns along the shore. It is so sad to see, and high tide is still coming in. AND this is a moon high tide, which is even higher than normal. I'm very happy to hear that you guys got only minor damage. The thought of the NYC subways flooding is sobering. Thanks for checking in on us.

Hi Ann - I do have a couple candles - the place will stink with conflicting smells! :shock: It's ironic ... I ALMOST threw them away last week because I am changing apartments and I don't burn candles often. Good thing I kept them! Leo and his man cave ... LOL! I gave him Rescue Remedy this afternoon, and several pieces of chicken. He seems better about the stress. It's also dark. That may help.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

Hi Lisa, we are all thinking of you here. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I hope Leo cooperates tonight and you've got lots of replacement batteries for the flashlights. Is he eating better now? I do ear rubbing too, with the odd knuckle down into the base of the ear for extra scritches. If Leo's ears are cold, it might take a minutes to warm up. Maybe you should cuddle under a blanket with him for a while before testing.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 flashlight st

Lisa, good to hear you still have the candles. That's great the Rescue Remedy is helping Leo, and, of course, the chicken is a good remedy, too! :-D
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 PMPS 109

PMPS 109.

See you in the green pool tonight! Leo had a spectacular surf after his Black HI yesterday. I suspect I'll be steering as this smells a little like a bounce in progress.
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 PMPS 109

I had a thought, but you probably don't have them and i don't know if getting out is possible. But what about those pocket hand warmers? You can often get them at gas stations or mini-marts. Ooo and maybe a camping stove!
 
Re: 10/29 Leo AMPS 206 +3 138 +7.5 130 +11 108 PMPS 109

HI Lisa. Thinking of you and Leo tonight. I forgot you weren't home in NJ right now, but you're still are affected by this storm.
I figure I'll be testing by flashlight tonight. For once I'm not hoping for low numbers. I'd be freaking out at that 109, if I didn't have power to see.

Stay safe, you and your baby. :smile:

PS: thanx for reminding me to cut & paste my posts. I often do, if it's a long one, but have been forgetting today.
 
+1 139
I went for the safety buffer and gave the infamous 4% FF chicken feast for his +0 and +1 meals :-D

Hi Barb - Yeah, I wasn't clear where I was at, since I was talking about storm stuff here, and storm stuff in NJ that DH is dealing with. I was worried about the 109, but the chicken feast bumped him. I'll test again at +2 since that's when he often tanks.

Hi Ann - great thought! I found some laying around the house a month or so ago when I was making up a travel kit for Leo. I wanted something I could heat his ears with if we were on the road. I've not needed to use them yet because he gets stressed on the road and his ears are warm. I should get new ones, as these don't seem to get very warm. But they should do the trick. Thanks for the reminder! D'oh!

Many of our friends in NJ have lost power in the last hour. We are still holding out. My electricity has been flickering all day and the winds are driving water through my window seals somehow. Not bad but the sills are all wet. I have the heat jacked up in case we lose electricity (wow it's hot in here!) It's about 45 outside right now.
 
Lisa - hope you and Leo are still doing okay. It is just windy and abnormally cold here. My thoughts are with you all. Sending encouragment and hope.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top