10/29 Klinger Update heard from the Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Very Active Member
I just heard from the Vet (that did the dental) that Klinger does have chronic p'titis. His value is 7.4 mgpl - (normal is 0-3.5). She advised me to continue giving him 1/4 pepcid daily.
She wants me to go back to giving him consistent doses of 3.2u 2x's a day (no matter what his pre-shot number is!!!!!!!) for a week and curve next Friday and call her with the results on Saturday.
"I don't need to test so often." Well, I'm going to test him before each shot because I don't want to shoot blind and have a hypo event. So, my no shoot number is 200 right now. And she responds with "well, preshots don't really give you the full picture of really where they are and you can shoot him at a lower number"
She feels that the dental will have a big impact on his regulation and could very well come down in a month.
Oh yeah, there was a miscommunication and the samples for the IAA and IGF-1 were used for the p'titis test instead. cat(2)_steam :evil:

No talk of subq fluids or anything else at this point.
 
Is that the result of the SPEC fPL[PLI] test? Did you get TLI, folate and B12 done [the rest of the GI panel]? I know from personal experience that the panreratitis sample needs to be fresh and FASTED. If you are sending to Texas A&M, I suggest getting the sample pulled on a Monday morning and sending off overnight FexEx or UPS in an insulated container on a frozen gel pack [despite what the Texas A&M site says]. Because of less than exceptional sample handling I've had wonky numbers come back from the fPL [PLI] at Texas A&M.

If you are doing the IAA/Acro thing again then no reason not to program the process for the best chances of getting the most accurate results.

I just harp on this topic because of my experiences with it and talking to an individual that works in a University lab.

Do you think Klinger ever goes into a pancreatitis flare [acute pancreatitis] situation? If so, SubQ LRS and buprenorphine were helpful for us.

What food do you feed? Though the idea is controversial fat content is thought to play a role in pancreatitis.
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Pancreatitis
I was feeding Wellness and then modified that to reduce the fat content and it seemed to prevent any more very serious p-flare situations. Wellness GF tends to have crazy high fat content [but good carb content].
 
I would be soooo mad.

Gator got me started so I will continue here.

She thinks that the dental will have a big impact on his regulation and still she want's you to not test as much and shoot 3.2 units into bg's under 200 or no matter what?

Oh please!!!

I hope the blood draw for the IAA & IGF-1 along with the shipping and testing is free to you because of their blunder.

Whew, I'm starting to feel better.
 
here is an 'old favorite" about pancreatitis, from a vet tech that used to post a lot,
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 722,876722

On Cody's recent flair he got:
-bupe for pain
-lactated ringers sol subQ 100ml 2x/day to flush the digestive enzymes that are AWOL
-antibiotic to prevent abdominal infection from the digestive enzymes ulcerating the internal organs
-2.5mg pepcid A/C 2x/day which helps the nausea/acid
-and I tried to choose lower fat options like turkey instead of beef, and avoiding the Special Diet flavors, which I like but may be higher in fat.
 
1) Since they goofed on the blood draw/visit, they shouldn't charge you for a follow up blood draw if you decide to get it done.

2) I've mentioned several times that one thing that bothered me a lot about acro not fitting his situation, is NOT eating ravenously. Pancreatitiis and bad teeth could explain a lousy appetite. but they could also could explain lousy numbers and difficult regulation.

3) He's your cat- test him all you want to.

I'm hoping you can get on a mostly fixed dose. or at least reduce the scale to about 3 levels (ie: really high numbers, most numbers, 150-220 numbers)
and I'm hoping he heals quickly and the FD disappears,
but I couldn't "not test", and I couldn't shoot blindly.

Dont forget, prozinc hasn't been out a year, and most vets didn't prescribe it until spring, so nobody has all the answers.
 
oh yeah, THATworks, shoot NO MATTER WHAT THE NUMBER IS!
did you get that in writing so she can pay the hypo emergency room visit?
how can a vet be so careless????
 
Good morning,
My cable/internet/phone were pretty much out all day yesterday.
Gator, I believe they only ran the PLI test and not the full GI panel.
I do think he had a flare back in July. Although we didn't know it then.
We feed him the fancy feast classics - beef, chicken, ocean fish.
We tried Wellness and Blue Mountain - he would eat either one.

Thanks for the link, Nancy. I've read it several time over the last few months and have it bookmarked.
I didn't realize that prozinc hasn't been out a year. Hmm.

He was the the greens last night (10/30). Got down to 60 and I freaked out a little bit and broke out the kitty krack. Mainly because I didn't want him to zoom up today. Well, that didn't work out like I hoped because he was HI this morning.
Thanks all,
Marcy
 
Yes I think your hi this morning was from the kitty crack.

Glad you caught those greens, I hope this becomes a trend. Once the bounce clears, if I were you I would be ready to start backing off the dose if the greens continue. Fingers crossed that they do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top