10/29 Johnny AMPS 127 Libre / 152 AT

@FrostD

Hey there, here's the new thread. That last one did get a bit out of control, haha. I am so grateful for the wonderful guidance you have been providing me. I don't know where I'd be without my own personal guide on this journey. :bighug:
 
He's been doing well since the AM shot, but now at almost +3.5, the Libre is reading at 43, down from 55 at +3. So now I'm monitoring this dip.
 
Oh...wanted to share that today is Johnny's adoption date! I brought my little man home 16 years ago!! He was a wee little kitten then, and stole my heart immediately. :cat:
 
Alrighty, coming out of that Libre low. Lowest reading on Libre was 44 at +3.75 versus lowest reading on AT of 114 at +3. I didn't shoot every 15 minutes on the AT since he wasn't actually low.

So I am definitely not relying on the Libre for any dosing decisions since it definitely reads way lower. I will use it as a tool to continually monitor and alert me when I need to draw some blood for potential actual lows. Crazy how he can be blue on the AT and scary neon green on the Libre at the same time.

I'm thinking I should have kept him at closer to .5 units since he isn't yet reaching the green on the AT. Depending on his numbers this evening, I think I will try a skinny .5 shot.
 
Gave approximate .5 unit PM shot at 8.

Libre was reading 104 and AT read 159. This is my big experiment to see if I can get him in the greens for the AT readings.

It’s now +.75 and the Libre is reading 80. Dropping fast…but I’m on top of monitoring.

His Libre was beautiful all day…I just wish it weren’t so much lower than the AT, specially because the Libre was green or super close all day, whereas the AT was blue.

Spreadsheet is updated and attached is a screenshot of todays Libre graph so far.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KQwgxbdPtegcB52y10X9tnMEEFq71hZQ/view?usp=drivesdk
 
If we haven't already mentioned, I'd feed a little bit LC at +1 and +2 to help slow that drop. Like maybe 1-2 tsp each time.
 
I saw you’re already at lime green at +2. Are you feeding? Please test again soon and stay on top of the numbers. Take action is 68 on AT and you’re already below that and still early in the cycle.

edited to add: if it were me, I’d go with no more than 0.25u for the next few cycles and collect data to see what that dose does (or a lower dose if the numbers warrant). First, you don’t know how low he went last night but there was a decent drop by +3 so that likely signaled he was heading down. Also, one cycle does not constitute a pattern, so today’s blues don’t mean you need to go back up in dose. Just my two cents; number one goal is to keep Johnny safe.
 
Last edited:
Yeah, he free feeds, and keeps going to his bowl to munch. I’ve also given him a Churu. I’m thinking .5 units is just too much.

I am scanning him pretty much every 5 mins and AT testing every 15.
 
He’s eating his normal low carb and I’m trying to get him to eat some stew, but he’s much more interested in the LC. I gave half a Temptation cookie, but I don’t want him to rebound super high.
 
Don’t worry about the rebound; he needs to come back up. You can also mix a bit of Karo syrup into his low carb food to make it higher carb.

@FrostD are you around? I was just doing a quick fly-by and need to go offline for awhile.
 
Just don’t get a false sense of security when you start to see higher numbers in the short term. You need to stay on top of the testing. You’re still hours away from the likely nadir and so you can have another dip depending on what you’re using to prop up the numbers.

It’s a learning experience for sure. Hang in there.
 
Ah sorry I wasn't around. I'm not sure how long ago last test was, but 88 is comfortable number. I'm not sure the last time you fed, but we say you're not safe until he's rising on his own after 2 hrs without food.

Yes, I'd aim the best you can for 0.25 and see what happens. Hopefully we can get some cycles without the devil treats to see where he settles, he just doesn't want to make it easy!

Eating his dinner at PS is fine, and what should happen. But I would feed additional LC at +1 and +2 and hopefully slow him down just a smidge.

It's funny, he's reacting to ProZinc more like it's Vetsulin, don't usually see such a harsh action from ProZinc. If the Libre is any indication he gets good duration on LC-only cycles though so that's good.
 
Are you remembering to roll the Prozinc vial gently between your hands before drawing up the insulin? Just checking. I knew someone who wasn’t rolling/mixing the insulin beforehand and that can affect results.
 
We made it through. It’s *funny* (but not), he knows where the “junk food” is stashed and when he goes low, he leads me there to get his devil treats and the other forbidden food he misses.

His food stays out…he’s a grazer. I’ve never been able to give him a serving of food and have him eat it in one sitting. Ok - that’s a bit of a fib…when he does eat it all in one sitting, he promptly barfs it up. Which, incidentally, happened about 3 hours before his PM shot. He hovered his food and then was being all wiggly while getting his fluids and was being active and then barfed. It didn’t worry me because it’s not an uncommon occurrence over the past 16 years. Heck, he did it on the day I brought him home from the shelter.

He did eat again before I took his food away for the 2 hour pre-shot fasting. I’m not sure if that incident had any effect on the big reaction to the PM shot, but regardless…I’m done shooting half units.

I have a Contour meter coming Sunday so I can check against the Libre. I’m concerned that being at the half-way point, we may start losing accuracy. And this weeks’ graphs are what the vet is going to use to make his next decision on. I’m putting hella notes on the screenshot each day, and also providing him with the excel file.

But damn, what a wild ride. I’m ready for bed.

upload_2021-10-30_1-29-4.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-30_1-29-4.jpeg
    upload_2021-10-30_1-29-4.jpeg
    27.6 KB · Views: 93
Are you remembering to roll the Prozinc vial gently between your hands before drawing up the insulin? Just checking. I knew someone who wasn’t rolling/mixing the insulin beforehand and that can affect results.

I do roll it…sometimes I’ll give it a little extra jiggle if I’m feeling sassy. But I could definitely see how letting it settle could cause problems.
 
So no rebound from last night’s hypo event.

Tested at 89 on the Libre and 137 on AT for AMPS. Skipped dose.

He’s still in a good range here at what would have been +4, testing at 60 on the Libre and 138 on the AT.

Spreadsheet is updated, but not reformatted yet since last night, so it’s a bit ugly right now. I’ll fix it when I’m at my laptop eventually.

upload_2021-10-30_12-6-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-30_12-6-30.png
    upload_2021-10-30_12-6-30.png
    76.6 KB · Views: 102
Hmmm I think drop dose is where it's at OR you could try another skip or two and see what happens
 
I’m skipping. He’s still pretty low. Definitely would go hypo shooting at this number. And I’m going out for the evening so I can’t monitor.

upload_2021-10-30_20-50-9.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-30_20-50-9.png
    upload_2021-10-30_20-50-9.png
    75.2 KB · Views: 99
Back
Top