10/29 Cooper AMPS 84 +2.25 63 +3 60 +4 69 +5.75 87 +8.75 107 PMPS 141 +2 125 +4 93

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Happy Sunday :coffee:

Cooper is pretty uninterested in all of his food this morning, even canned tuna or HC. Should I give the full shot?

I think I will have to go to the store today and get a feeding syringe. :( I don't know what else to do. I won't be able to go get one until a little later, and I hope I will be able to find one. He is acting okay otherwise.

Yesterday's thread
 
You can give him a token dose of 1.5u if you think he's not going to eat. He recovers from them pretty quickly.

The depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle whether you skip or give a token dose.
 
Give the syringe a go, Gabrielle. It's not that bad. It only takes time but, at least for us, it was a great solution.

I get a normal 3ml syringe and just cut the top. i didn't bother with mushing it in a coffee grinder but just enough so they're not too big chunks and for it to go into the syringe.

we made a video for you this morning to encourage Cooper but I couldn't upload the video so here's a picture to see his joyful anticipation :bighug::bighug:


upload_2023-10-29_11-28-45.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-29_11-28-45.png
    upload_2023-10-29_11-28-45.png
    290.8 KB · Views: 196
Hi Gabrielle,
It must be so frustrating for you - one day, he's good with food and the next, Nope!
I wonder if CBD for cats would help with appetite? I read somewhere, sometime ago, as I was curious if it would help with BG.
It dose not seem to work on BG but it can stimulate appetite.
Perhaps others could chime in on that.

Hope you and Cooper have a nice Sunday! :bighug:
 
Hi Gabrielle,
It must be so frustrating for you - one day, he's good with food and the next, Nope!
I wonder if CBD for cats would help with appetite? I read somewhere, sometime ago, as I was curious if it would help with BG.
It dose not seem to work on BG but it can stimulate appetite.
Perhaps others could chime in on that.

Hope you and Cooper have a nice Sunday! :bighug:
Worth a try. I tried CBD with Fistuk. It made him quite flat in energy, sometimes to a worrying extent so I stopped. And I didn't find it made a difference to his appetite. but ECID...
 
Give the syringe a go, Gabrielle. It's not that bad. It only takes time but, at least for us, it was a great solution.

I get a normal 3ml syringe and just cut the top. i didn't bother with mushing it in a coffee grinder but just enough so they're not too big chunks and for it to go into the syringe.

we made a video for you this morning to encourage Cooper but I couldn't upload the video so here's a picture to see his joyful anticipation :bighug::bighug:


View attachment 67848

Oh my gosh, awww! That's so, so sweet! I love Fistuk's cutie little face, he's absolutely adorable! Thank you for the encouragement! :cat: I just worry because Cooper is very sweet, and he's also sensitive. I'm worried "forcing" him to eat will really upset him, but I'm sure if I do it the right way and give it time he will get used to it. And he's gotta eat, so we both don't have a choice lol.
 
Hi Gabrielle,
It must be so frustrating for you - one day, he's good with food and the next, Nope!
I wonder if CBD for cats would help with appetite? I read somewhere, sometime ago, as I was curious if it would help with BG.
It dose not seem to work on BG but it can stimulate appetite.
Perhaps others could chime in on that.

Hope you and Cooper have a nice Sunday! :bighug:

That's definitely worth me looking into! I just can't believe how ineffective the Mirataz (appetite stimulant) has been. It doesn't seem to have made a difference as he has been so hit or miss. Thank you for your idea and kind words. I hope you and Mikan enjoy the rest of your weekend :)
 
Hi Gabrielle, I hope Cooper will regain his appetite quickly.
I’m sorry you are going through this see saw up and down with him. But you’re doing all the right things and trying everything.

I’ve also had to syringe feed Ivy after some of her sedations when I couldn’t get her to eat.
Since I already dilute her food with water, it’s sort of like soup anyway, so I just suck it up into the syringe and very slowly give her a little bit at a time to give her the food.
Here is the syringe I’ve ordered from Amazon or Chewy
upload_2023-10-29_8-40-42.jpeg


I ordered several at a time because they seem to wear out somewhat quickly.

Then I also ordered BHSupply brand and bought a large box of them very inexpensively.
Just do a Google search for this particular brand.
upload_2023-10-29_8-40-27.jpeg


I like @Fistuk & Shelly tip of cutting the top off to make it go a bit faster!

I hope it helps. Thinking of you both and sending love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-29_8-40-27.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-29_8-40-27.jpeg
    66.9 KB · Views: 122
  • upload_2023-10-29_8-40-42.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-29_8-40-42.jpeg
    69.1 KB · Views: 121
I hope it helps. Thinking of you both and sending love :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ah!! You guys are all the best. Thank you so much, Staci! That is so, so helpful!! I wasn't sure what to look for before. I managed to get Cooper to eat some tuna and half a can of FF, but I am still going to go out later and get the syringe and try it on the rest of his meal. Again, thank you for taking the time to post those pictures! :D
 
Ah!! You guys are all the best. Thank you so much, Staci! That is so, so helpful!! I wasn't sure what to look for before. I managed to get Cooper to eat some tuna and half a can of FF, but I am still going to go out later and get the syringe and try it on the rest of his meal. Again, thank you for taking the time to post those pictures! :D
You bet my friend, hoping it helps our sweet boy! :bighug::bighug:And glad he ate!!
 
Back
Top