10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:417 4u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Member Since 2010
Amps:477, 4u
Last nite was not a fur shot or leaky syringe. Just a crappy crappy number for poor Charlie. I had high hopes after his 325 last nite, but he skyrocketed over night as usual. I should read up on the dawn phenomenon...
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

+5:335
+6.5:388
+8:333
pmps:417, 4u

I guess I will go up to 4.2 tomorrow?
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

well it looks like the low point of charlie's day was only a hundred point drop. :YMSIGH:
claudia, has shooting TID ever been brought up? 3 shots, more or less evenly spaced. about 8 hours but not strictly...given time for am or pm busyness.
it would be very interesting to see what charlie would do with a shot at +8ish.
and i don't think you would be throwing yourself off if you simply tried it.
thoughts?
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

I would prefer to avoid shooting TID at all costs. It would mean shooting at 7/3/11 (or I guess 6/2/10). I'm in bed by 10 and not often home around that midday shot time especially since I'm taking a few classes this winter, and we do a lot if running around for midwife appointments,bdays, and holidays this time of year. That will also be terribly hard to keep up with once I deliver and get this baby here. So unless it's something that can be done on a more occasional basis, it's not a commitment I'm able to make.
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

lori and tom said:
well it looks like the low point of charlie's day was only a hundred point drop. :YMSIGH:
claudia, has shooting TID ever been brought up? 3 shots, more or less evenly spaced. about 8 hours but not strictly...given time for am or pm busyness.
it would be very interesting to see what charlie would do with a shot at +8ish.
and i don't think you would be throwing yourself off if you simply tried it.
thoughts?

I'd like to see some more overnight numbers if possible at this point. If it is dawn phenom. then perhaps a higher dose at night is needed?
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

Claudia,
I hope we talked about this earlier, but where on his body do inject? Shooting in the scruff might give you less or erratic absorption. I always try to shoot his sides or belly.
Yesterday, did he eat a lot more, or was it higher carb food? or is he acting sick or hiding a lot ? As much as you test, I cant imagine we missed his dose. I think I would hold the dose and test cycle 3 to eliminate "new dose wonkiness"

10/29 doesn't fit......
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

I shoot into his side skin, well behind his scruff. I've been avoiding shooting into his fattier areas. Yesterday, he acted normal, ate normal (we don't free feed, though, so he can't eat more than usual-it's always 5 meals/day), and ate the same friskies pate that he's been eating. It's weird that a week or so ago he seemed to be making progress-dropping more at his nadir- but now every day,every dose is exactly the same. Dinky drops at nadir, high ps numbers. Enough to drive a bean crazy! I increased today before I saw your message. Should I hold at 4.2 for c3, or even drop back to 4 tonight?
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

Blue-sorry, I didn't see your reply at first. I read that testing around 3am for humans is recommended. Is it the same for kitties? I could do a couple nights of one, maybe 2, tests. What times would you aim for? I shoot at 7pm with a snack of chicken, then feed 1/2 can friskies at 9, then 1/2 can at 1 am, then shoot and 1/2 can at 7am.
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

If you are feeding at 1am...I'd try to test at that time.

I am wondering if Charlie is going lower at night and you are seeing his liver compensate during the daytime. The overnight cycle is missing almost completely from your SS. If you are shooting at 7pm, then 1am would be mid-cycle. Several readings over the course of a few days should give us enough information to make an evaluation.

I know my vet when we suspected dawn effect had me up testing between 3-4am! :shock: Later in the cycle, but I don't think you are there yet.


I will be surprised if he is lower, but ECID and sometimes that means we need to investigate a little more.
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

when I'm not too fried from the day, I try to test close to the time the overnight feeder opens, 4Am, and I have caught some of his lowest numbers. The next morning/noon he'll be higher than normal.
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

well with charlie's numbers the way they are i'd be knocked over shocked to find he had a low middle night number...if by low we're talking blue's or...dare i say....green?
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

If he is having a bit of a panicky liver...which for every cat means something different. It could mean for Charlie a low yellow number, it gives us the information to perhaps hold the dose and he needs more adjustment time.

Granted Claudia has been going very, very slowly and missing the dose most likely isn't the issue.

If he is still high overnight for the next couple of days...then perhaps we need to start increasing the dose a bit more assertively by half units instead of quarter units.
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

Kitty moms are like amazing. I could never grab those 4am numbers. :YMHUG: The kitty mom here in Indy gets up at all sorts of crazy hours to make sure F is eating. It must be a mom thing - I can't handle it 4 sure.
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

yes MOMS have super powers- its in the job description :cool:
and we are a little twisted when it comes to our gang (even at 4AM) :twisted:
Happy Halloween! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

It must be built into the mom gene. babies are always up at night needing to be fed or changed...and how often does a dad do that???? :lol:
 
Re: 10/29 Charlie amps:477 4u,+5:335,+6.5:388,+8:333,pmps:41

My dh couldn't feed the baby, but he always did the midnight diapers! Some guys can do it if properly trained. He had 3 sisters, so he was trained well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top