10/29/13 Jerry AMPS 161 +5 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Still having wonderful numbers but I do have a question, hopefully this is like school days where no question is a stupid question.
How do you know when to do a decrease? Is it just when they fall below 40/50 or are there signs in the numbers? Today isn't the perfect example with his 81 but yesterday AM at 5 and a half hours he was 53 which makes me wonder if he had dipped just below 50 before I got to him as 5 hours has pretty much proven to be his standard low time. Or like last night when he was at 71 3 hours in or 2 nights ago 62 4 hours in. I want his numbers to remain excellent as they have been but want to make sure he's safe too. It may not be that big of a variance over a couple hours but it's hard to forget the days when a couple hours meant a couple hundred points difference. Thank you as always we appreciate the feedback.
 
Hi Sara!

If Jerry can stay in "normal" numbers (50-120) for 7 days, then you can drop the dose by .25. If the numbers stay in the normal range for another 7 days, you drop another .25, etc.

You're right that going below 50 isn't the ONLY way to earn reductions! :mrgreen:

You're also right...there are no stupid questions!

Good luck..it looks like you're still getting a few higher than normal pre-shots but basically looking really good!
 
I was worried I wasn't going to get a response then you showed up to the rescue! :mrgreen:
He still runs a bit high for his preshots but it's paradise compared to where we started - how far we've come! Great information, it's wonderful to have a goal and guidelines. Thank you for your help and support. :razz:
 
Jerry is looking fantastic, Sarah! I'm so happy to see this great looking SS :-D :-D :-D :-D

Just to add to Chris's thoughts, we "typically" wait until we actually catch the below 50 number (or they are in normal numbers one week) before giving the reduction. There are some exceptions but those would not apply to Jerry (sometimes it is very apparent the kitty is overdosed and so we have the caregiver give a reduction). Also, while it is not in the protocol, if a CG has a cycle where they are having to feed numbers constantly and fight to keep the BG above 50, it's probably a good idea to reduce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top